We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm hospitality made up for a really bad weather”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Potter's Ridge Hotel
Ranked #10 of 97 Tagaytay B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality made up for a really bad weather”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed at Potter's Ridge Hotel because it was recommended by our Filipino friends from San Francisco. We saw the photos they took of the place and liked what we saw. After about a couple of months we decided to take trip to Manila and then Tagaytay, where the hotel is situated. It was the wrong time of the year to come. There was a storm and we were the only guests at the hotel. We stayed at the deluxe room over looking the scenery but we only saw some lights far below and we thought that would have been a great view if not for the weather. Fortunately, the staff took good care of us and served us some warm Taragon tea. Breakfast was a delight as we discovered a gem - their beautiful restaurant. We enjoyed their complimentary breakfast which was one of the best omelette we've tasted. We had a relaxing time doing nothing and just enjoying the rain. There was cable TV but the staff offered to set up the DVD for free and we were able to watch some really good movies. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were given a late check out. In the end we didn't mind the weather as the staff of the hotel we so nice, we were absolutely spoiled.

Room Tip: For a deluxe room, we were hoping that there was a kettle in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    26
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
28
34
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

potter ridge is far away from the town.. all the staff were good..very polite..and the first day..there s no choices of breakfast, and we did understand, it was raining and their supply didn't come on time. i loved the place, it's knda quite. but ours, was wrong timing..it was raining the whole two days we were there..so all you see was fog..over all, potter ridge, is perfect when you bring your own car...nxt time..we better do that..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jhing38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malolos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stumbled on this scenic hotel on our way to another hotel in Alfonso, Cavite, just past Tagaytay. Rooms facing Taal had great views, but the facilities weren't really top-rate. It would have been forgivable if their staff, particularly their lady manager, were more considerate and accommodating of their guests. Why? We upgraded from our initial nondescript standard room (with no view of Taal) to what we thought was a superior room (and, we thought, just a P350 upgrade in room rate). Instead when we checked out, we were told we had to pay P900 more for the upgrade because we had actually moved to a de luxe room -- which wasn't made clear to us by either the manager or the student trainee who ushered us into the room. We felt cheated and insulted, and no one among the meek staff wanted to help us out or offer a compromise, since we felt it was their mistake. The manager even had the gall to point her finger at me! We could have forgiven the average rooms, expensive food and so-so staff, but that was the move that ruined the experience for us. Come to this hotel only to enjoy the view -- don't stay in.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by their
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank diegomorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

Surprisingly, Potter's Ridge has all the amenities that I didn't expect it would have, based on the photos that were featured in its old website. It actually delivers more than I expected (actually, the pictures in the inn's old website did not give enough credit to the place's best features!).

For those who are into minimalist architecture but has the creature comforts of home, then Potter's Ridge is the place to go. The place is spanking clean, the rooms are well built and the bathrooms are even stocked with more than your basic toiletries.

The main attraction of Potter's Ridge is the fantastic view of Taal Lake and the surrounding environs. This can be seen from the restaurant level which I believe, is in the 3rd or 4th floor of the building. All enclosed in glass, one has the privilege of having an almost 360 degree view of the area.

But the best attraction for Potter's Ridge is its marvelous and cheerful owner, Ms. Marissa. A former Reuter's marketing person in the Middle East and a publicist for Timeout Magazine in the UK, Ms. Marissa is one of the most hospitable and fascinating hotel proprietor I've ever met. And unlike other hotel general managers, she enjoys her job immensely!

Ms. Marissa has taken pains to make our family welcome in her hotel, even switching rooms for one of my sisters so she didn't have to climb so far in order to reach her room (my sister had a knee accident prior to our holiday and was walking with a cane at that time).

Unfortunately, our stay at Potter's Ridge was rather brief, as we had to attend to my sister's wedding the next day (Ms. Marissa even volunteered to drive my father and brother-in-law to the wedding since we were running late). I would have loved to have a leisurely breakfast at the restaurant while the sun is just creeping up over the horizon.

But definitely, Potter's Ridge is a great place to have a quick weekend stay far from the hustle and bustle of Manila. I will be back for a longer stay next time!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MysticPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

My wife and I together with my Family and in-laws stayed in this hotel hoping that newly weds like us will have a wonderful time because of the beautiful scenery. Rooms are nice but found a cockroach near our bathtub. One the fisrt day my Dad ordered food in his room but it took 30mins before they came back to tell him that they don't have the food that he wants. 30 mins and to think that the kitchen was one floor above my Dad's room. It was unacceptable!!!

I gave them a heads up that the next day we will have an after party in their so called "Restaurant". I gave them my expectations, the foods and drinks that we might get. But it was the same old story. Nothing was there. I needed to buy some food and drinks outside for our guests.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alden T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

Potters Ridge is a great place to stay a cozy and relaxing overnight stay in Tagaytay. The place offers a scenic view of the hillside and the lake (although the view from the lake is kinda far). The location of the hotel is a bit far from the landmark restaurants but still i recommend this place for your stay.

The rooms offer all basic amenities: cable TV (where we watched Game 6 of the NBA finals), hot/cold water, enough electric sockets (for phones and laptops). Bed is also nice. We didnt tried the Wi-Fi connection though. Soap, toothbrush, tootpaste are also present.

The hotel staff are very accomodating and helpful. All your request are served in the fastest amount of time. Breakfast is served in the morning in the level above the lobby but we requested that our Breakfast be served in our room and it makes our stay even more OK!

Hotel prices are worth your stay. I highly recommend this place and we will definitely stay in this hotel on our next Tagaytay trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tisoycute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

Potters Ridge is an amazing place to do what one supposedly does in Tagaytay: rest. Although a bit far from the main part of the city, the location of the inn is not too far off that it should be ignored.(Highly accessible if one has a car since it's just along the main road.) Equipped with a scenic view of the mountains and amazing architecture, it comes as no surprise that the place is quite pleasing to the eyes and relaxing to the mind.

The staff is few, and although this may seem like a disadvantage, it rather is not as each and every one of them is quite nice and helpful when asked.

The rooms are equipped with the basics (tv, bed, lamp, table, closet) and so are the bathrooms (although I don't remember it well, i think there were some toiletries missing.) Yet for such a cheap price compared to many other sleeping areas in Tagaytay, one shouldn't complain. I mean, it is after all, just an inn. Plus it was clean.

Breakfast is served in the morning in the level above the lobby and wifi is available within the area.

Although the inn only features the basic necessities, it shouldn't be deemed of low standard. As the more often point of Tagaytay is get away from the busy city of the Manila and relax, and Potters Ridge is able to accommodate just for that.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ferrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
8.1 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tagaytay Country Hotel
Tagaytay Country Hotel
#16 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
7.7 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
#8 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
#12 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taal Vista Hotel
Taal Vista Hotel
#4 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potter's Ridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potter's Ridge Hotel

Property: Potter's Ridge Hotel
Address: Km 67 Aguinaldo Highway | after Mendez Market and before Splendido Golf Club, Tagatay City, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Potter's Ridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Potter's Ridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing