We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice restaurant..”

Bag of Beans Cafe and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Tagaytay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Filipino
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Taguig City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice restaurant..”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

very nice food and good staff ..except that they did not acknowledge us when we leave..

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lenuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    519
    195
    47
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Makati
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Simply fascinating!”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I had a wonderful evening the first time ive been here and eversince then, this place was never out of my list when visiting tagaytay.

A garden where you can chill, hang out with friends or have a good conversation with someone.

They now serve and early lunch (i think) buffet, i tried the breakfast buffet once and got satisfied! Dont forget trying their tapa! The best!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelandtravel005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“real coffee”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

my family and i were staying in tagaytay overnight and i ventured off to find this new resto/coffee place by the rotunda in tagaytay city - forgot the name. it had a great views of the taal as well - i was up by 8am and i enjoyed the quietness of the place. ANYWAY, what caught my attetion was that they were selling bag of beans coffee!!!! back in 2010, i researched about best coffee in tagaytay (i'm a coffee lover) and found raves & reviews about this place but i didn't get a chance to go....so, in this resto, i tired the coffee and they were the best!!! i tried teh starbucks by touristy place and for what i paid, it was definitely not worth it! it was watered-down coffee!!!! BUT THIS PLACE! BAG OF BEANS!!! FINALLY FOUND MY COFFEE!!!!

then we were off to Bag of Beans cafe & i bought the coffee beans...arabica - LOVED IT! didn't get a chance to actually have some food there but the place looks amazing! love the garden/foresty look....quite secluded...love it! will come back again - most definitely! and did i say they have great coffee!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anna881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Meats, Good God Lets EAT!”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We decided to have dinner at this place since it was highly recommended to us by friends we know, upon arriving I noticed alot of people, no surprise so we had to wait for a couple of minutes in order for us to be seated, but let me tell you that it was worth the wait, portions are big, not huge but large enough to most likely add another notch to ones belt buckle, I personally love their breakfast meals, for some reason I always love to eat breakfast food at any time of the day, everyone else ordered salads and steaks, it was indeed a satisfying gastronomical experience that we will surely have a repeat soon.

price range 150-500 PHP
Cabanas can seat about a group of 6 or more, however it has a consumable rate of 1000 PHP, worth it, cause the one we had had a couch wide enough to lie down :)

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bossmonkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overrrated restaurant, poor price quality ratio and noisy location”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I went there with my family following friend's recommendations and reviews on tripadvisor. But to my surprise.... it was a disappointment.....

Reasons why not to go:
1. Freezer is apparently not in the kitchen.. Waiters cross from one room to the kitchen carrying with them frozen meats and fish, parading them to the clients...the very thinly sliced fish that we've ordered tasted like the freezer.
2. Very small portion for the price you are paying.
3. Empty salt and pepper shakers.
4. Waiters mistake with taking orders.
5. We've had to ask 3x for the bill considering that it wasn't a busy day.
6. Waiters are not trained. They hand over the dish to the clients and do not observe proper serving rules.
7. Just outside the busy highway and you hear the noise of the buses and cars passing by.

Reason why to go:
1. Beautiful surrounding, garden and homely decorations.
2. Entertaining talking beo.
3. Delicious capuccino

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank janjanssens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bag of Beans Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

Tagaytay, Cavite Province
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
 
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
 

Been to Bag of Beans Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing