We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”

Sonya's Secret Garden
Ranked #7 of 168 Restaurants in Tagaytay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Went here for buffet breakfast with my colleagues. The ambience of the place is really impressive since it's every bit a garden and decorated in old-fashioned Filipino. Unfortunately the menu is such a let-down. Had we known that we'd only be served rice, egg, daing na bangus, and adobo, we wouldn't have gone here. Since it was so expensive I expected more choices of food. The food tasted good but for the price it was so regretful.

If you like taking pictures and into gardens, then you might enjoy it. Guests were mainly senior citizens. Unfortunately the entire place isn't something I'm into. Go here if you have money to burn. I would have rated it a 1 had it not been for the very accommodating staff and nice ambience.

Helpful?
5 Thank Rica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    164
    76
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
San Fernando, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Romancing with Nature”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

A romantic place to spend good food from green salad with rose petals (Eat everything on your plate. It's edible.), pasta and more. Be sure to make reservations days before because it is always full. Ambiance is shabby chic and you are very close to nature. Everything they serve comes from their garden and that assures you it is fresh and organic.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank FIdes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Never miss this when in Tagaytay”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I like the vibe here. Very laidback, bohemian, rustic and devoid of distractions like TV, radio and other techno stuff. The food is organic and healthy and fresh and they serve the best salad. Their dalandan juice is the freshest you'll ever get in the entire country. The place is definitely a treat for those who have been staying in the city for far too long. Take your time while dining and enjoy the moment in this quaint place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jomosanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Schizo-Sonya's Garden”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I attended a wedding reception at Sonya's Garden.

The set-up was simple and elegant.
The venue had ample parking space and very friendly staff.

The salad greens with herds was great! I could just eat it the whole night.

The rest of the menu was straight forward Filipino home-cooking.
Molo soup was nice and hearty.
The lengua was superb. Meat was tender and the mushroom sauce had the right consistency and seasoning.
The grilled chicken was infused with lemongrass. The kare-kare, for me, lacked some peanut flavour.
Dessert was small turon and sweet potatoes served with tarragon tea.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChefJocen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tagaytay, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Total disappointment”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

total waste of time. People are unfriendly. Place is nice. But kinda dirty already with dried leaves around. The sofas under the trees are eeky because of its dirty white colored sheets. Though the place is quiet and good for nature lovers, still i dont recommend this place because of the management. I will never ever come back to this place again. And i would not recommend this to my friends either. Descriminating people.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank milkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonya's Secret Garden also viewed

 
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
 
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
 

Been to Sonya's Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing