We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Coming Back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Tagaytay
Reviewed September 1, 2014

I have been going to Tagaytay more frequently, but I never got to try this hotel until I saw that they were offering a discount to one of those voucher sites.

The reservation was fast and easy via email. Though, they forgot to confirm my reservation even after I sent the voucher already.

Checking in was fast and easy also. It looks like that they were already prepared with our documents and room assignments. They just had to check if the room was already available. But I think the P3k Key deposit is too much. The deposit was more expensive than our room. That was kinda weird.

The room was nice and well maintained. Everything was complete and provided for. The welcome drinks were delivered not more than 30 minutes. And we were able to settle down in that short span of time. Though the phoneline was dead and had to call assistance for it. But they were able to attend and fix it right away.

They have free wi-fi service but I had difficulty joining to it at first. It took me a few tries before I was finally able to connect to it. The wifi service was pretty fast even if you know that it is shared by all of the guests.

The buffet breakfast was great. It was complete from the salads to the entrees, to the breads, and desserts. They also offered food for kids with their cereals and choco dips for dessert. They even offered different type of juices for those health conscious guests.

The only concern that I had with this hotel is their swimming pool; it is inappropriately situated. It is adjacent to the reception/lobby. So all guests who come through the lobby will see you taking a dip in their pool. It was such a waste knowing that it had an infinity pool concept. I would have loved to take a dip but not to the extent where everybody can see me.

Room Tip: Request for a room on the right wing of the hotel to have a good view of the Taal Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank prodigalsurvivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 313 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2014

I spent a total of two nights (two different occasions) in this hotel. First time there we stayed in a room on the 3rd floor with a view. Second time I was given a standard room which is located in the first level. This room also had a view of the Taal lake as well. It is good thing to note that I made a reservation the day itself around 1230 pm for a late check-in around 430 pm. They gave me two choices a lakeside view and a standard room, I chose to block the Lakeside view but when I got there they already gave it away. Okay, the rooms are really clean, the bathroom are as well. No wall to wall carpets, but the tiles are good. The beds are comfy. What I really like about this hotel is you could hang out in the lobby with a view of the lake and the stars while a pianist plays all evening. It could be a good spot for a romantic date if you plan it good. Lastly the breakfast buffet was nothing good but also nothing to complain about for me. I'd be coming here again for another date that I want to take to the next level.

Room Tip: I'd go with a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clyffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We opted to go check in at this hotel because it seemed like it was more relaxing and less crowded than Taal Vista. The staff I inquired abt the reservation was really nice too. I booked I reservation over a month ago. When I confirmed our reservation I was surprised that she upgraded our room reservation. We were given a suite, we originally booked a deluxe room. Our room had a breathtaking view of the taal. Staff was attentive and courteous. Breakfast was a big dissapointment though. I would not complain if they didnt charge my kids P700 each. This price is way too much for the food they placed on their buffet table. There is nothing spectacular about their breakfast. Its too ordinary, even our mediocre house help can prepare those. The cook doesnt even know how to prepare scrambled eggs. You dont just scramble an egg and fry it! There is suppose to be milk cream, and butter. It has to be cooked slowly at medium heat to be nice and fluffy. Crown Regency Boracay's breakfast is 450 which serves croissant's, baguette's, turnover's, pie's, freshly squeezes juice, etc. Shangri la's Heat offers a sumptuous breakfast at p800. Its either they improve their breakfast menu or reduce their ovepriced breakfast buffet. This hotel's view, accomodation, staff, and ameneties are great. However, breakfast isn't. As they say breakfast is the most important meal of the day. And it should always be practiced that we should start the day right. Waking up to this type of breakfast isnt something to look forward to. Wonderful stayed but dissapointed with overpriced mediocre breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarrietStyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Our home in Tagaytay, Lake Hotel has never disappointed us. Front Office Manager Gen Castillo and Camae Garcia, together with the rest of the front desk staff, housekeeping, room service, fitness club attendants, have always been so hospitable, amiable, ever ready to go out of their way to make us enjoy our stay. Thank you so much. As always, the hotel suite is comfy, clean, a/con is perfectly cool, bath tub great. Piano music at night is just so romantic and soothing. Quick room service to provide us with water bottles is just one of those thoughtful gestures. We look forward to delicious buffet breakfast, with several detoxifying juices. Absolutely worth the drive from Manila to rest here for a night in Tagaytay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lilet819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

The hotel landscape is quite good overlooking the taal volacano and also the room..
It was clean...The breakfast buffet is not really good with limited choices of food. However, My sister-in-law and mother-in-law enjoyed staying here for atleast one night..
Whats good in here is the hotel location is great, close to restaurants e.g. leslies restaurant..3-5 minutes walking..and also close to convenient stores. Very accessible in terms of transportation like buses and jeepneys..:-)

Room Tip: Rooms with terrace overlooking taal volcano and is very good..very relaxing..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garcia1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

bought a voucher for 3999 Php.
we got a lake view hotel room, buffet breakfast, 1 hour use of a family KTV room, and use of their recreation room (fuzball, table tennis, billiards, treadmill, and weight training eqpt).

room was very nice. 1 queen size bed and one single bed. terrace overlooking the lake.
im not that much of a foodie. but the breakfast buffet was good enough for me.

the major winner for this hotel are its staff. reception girls are very pretty and are very accomodating. it was our anniversary, and i purchased a separate romantic package. they set up flower petals according to what i told them to do so. wife was very surprised and very happy.

thumbs up for this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mamangbulag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Thanks to Margaret Curay for the discounts and coordination. She's been very helpful and responsive during my wedding booking. Great view of Taal Volcano. However, toilet, food, wifi connection and room cabinet can be improved.

Great job to the rest of the front office staff as well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank patchaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
1 mi away
Taal Vista Hotel
Taal Vista Hotel
#5 of 27 in Tagaytay
1,203 reviews
3.2 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
1.2 mi away
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
#12 of 27 in Tagaytay
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
#19 of 27 in Tagaytay
337 reviews
3.6 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#4 of 27 in Tagaytay
389 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tagaytay Country Hotel
Tagaytay Country Hotel
#16 of 27 in Tagaytay
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Hotel Tagaytay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Hotel Tagaytay

Address: Km 58 Emilio Aguinaldo Highway Maharlika East, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Tagaytay
Price Range: $75 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake Hotel Tagaytay 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuddled up amidst the slope of Tagaytay Ridge, approximately 90 minutes away from Manila, The Lake Hotel Tagaytay is a picture of verdantly serene and majestic haven. The Mediterranean inspired architectural design is complimented by the breathtaking view of the world-famous Taal Volcano and the opulence of over a hundred year old trees sprawled along the cliff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Lake Hotel Tagaytay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing