We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good view. but that's about it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Tagaytay
manila, philippines
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“good view. but that's about it”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

first the good points:

as most reviews mentioned, the hotel has a good view by virtue of it's location. the room and bathroom are spacious enough. it's fairly complete in amenities - toiletries, complimentary water, hair dryer, wifi, ref, newspaper. so i can imagine the owners or management going through a list of things they think a hotel should have and provide that.

but then that's about it. complete things.

the room layout (we were in 219) was odd. as soon as you open the door you see the beds. and our window looked out into a construction site. we couldn't even open the curtain to let sunlight in because there were workers right outside. very unpleasant.

the pleasant part of the hotel would have been the lobby but it reeked of rugby. no attempts whatsoever to diminish the smell.

speaking of smells, our bathroom smelled like a sewer.

breakfast at least had some choices - but they did look unpleasant. and the items that ran our were not refilled. coffee was nice, there's another plus. the cafe though is hardly equipped to serve dinner - with the staff informing me that it would take half an hour to get grilled pork out. their meals for business activities were most un-delicious.

all in all there didn't seem to be any care at all for the guests. all it was was a list of things that would make a hotel seem complete, but without any real concern for their quality.

highly NOT recommended

Room Tip: the only rooms worth getting it seems are those with a lake view. but those are very expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank apester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    123
    56
    19
    23
See reviews for
101
98
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Balanga City, Philippines
Level Contributor
129 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel offers an amazingly beautiful sight of the taal lake and volcano. It was like waking up in this wondrous creation. The room was clean and spacious however the wifi was not working. The breakfast was not so appetizing. I was expecting more greens and fruits in the buffet but the choices were very limited. The main menu in the buffet was fit for lunch rather than breakfast. However, the view esp the table beside the cliff compensated for the food. It's quite funny to see a pool in the lobby .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_pj18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I personally think that Tagaytay rooms along the ridge are starting to get very expensive but we wanted a "lake view" hotel so we decided to book Lake Hotel. Booked a Standard room for 3 nights (4K per night rate + buffet breakfast for 2)

Pros:
- a small family of 3-4 can fit in the standard room (around 4K pesos per night) as it has a double bed and a single bed but the walking space in the room is small
- clean bathroom, nice toiletries
- cheaper compared to other hotels around the ridge
- good buffet breakfast
- safe parking available for guests
- great great location

Cons:
- it took a looooong time + a lot of wasted water for the hot water to go down (or up?) the pipes (we checked in on a Thursday which is why the cold water had to be "pushed" out the pipes)
- the balcony had mosquitoes so don't open the balcony door at night

All in all its a good place to stay in Tagaytay if you're willing to spend.

Room Tip: Standard Room 110 will get you a nice, small view of the Taal Lake :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manda31012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna, philippines
Level Contributor
441 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel is centrally located in the city of Tagaytay. It has a spot on view of Taal Lake. Room was able to accommodate the 4 of us friends.

We were happy with the service: We always accidentally locked our door, and they were very quick to open it for us; and they had ready photocopies of Church services times. Housekeeping readily gave us extra towels and pillows.

Breakfast was a nice surprise: it was loaded and they kept re-filling it. Check-in and check out was a breeze! All-in-all we had a very happy weekend.

Room Tip: our room didn't have a lake view; but it was nice greenery. we took in the views from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamabelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a large clean room with a small balcony with a view of Taal Volcano. Plenty of restauarnst within walking distance as well. The staff were very friendly - when our taxi failed to turn up on our last day they 'sourced' a driver and van to get us back to Manila. If you have a room with a view of the volcano I would highly recommend this hotel. If I had to pick fault the breakfast choice was limited but thats not unusual with smaller hotels.

Room Tip: Only book a lake view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antipolo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for an overnight last April 27. The hotel is about 2-3years old, thus the room is newly furnished. The beddings and pillows are great (which is important for me in hotel rooms). Painting in the bathroom needs improvement though, including the floor level in the bathroom to avoid still water.

We stayed in superior room at the second floor (where the veranda is just next to the hotel bar). It has 2 twin beds and it's spacious enough for 3 adults, but it can accommodate up to 4.

What I didn't like:
1. the pool that is right in the middle of the lobby. half of it is just below the veranda rooms in the third floor. I even noticed that drippings from the veranda goes straight to the pool :(
2. the buffet breakfast - we didn't enjoy much the food. it lacks seasoning.. menu and flavoring needs improvement

Other than that, the experience was good. The service and staff are friendly, making us feel at home. Recommendable for overnight/weekend trippers, specially to spontaneous couple like us.

Room Tip: choose the room at the second or third floor to get the view of the lake (garden side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marikina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Great view from taal lake.nice rooms(but not all rooms offer a view from taal) yummy food (but ala carte menu cost a longer time), accessible, friendly staffs, clean rooms:) but the garden should be updated

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charisse0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
1.0 mi away
Taal Vista Hotel
Taal Vista Hotel
#4 of 25 in Tagaytay
1,100 reviews
3.6 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 25 in Tagaytay
363 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kimberly
Hotel Kimberly
#2 of 25 in Tagaytay
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
0.5 mi away
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
#13 of 25 in Tagaytay
308 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
#12 of 25 in Tagaytay
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Hotel Tagaytay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Hotel Tagaytay

Property: The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
Address: Km 58 Emilio Aguinaldo Highway Maharlika East, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake Hotel Tagaytay 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuddled up amidst the slope of Tagaytay Ridge, approximately 90 minutes away from Manila, The Lake Hotel Tagaytay is a picture of verdantly serene and majestic haven. The Mediterranean inspired architectural design is complimented by the breathtaking view of the world-famous Taal Volcano and the opulence of over a hundred year old trees sprawled along the cliff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Lake Hotel Tagaytay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing