We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never miss this when in Tagaytay”

Sonya's Secret Garden
Ranked #5 of 159 Restaurants in Tagaytay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Filipino
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philippines
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Never miss this when in Tagaytay”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I like the vibe here. Very laidback, bohemian, rustic and devoid of distractions like TV, radio and other techno stuff. The food is organic and healthy and fresh and they serve the best salad. Their dalandan juice is the freshest you'll ever get in the entire country. The place is definitely a treat for those who have been staying in the city for far too long. Take your time while dining and enjoy the moment in this quaint place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jomosanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    161
    75
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Schizo-Sonya's Garden”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I attended a wedding reception at Sonya's Garden.

The set-up was simple and elegant.
The venue had ample parking space and very friendly staff.

The salad greens with herds was great! I could just eat it the whole night.

The rest of the menu was straight forward Filipino home-cooking.
Molo soup was nice and hearty.
The lengua was superb. Meat was tender and the mushroom sauce had the right consistency and seasoning.
The grilled chicken was infused with lemongrass. The kare-kare, for me, lacked some peanut flavour.
Dessert was small turon and sweet potatoes served with tarragon tea.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChefJocen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tagaytay, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Total disappointment”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

total waste of time. People are unfriendly. Place is nice. But kinda dirty already with dried leaves around. The sofas under the trees are eeky because of its dirty white colored sheets. Though the place is quiet and good for nature lovers, still i dont recommend this place because of the management. I will never ever come back to this place again. And i would not recommend this to my friends either. Descriminating people.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank milkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
215 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Expensive oasis”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We didn't try their food as we find it way too expensive. They only serve unlimited but set menu consisting of salad, pasta and bread, dessert for 700php++. For additional fee you can have a slice or chicken ir fish. We brought with us a lot of kids who dont like veggies so we let go of the lunch set and tried their bakery products instead. Their best seller hopia cheese is really a delight! Yema in box is also delish different from the usual yemas found anywhere.
The place is huge, serene but i dont feel like shedding thousands of peso just to stay in a garden. Anyway, service might be impeccable but to each his own..i still prefer high end hotels for the same price.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank rossManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
200 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Old reliable continues to draw the crowds”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Sonya's garden has always attracted Tagaytay goers who like its set vegetarian-piscian menu that has remained unchanged for god-knows-how-long. Every two years or so they up the price slightly.

In the old days, you got a pitcher of cold dalandan juice, then a basket or two of fresh breads cooked by their bakery with 5 to 6 spreads, then a big bowl of greens with their delicious patented mango-plus sauce and 5-7 types of toppings such as mango, nuts, onions, tomatoes, followed by a bowl of pasta with 5-7 types of toppings synch as mushrooms, tomato paste, salmon belly, etc. then followed by dessert of sweet camote, banana turn, and chocolate cake, finished by teragonne tea. Today, in what is probably a cost-cutting move, they put the pasta and the dessert at the buffet table - a move that feels cheap.

The salad and bread are great but if you've eaten many times, you wish they'd change the spreads and toppings once in a while. Ditto with the pasta.

The other "plus" is the garden ambience though some of the dining halls have more of it inside than the others. But outside, the greenery entices.

The price is on the high side, esp after putting the pasta and dessert on buffet spread - but if you had foreign visitors, you'd still want to bring them to Sonya's. Which is a testament to its durability and time-tested formula.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JGR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonya's Secret Garden also viewed

 
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
 

Been to Sonya's Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing