We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Tagaytay
oaklahoma
1 review
“very poor hotel”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

the food taste so bad. the staff has very poor service. seems they are always waiting for the tip. wi-fi and internet connection are weak. you can see the old wifi modem along the hallway. even the manager ms bucao seems doesn't care except for the money. you can hear the noise outside. the swimming pool is in the middle of everything. the parking is very narrow. worst of all, the price of rooms are very expensive.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    124
    57
    20
    23
See reviews for
102
99
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasig
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Compared to previous reviews that gave poor ratings on service and buffet breakfast, our Holy Week stay in Lake Hotel turned out a lot better. Front desk services were really superb. There was sufficient hotel staff that were ready to accommodate guest requests. Breakfast buffet had sufficient choices. It was such a pleasure having long meals in the garden overlooking Taal Lake. We got good rooms that had a perfect view of the Lake as well.

Now if only the gym was bigger, and the pool was not in a place where everyone can see you while you swim.

But overall, it was better than we we had expected and we would recommend it to those who plan to go to Tagaytay to just chill.

Room Tip: Ask which rooms has a good lake view and insist on getting them. If you can afford it, upgrade to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Good property located near the city center of Tagaytay with an excellent view. Was pleasantly surprised by this property which does not do much advertising. The location is great - all the convenience of city center yet once you enter the property, you are quickly transported to the charm of the Tagaytay highlands. We walked in to this property during the rush of the Holy week. Property was about full. They did have a deluxe room with a view.. Prices were tad bit steep but expected for a walk-in and the peak demand. Check-in was quick and efficient. Parking is tight on a busy week. The lobby overlooks a small garden with a fantastic view of the highlands and the lake.
We needed an additional room for the following morning. We were initially given a superior room close to the kitchen ..when the smell of food permeated the room, we requested a room change. In spite of the rush of people to check-in and check out, this request was handled in a most professional and pleasing manner. Must single out the front office staff of Gen, Neth and Chie who always serviced with a smile on their face and the utmost professionalism. They upgraded me to a superior room with a view at no additional cost and did their best to ensure we were comfortable.
Rooms and bathrooms are spacious. Air conditioning quiet and efficient. Water pressure excellent. Amenities were top quality.
On check-out, in our rush, we forgot to take back our deposit and were pleasantly surprised when the hotel discovered this and immediately apologized and sent a text message offering to deposit it to our bank account.
The manager was always present and attentive to the guest's needs.
The only area the hotel can improve on is the quality of food offered at the restaurant. Breakfast and lunch /dinner quality and offerings were average. There is a steakhouse within the hotel property that compensates by offering good quality food.
On the whole will highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Room with a view - always worth the extra cost. The balconies offer an ideal location to sit back a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gktravelguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed here last Feb 25'12. The reception manager is very accomodating and even offered me the junior suite which i really loved. the room is clean and cozy with a Majestic View of the lake. Me and my family really enjoyed our stay. we were pampered by the hotel staff. the food is not that great though.
i would recommend this hotel to my friends and relatives but i suggest to have their breakfast outside instead.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmcelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Last February 24, we supposed to have a walk-in check-in, but the front desk negotiated high price though our family stayed there for a while, manager in not around ( to think it's 4pm, Friday ). I forgot the name but HE is trouble and having a "plastic smile" to us though I told them that it's my birthday and minimal guest at the moment, but still, he did not honored our request.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tagaytay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paranaque, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I stayed with my family for a post-New Year break. We booked 2 superior rooms for 2 nights.

Pros:
The rooms are a good size, with all the standard amenities and a view of Taal Volcano.
Check-in was efficient, and the requests made from the room were attended to promptly.
The property is located within walking distance to many restaurants (the closest is the Cliffhouse, which has Buongiorno, Cafe Breton & Fire Lake Grill)
Hotel's location on the ridge gives it one of the best views of Taal Volcano.

Cons:
Our room was located on the ground floor, just down the hall from the front desk and kitchen. Sometimes the smell of cooking from the kitchen reached the hallway of our room.
The breakfast buffet was depressing. No bacon, some strange meat & sausage with sauce, a couple of choices for fruit, bread and an omelet station. Fresh fruit juice was available, but had to be paid for separately (it wasn't part of the buffet). For the rates they charge, the selection and quality should be better.

I would stay here again because of the location and quiet rooms. If the food was better, I would have given them a "Very Good" rating instead of just "Good".

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have a view of Taal Lake/Volcano, so make sure to ask before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanilla_bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The location of the Hotel is great. Near the "Rotonda". Also, it is near the famous restaurants in Tagaytay, so they are just walking distance. And parking is spacious.
As you walk down their reception, the view and entrance is relaxing. There is a pool and a garden view which are both amazing!

Their restaurants serves average food. But it is more than enough considering its value.
The rooms are quite small relative to its price. You can get better and larger rooms on other hotels for their room rates.

In summary, if you consider the location and view - the hotel is recommended.
But if you prefer better rooms at the same rate, and you have your own transpo - might as well try other hotels first before booking. :)

Room Tip: Choose rooms with Taal View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msCharrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
1.0 mi away
Taal Vista Hotel
Taal Vista Hotel
#4 of 26 in Tagaytay
1,133 reviews
3.2 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
3.6 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 26 in Tagaytay
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kimberly
Hotel Kimberly
#2 of 26 in Tagaytay
523 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
#12 of 26 in Tagaytay
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
#15 of 26 in Tagaytay
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Hotel Tagaytay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Hotel Tagaytay

Property: The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
Address: Km 58 Emilio Aguinaldo Highway Maharlika East, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake Hotel Tagaytay 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuddled up amidst the slope of Tagaytay Ridge, approximately 90 minutes away from Manila, The Lake Hotel Tagaytay is a picture of verdantly serene and majestic haven. The Mediterranean inspired architectural design is complimented by the breathtaking view of the world-famous Taal Volcano and the opulence of over a hundred year old trees sprawled along the cliff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Lake Hotel Tagaytay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing