We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Guess I Expected Much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Tagaytay
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Went here on an overnighter seminar. The place is great, with December cool winds sweeping along the corridors and hallways. Speaking of hallways, the ones on the room floors are open air, allowing you a view outside. I wonder how this arrangement turns out during storms with sideways rain.

The room was neat, but rather spartan. Carpeting would have changed the room’s character immensely, but I guess that would be too much to ask. There are no master switches bedside, so if you get sleepy watching the tivo and the lights happen to be on, youd have to summon the will to get up and go to the switch; or, you could try sleeping with lights on for a change. One issue we had was with the airconditioning. It constantly swung between hot and too cold.

We were booked a room on the third floor, so we only got to see snippets of the lake in the balcony. A room on the upper floors would have provided a much better view.

Theres a small pool behind the hotel, but no one dared take a dip in this cold weather.

Buffet meals are served at the C2 restaurant at the ground floor. I figure about 6-8 dishes by way of variety. For some reason the food was so-so during dinner but was great during breakfast and lunch.

Parking is ample; there are slots in front of the hotel and more in the basement.

I guess I expected way too much going into this hotel, mostly basing my expectations on the façade. But its still a good hotel and I wouldn’t mind coming back.

Room Tip: Get a room in the upper floors. You’ll get a view of the Taal lake and volcano, and youll better in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ac_agati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 332 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

Saturday November 24, stayed at King Classic room on the 8th floor for 1 night. Note: All of their rooms are non-smoking as I was told by the receptionist.

Good view of Taal lake vicinity from room veranda.
A bit noisy though, since it's close to highway, & the room beside us were a family.
You can hear the howling of the wind at night - which can be comforting or alarming.
Comfortable bed/ pillows. One lamp was busted. Liked the Valera blow dryer.

Not happy with the buffet breakfast - menu more on the meat side, pancakes were not yummy, lettuce was just sad. The Egg omelet is the only food there that is worth tasting. Fruits were okay.

Service/ reception/ security is generally okay.

Overall, stay here for the view.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HMix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel in general is very ordinary but clean with friendly staff. The location was good with there being a small mall with Starbucks just next door to the property. The view to The volcano was very good but because it is viewed across a busy main road, you can't get the view without the traffic noise. I was on the 8th floor so it was not too bad.

Room Tip: Floors 8 plus to get away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisajanead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We found the staff very accommodating. The King Classic room that we stayed overlooks the lake and the sunrise views were awesome. Aside from having a hard time moving the curtains, the room and the amenities that went with it was very good. We stayed for 4nights and having the hotel right next to the promenade where you can shop and dine is really a plus during those days when you just don't want to drive. Being right across Josephine's is another plus since they have good food, service and you can leisurely sit down and soak in the awesome views of the volcano and lake.

I loved the breakfast buffet. The spread includes continental and local food. The coffee was awesome, although not from the area (I was told it was a special blend from Benquet that the Hotel gets exclusive), and the service was great.

Overall, I will go back to this hotel because we had a very comfortable stay due to its convenient location, size of the room, well maintained property and secured parking.

Room Tip: The higher you are the better your view will be of the lake. We stayed on the 5th floor and the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 20Twenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The place is well maintained. Availed of their classic king rooom without breakfast since I read a not so good review on their breakfast menu. Spacious bathroom by the way. Their rooms have an awesome view of the taal lake in the morning except for some noises of cars passing by the road since it is along the main road..All in all, enjoyed our stay here and will definitely be back

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wifeychie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

So it was interesting elevator ride with great view of Taal Volcano. Staff are unfriendly. Breakfast buffet--decent. Rooms are fine but bathroom needs more lightings. The barbecue buffet was well--pre-cooked and just reheated!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ONEROSSCOLLADO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A nice place to stay in tagaytay. I recommend to my friends who want to just spend weekend with their families, Just beside Robinsons (supermarket) that is very convenient and helpful with the guests. So many restaurants around. The room is very comfortable and big enough for my family.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boome C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
0.6 mi away
Taal Vista Hotel
Taal Vista Hotel
#4 of 27 in Tagaytay
1,186 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
#14 of 27 in Tagaytay
312 reviews
3.7 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 27 in Tagaytay
385 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Kimberly
Hotel Kimberly
#2 of 27 in Tagaytay
558 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
#12 of 27 in Tagaytay
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Ridge Tagaytay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Ridge Tagaytay

Address: Km. 58 Gen. Aguinaldo Highway | Maharlika West, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Tagaytay
Price Range: $78 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Summit Ridge Tagaytay 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Ridge Tagaytay gives you the best view of Taal Volcano and lets you experience the coldest spot in Tagaytay City. Comfort, luxury, and convenience are with its several shopping, dining, and recreational facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Summit Ridge Tagaytay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing