We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view can spend all day there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Joaquin's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 105 Tagaytay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

pro's - rooms very cute, clean, homey, high ceilings... great location.. awesome view of the volcano... quiet, slept to crickets and woke up to birds chirping... you can sit all day on the patio or garden

con's - some upkeep points - mini-garden area plants trimming and landscaping (for those rooms with mini-gardens)... room sheets were clean and comfy but felt washed a few times too many (need to be changed).. i wish mini-garden areas were separated a bit more (they are interconnected, good thing i didn't have any neighbors when i stayed)

overall - awesome view makes up for the cons

Room Tip: request for room with mini-garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vivwanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 176 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here last july. The place was great. Nice people and very accomodating. Actually there was a storm that time but still we enjoyed everything. Food, rooms, ambience... It was a memorable stay. We'll be back for sure, hopefully this coming november.... Keep it up!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank black_decay82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Beautiful and elegant! I really love how it was designed. The garden near each room should be given attention, though. It has to be cleaned and trimmed regularly. It looks scary at night. Also, they have to make sure that no insects should be found inside each bedroom. In our case, a huge spider and a beetle were found inside the bathroom. Nonetheless, I would still love to visit the place! Great wifi connection inside the resto, by the way.

Room Tip: Book the purple room with the king-sized bed. It's perfect (except for the garden).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The rooms are located in a separate building, which makes them very homey. In my opinion, too homey that it feels like I'm in my own room. This is perfect if you are constantly traveling and misses the coziness of your home. And if you want quiet and peace. Emphasis on "quiet." But if your idea of "staycation" is escaping your usual routine and lounging in a hotel room, this is not it. The amenities are very simple - an LCD TV, a comfortable four poster bed, a shower (heater is really hard to control), soap, shampoo, and dental kits; which we still need to request. No bathrobes, bathtubs, slippers. The floor near the entrance to the mini-garden was uneven that I can't fully open the door. I also found a few ants on the bed!
The breakfast was just a filler, nothing special. One thing worth noting though is they serve their food on dainty porcelain which is kind of cute.

The only saving grace of this hotel was the mini-garden and the view which is just perfect. Might be a bit awkward to hang around the garden if there are occupants in the adjacent rooms since you only have a low wall as a divider. Good thing we checked in on a weekday.

Location wise, Joaquin's a good place to stay if you want to go on a food trip as it's walking distance to Summit Ridge, Cliffhouse, and Magallanes Square. Easy to get to as well.

Room Tip: Get the room with a mini-garden. The view from the balcony rooms is obstructed by a roof. Make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We booked a room for three for my family on the lower ground with garden and arrived at 7 pm so it was dark and have not much to appreciate yet except the fast check-in and the warm smile of the receptionist.. The place has only 8 beautiful suites and we love the beautiful room setting with all the complete amenities. At daytime, we were able to appreciate the perfect scenic view of Taal volcano with all its splendor. yummy filipino breakfast was served hot and so appetizingly delicious. I will definitely go back with my family to stay at this petite hotel!

Room Tip: If you're with kids, the lower floor is absolutely great with the mini-garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikojosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I was looking for a place to stay in Tagaytay because a friend from overseas wanted to go to Caleruega and I thought it'll be best for us stay overnight in Tagaytay as we didn't want to be rushed with our itinerary. I came across Joaquin's Bed & Breakfast on Facebook and was sold on the eclectic, quirky, country-feel of the place. I booked a room right away and paid via bank deposit. I mostly coordinated my booking via text/call and was pleased that they are easy to correspond with. We got the yellow room and felt immediately at home. High ceilings, eclectic decor, clean bathroom, and our very own private patio with a awesome view of Taal Volcano/Lake. For breakfast, you have the option to eat in their diner or have it brought to your room. Over-all, we had a good stay at Joaquin's B&B. Staff is welcoming, the place is clean, the food is good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank psl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

My husband booked a yellow room for Mother's Day with the family. It was drizzling when we arrived so three of the staff met us at the parking lot with their umbrellas and carried our stuff. We were guided at the frontdesk and were immediately checked in. Room was very nice, clean and peaceful. The bed and linen were so comfortable. Almost everything in it is made of wood- even the faucet, shower head and toilet seat. Just outside was a mini garden with a scenic view of the Taal volcano and is cctv-monitored. While the husband and kids were napping from the trip, I had my coffee and cigarette at the garden and it was relaxing. As the sun sets, mosquitos start to bug, though.

Breakfast was served at 7:30am (which I think was a bit late). Food was average, serving amount of the Filipino bfast (meat/fish, garlic rice, 2 eggs) was better than the American (2 loaves, 2 slices of ham/bacon, an egg and jam).

Room: cable tv (signal can be poor when windy), has an electric fan, mini fridge w/ canned drinks, coffee maker and bathroom has the basic toiletries

AFI: serve breakfast as early as 6am, provide wifi connection for the rooms at the lower area of the hotel

Room Tip: Get the upper rooms with veranda for better view of the lake - no bushes to block the view or insect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank islandhopperrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
0.9 mi away
Taal Vista Hotel
Taal Vista Hotel
#5 of 27 in Tagaytay
1,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
#14 of 27 in Tagaytay
313 reviews
3.3 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#4 of 27 in Tagaytay
389 reviews
2 mi away
Lee Boutique Hotel
Lee Boutique Hotel
#5 of 105 in Tagaytay
315 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lazea Tagaytay Inn
Lazea Tagaytay Inn
#6 of 105 in Tagaytay
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joaquin's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joaquin's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Km. 58 Aquinaldo Highway, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Tagaytay
Price Range: $100 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Joaquin's Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Joaquin's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joaquin`s b&b
Joaquin`s Hotel Tagaytay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing