We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Tagaytay
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel is centrally located in the city of Tagaytay. It has a spot on view of Taal Lake. Room was able to accommodate the 4 of us friends.

We were happy with the service: We always accidentally locked our door, and they were very quick to open it for us; and they had ready photocopies of Church services times. Housekeeping readily gave us extra towels and pillows.

Breakfast was a nice surprise: it was loaded and they kept re-filling it. Check-in and check out was a breeze! All-in-all we had a very happy weekend.

Room Tip: our room didn't have a lake view; but it was nice greenery. we took in the views from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamabelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 310 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a large clean room with a small balcony with a view of Taal Volcano. Plenty of restauarnst within walking distance as well. The staff were very friendly - when our taxi failed to turn up on our last day they 'sourced' a driver and van to get us back to Manila. If you have a room with a view of the volcano I would highly recommend this hotel. If I had to pick fault the breakfast choice was limited but thats not unusual with smaller hotels.

Room Tip: Only book a lake view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for an overnight last April 27. The hotel is about 2-3years old, thus the room is newly furnished. The beddings and pillows are great (which is important for me in hotel rooms). Painting in the bathroom needs improvement though, including the floor level in the bathroom to avoid still water.

We stayed in superior room at the second floor (where the veranda is just next to the hotel bar). It has 2 twin beds and it's spacious enough for 3 adults, but it can accommodate up to 4.

What I didn't like:
1. the pool that is right in the middle of the lobby. half of it is just below the veranda rooms in the third floor. I even noticed that drippings from the veranda goes straight to the pool :(
2. the buffet breakfast - we didn't enjoy much the food. it lacks seasoning.. menu and flavoring needs improvement

Other than that, the experience was good. The service and staff are friendly, making us feel at home. Recommendable for overnight/weekend trippers, specially to spontaneous couple like us.

Room Tip: choose the room at the second or third floor to get the view of the lake (garden side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Great view from taal lake.nice rooms(but not all rooms offer a view from taal) yummy food (but ala carte menu cost a longer time), accessible, friendly staffs, clean rooms:) but the garden should be updated

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charisse0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great selection of breakfast buffet.. Pool unusable bec water is cold. Room is great if we had a view. Very clean, nice ambiance even as u enter the hotel... Great view of taal by their garden..located by the road so I think that's a plus minus...if u want to get out of the hotel, very easy, by jeep, bus, or taxi.. But if u are looking for quiet, peaceful, clear ambiance even outside the hotel...this is a No.... Bec the road is just in front. It worked for us bec we love the crispy pata from lapids just a short walk from the hotel... Too bad, no microwave to heat up the leftovers. Got free water and coffee and tea. Very good hot water and shower. No tub. Overall, we like it.

Room Tip: Find a room with view.. We only got standard room, no view.. Had to get out of the room to see taal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I recently stayed there with my family. We stayed in a third floor room (forgot if it was deluxe or something cause my parents booked and payed for it). The room was clean, had no problems with the TV or air-conditioning and the bathroom was very clean.

They served a decent breakfast of the usual fare you could expect to have in small hotels. Aside from this you could also eat at the Steak Town resto also located in their hotel.

The view by the way is lovely, and beats most of the other viewing places in tagaytay, be in sunrise or dusk you would want a camera and just click away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clyffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Got a standard room at the lower level for P4,660 (with breakfast for 2). No lake view, but has a picture window of a mini garden. Minus the bathroom, it is approx. 16 sq.m.

The room comes with a mini bar and the usual stuff (bottled water, coffee pot, slippers, etc.) BUT they do one better in providing masks (for smoke protection, in case of fire).

Despite the interesting drain design, the shower stall drain was clogged. Ditto with the water closet. Within a minute of our call, the maintenance man was in our room.

No wifi signal in the room. No wonder reception did not furnish us password upon check-in, we literally had to insist and invoke their website.

Pool is in the lobby. Great for parents to watch their kids swim.

We had lunch at the coffee shop and ordered local food: fried tawilis (freshwater sardine from Taal Lake), bulalo (beef brisket soup with bone marrow, cabbage and corn), and Asian food (chicken wrapped in pandan leaves; ebi tempura - good, crispy batter, although the sauce was not the real thing). Well-sized servings. Staff was attentive, friendly and answered our questions about places of interest. Aldrin surprised us with a googlemap printout of a flower farm and the phone number of an Italian restaurant that we had inquired about. But like the wifi, we had to request that the aircon be turned on.

Massage is available in the room only.

All things considered, not a bad deal. It is a small hotel, and not busy. Spacious parking. It scores very well on service, slightly above average on room and amenities. At its price point, this hotel can be better if it ceases cutting costs on small things that matter like wifi, airconditioning in summer and better-grade towels.

Room Tip: If a view of the lake/volcano is worth an additional P2,400 for you, go for the ground floor lakevie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ludeleo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
1.0 mi away
Taal Vista Hotel
Taal Vista Hotel
#4 of 26 in Tagaytay
1,165 reviews
3.6 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 26 in Tagaytay
379 reviews
3.2 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
#16 of 26 in Tagaytay
324 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
#13 of 26 in Tagaytay
179 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kimberly
Hotel Kimberly
#2 of 26 in Tagaytay
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Hotel Tagaytay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Hotel Tagaytay

Address: Km 58 Emilio Aguinaldo Highway Maharlika East, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Tagaytay
Price Range: $74 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake Hotel Tagaytay 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuddled up amidst the slope of Tagaytay Ridge, approximately 90 minutes away from Manila, The Lake Hotel Tagaytay is a picture of verdantly serene and majestic haven. The Mediterranean inspired architectural design is complimented by the breathtaking view of the world-famous Taal Volcano and the opulence of over a hundred year old trees sprawled along the cliff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Lake Hotel Tagaytay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing