We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, expensive, worth it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Cliffhouse Tagaytay
Ranked #1 of 99 Tagaytay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
manila
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Comfortable, expensive, worth it.”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Checked-in last march 27.

Family of 4, we were the only guests of the inn for the night. We chose to stay in the minot's ledge room.

Reservation: To reserve one must call their front desk to get preferred date/room. There was no option to give down payment for credit card. I had to go to the nearest BDO bank to deposit half of amount and email the receipt to the inn's email address. According to the staff, they are planning to open a paypal account. (which i hope they do at the earliest! )

Rooms: There are only 4 suites. 2 corner rooms which had an outside heated jacuzzi over looking taal. while the other middle suites, which were cheaper, were smaller and had no jacuzzi but a small circular bath tub in their washroom.

Getting here: Basically it is a road trip to tagaytay. It only takes almost 2 hours to get here from manila. Coming from manila/cavite, one would turn right at the rotonda. Going straight the place is just past yellow cab on the left side.

Upon arriving, the front desk is located in the right part of the area. There are reserved parking for inhouse guests (I would suggest to park underneath the shade rather than park here). The staff were very accommodating. This is also the area were breakfast would be served. They do not have a driver's quarters, Although they would assist in making reservations for them, the closest one they could suggest is a small inn near the rotonda. (700/night). Looking else where there is a cheaper alternative (days hotel driver's quarter-400/night), although according to our driver, it is the worst place ever (hot humid no window small) better go with the one near rotonda.

We were served ice cream as welcome treats, although i didn't get mine. We were led to our room, which is on the right side of the property (infront buon giorno). It is particular to note that elderly, disable persons would have a hard time here. The entrance to the room is through a staircase going down. (prior to entering, one would need a certain card to swipe.) Upon reaching the lower floor, there are two doors. The corner suite on the right, while the other middle room on the left. One would need a key to enter such. Security is top notch, as there is a cctv camera outside the rooms.

The room: Opening the door, one would be greeted a huge space. On the left side, there is a mirror, desk magazines and a lamp. Further on, there are 2 queen sized bed. Then a sliding door which opens up to the private veranda and jacuzzi. On the right side, the entrance to the washroom (huge! shower area could accommodate 3-4 adults with extra space), his and her's sink and of course the throne (happy to note there is a bidet). Toiletries are top notch and of high quality (complete, shampoo, body wash, soap, toothpaste toothbrush,shaving equipment, scrub, etc-blow dryer and a close up mirror) Also there are a lot of towels and places to hung clothes on.

The cabinet could store 3-4 large suitcases. There is also a safe.

Further on on the right side would be the lounge area, There is a soft sofa (where i slept on for the night- comfy!) 3 chairs a table and another coffee table. A huge 50 inch panasonic tv. with dvd player, the phone and of course the tea/coffee making area - (they offered twinnings for tea but only instant nescafe coffee - would suggest in investing in a coffee machine like a dolce gusto and offer pods instead!! ). A small ref could also be found inside one of the cabinets under the tv. The free water they serve is purified and is place in a 1liter glass container.

They offer a wide selection of movies to rent for free and offer spa service to be done in room.

Veranda:
I had trouble going in and out of the room to the veranda. The sliding door's lock is broken and i believe needs some oiling and so as the screen door. It needs a little bit of push and getting used to to properly close it, There is a table and 4 chairs outside. The jacuzzi (good for 3 adults) is on the right side. There is a fan and outdoor lighting is present so sunset- night time relaxation in the jacuzzi is a must. View of the lake is unobstructed. A panel separates the middle suite with the minot's ledge veranda. but i believed could be opened up if the two rooms are taken by the same family


Jacuzzi experience- problem here are the bugs, Since close to nature there are a lot of moths and small insects around. Good thing there is a fan nearby and also a light source (lamp) a few meters away to attract the insects there. tip: when not in use put the cover on it!!!! so no bugs are swimming.


Policies:
Room is only for 2 persons. up to a max of 4 persons including nannies and the like. In excess of two persons each one is charged around 2000 pesos. which includes the breakfast. There is no extra bed for any additional person. They are very strict with the max of 4 per room. Smoking is prohibited and could cost a large fine. In terms of bringing in food, i believe it is okay. I brought champagne and drank it while relaxing in the jacuzzi.

Service: topnotch, Although, i believe there is no room service. The front desk closes at 10pm but can call in house caretakers for any needs via loc number
free ferrero and a hand written note from coco, wifi is fast and great and part of the fee. turn down service offers free small cute staff toy.
All are professionals and willing to help with anything.

Breakfast is a choice of either light or full. Basically the same but full is of course a little heavier. 3 course breakfast. Has a choice between 830am service or 930am service.

COST: for a group of 4, i believe our bill was around 23,000 pesos nett. Yes it is expensive for an overnight out of town but i guess... you get what you pay for !!!!!!

Service: Awesome.... :D i mean it is the little things... My mom was actually fascinated with one of the plants in their reception area. The staff gladly allowed my mom to get 2 branches/stems of it.

would suggest to add perks. because of the high price of living here, maybe merienda may be served along with the turn down service.

Room Tip: get the corner suites ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ManilaHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We arrived a little bit earlier than the check-in time, and the staffs are very nice. The check-in area is also comfy and has all these cute decorations. We were given complimentary ice cream then we were led to our suite. The suite we had was the West Quoddy, it was really really nice, the room itself is huge, there's a private jacuzzi, huge bathroom, huge working area, and a balcony which has the great view of the volcano. We were given Ferrero Chocolates and a letter which contains the wifi password by Coco, our hotel inn keeper. The only downside of this suite is that we were really scared to out of the balcony at night 'coz there's a lot of bugs and insects flying around. Since it's close to nature, there's definitely all sorts of insects here. We also didn't have the chance to go out early morning / the whole morning because there's still a lot of insects and the area itself is dirty already because of a lot of fallen leaves and twigs. We only got the chance to use the jacuzzi once :(

Their breakfast is already fixed, which means that you're not gonna be the one whose gonna choose which you like, but they really serve a great heavy breakfast. The server is also very attentive and nice. He describes what the food is made of. Awesome stuff.

For the location of the hotel, you wouldn't have a hard time looking for restaurants because there's a lot to choose within the vicinity.

Overall, I would definitely love to go back here in the future. Definitely worth the stay.

Room Tip: Book the room that has a jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank time_traveller123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Thank you Coco for making our stay extra comfy! Complimentary ice cream upon check-in, personalized welcome note with Ferrero chocolates waiting at the desk, cute little bear as a turndown treat, spacious bathroom, even more spacious bedroom, LCD cable TV plus movies that you can rent for free, lush double beds, and a large balcony overlooking the lake and Taal Volcano.

Tab is very steep for the area though. I'm not sure if there's another B&B in the area that charges 14k/night for 3 persons with just eggs ben for breakfast. Discovery only charges 6k/night. Also, forget about peace and quiet. Adjacent rooms are only a sliding door away so you can hear each other's conversations, plus bars are located upstairs and next door so nights could be noisy (unless you close the shutters and live on airconditioning in lieu of the cool tagaytay air).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suman_monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Let me start by saying that this is perhaps one of the best places to stay while in Tagaytay. The place has 4 suites, each boasting of the perfect view of the famous Taal Volcano. Tucked at the lower levels of the Cliff House restaurant complex, this is a hidden gem that not a lot know about.

The rooms are all suites. Very large, and designed with quaint touches. The bathroom is oh so large, one of those with twin sinks! How often do you get that?!

Each package comes with breakfast. It is more of the American-Continental kind. Absolutely beautifully prepared and quite good too. I love it that a newspaper is given at breakfast with a personalized note on weather, etc.

Oh turn down service is quite adorable too. With a that comes a little beanie animal (we got a rabbit and a puppy) wishing you a good night's rest.

What didn't I like, if any? None! Sure it's quite pricey but you do get what you pay for. :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shelley_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My family and I had a wonderful time at The Inn at Cliffhouse Hotel. We spent 2 nights there and our stay was one of the best we've had. The personalized (handwritten too!) notes seems a small gesture but it made us feel important. The rooms are huuuuge! The view spectacular, and the heated jacuzzi was a very considerate amenity given the weather. Coco (the Innkeeper) was very accommodating. She made sure that we feel special and that our needs are attended to immediately. I looove this hotel and I will definitely be back SOON!

Room Tip: Minot's Ledge for me is the best among the 4 rooms in the hotel. It's a 100sqm room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I loved the place so much,the suites was so nice, clean,comfortable to stay and with a beautiful view of Taal Volcano the fact that price were expensive but it's all worth it,They offered good services like personalized touch of the management, kind and accommodating staff. I also loved the delicious full breakfast they prepared for me & my cousin.I really want to go back here with my husband next time. Got the chance to stay here for the complimentary certificate we had during our wedding at Clearwater as the venue.Try to visit this place for sure you'll have fun and experience complete relaxation so hurry up ! :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This place is probably one of the best places to stay in the Philippines. Our experience in the Inn at Cliffhouse from the time that we entered their compound just kept getting better and better. It was our first time to visit the place so when we first looked at the full parking space, we thought it was going to be a hassle finding a spot. But since we are guests, we get the best parking spots reserved for us.

Next was their lobby. It was very small but had a very warm and inviting feel. The reception staff were very helpful and accommodating and always had a smile on their face which is always great to see.

I didn't know that their compound, aside from the Inn/ Hotel itself, was open to the public. So the big crowd for me was alarming and a bit annoying. I was expecting a very relaxing and quiet stay and after seeing all the people, I really did not have my hopes up.

We were brought to a passage way with a glass door with a security lock. Apparently the suites were below all the hustle and bustle above. We booked three suites and they were kind enough to remove the suite separators located in the balcony. So we almost had the whole place to our selves. Once we got inside our suites, we were really impressed. They were big, clean, smelled great and boy did it have an incredible view! I don't really need to post a picture here because those shots you see in the internet or magazines is exactly what you will get and more. You just have to stay there to understand what I mean.

The best part for me, which is kinda just a small detail, but impressed me the most was our breakfast. They had made a beautiful breakfast table setting for us and my favorite part was they handed out their breakfast menu with our names printed on it. Now thats what you call a personal touch.

I will definitely be back once I get a chance to visit. I hope they all keep up what they are doing and never lower their standards.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brettfuzzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
1.1 mi away
Taal Vista Hotel
Taal Vista Hotel
#4 of 26 in Tagaytay
1,133 reviews
3.6 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 26 in Tagaytay
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
#10 of 26 in Tagaytay
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Discovery Country Suites
Discovery Country Suites
#5 of 26 in Tagaytay
198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
#12 of 26 in Tagaytay
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Joaquin's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Cliffhouse Tagaytay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Cliffhouse Tagaytay

Property: The Inn at Cliffhouse Tagaytay
Address: Km 58 Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo Highway, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Inn At Cliffhouse Tagaytay Hotel Tagaytay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing