We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"keep quiet"”

Sonya's Secret Garden
Ranked #5 of 157 Restaurants in Tagaytay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Filipino, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"keep quiet"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

My husband and I visited Sonya's Garden may times. We always go here for their breakfast. Our favorite is their hot chocolate, their food are very delicious and tasty. And also the place is quiet and relaxing. Their food are organic, it was pricey but it was worth it. You can take some pictures because the place is very nice. You can also buy their organic products at the panaderia with a very reasonable price. Although this place is far from us, we still definitely comeback here for their breakfast :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toshiki_mallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    156
    73
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Over....!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

OVER!! Over rated, overpriced... We walked in to have our lunch and decided to just walked out because the price is not worth the food they serve...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Go for the garden ambience, not the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have visited Sonya's Garden many times before, but the last visit was so far the most disappointing.

The food--unfortunately disappointing and not worth the price in my opinion. For first timers, be ready to be served a set menu as noted by other reviewers. I won't go on to say what's included as many have already expounded on this. The most disappointing were the pasta sauces. Even if I mixed the 2 provided sauces together, it still tasted bland. You can mix the anchovies in to make it better but I don't enjoy the fact that I have to do my own mixing just to have a decent tasting sauce. The Sonya's Secret Sauce for the salad wasn't that great either. The friend salmon was cold and the skin wasn't crispy at all. Ugh. The dalandan juice ran out and the most disappointing is that they served instant powdered orange drink as replacement. That would have probably been fine if they didn't tout the "all natural" and healthy concept.

The only thing I enjoyed was the extremely small slice of chocolate cake.

Service by the waiting staff wasn't great either. As another reviewer noted, it takes so long for them to refill the condiments or dishes that run out since the place is normally packed and they tend to get understaffed.

Overall, Sonya's Garden is worth visiting at least once. But as noted in this review's title, go for the garden ambience, not the food. Don't expect a relaxed atmosphere any longer though, especially if you go during the weekends as there are so many people. It is not as secluded as it was before and it does get extremely busy. Just enjoy the beautiful garden, the flowers, the surroundings, if you can.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Panda_sabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Healthy, guilt-free and tranquil”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you are a health conscious, vegetarian and a person who loves eating mostly greens and breads, then Sonya's Restaurant is perfect for you.

This tranquil place will definitely make you enjoy your healthy lunch or dinner meal.

What are the type of food included in the buffet?
At the Buffet Center, there are just 8 trays.
1. Pasta Noodle 2.Salmon 3.Cheese Sauce 4.Tomato Sauce 5.Shitake Mushrooms 6. Veggie Dish 7.Turon 8.Kamote

Plus, you will be served with unlimited Salad, Bread with unlimited types of dips (spanish style sardines, goat cheese, liver spread) and Bottomless Juice. For the dessert, you will be served with a very small slice of chocolate cake.

For an amount of 683/head - these are all the food that you can enjoy.

If you want to try their chicken, you also need to make reservation for this when you make you reservation for your table. The price of chicken is excluded in the buffet price.

You'll definitely wont get guilty of enjoying buffet here.
Healthy, delicious and tranquil. A must-visit.

HOW TO REACH:
From rotonda, pass Our Lady of Lourdes, Taal Vista, Mendez, Alfonso. Turn right at the road after the Splendido on your left. You will see a sign and tricycles on here. Just drive straiight ahead until you reach Sonya's.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank msCharrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch buffet sucks”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

683 pesos nett for lunch buffet of limited choices seriously? So we were served salad, pasta, bread, salmon slices, banana rolls (Turon), sweet potato (Camote), tiny slice of chocolate cake, unlimited dalandan juice. After munching few salad greens, we got off our table, checked what else they have on the round buffet table, and to our surprise, the waitress wiped clean our table. And there's a considerable amount of salad left and we're supposed to consume as much as we can as it's called buffet. The waitress did not even call our attention before cleaning up our table. Pasta sauce was awful. White sauce tasted just like instant cream poured out of a box. My mom cooks red sauce better. I just had a spoonful of pasta noodles then gave up. The chocolate cake that they claim to be sinfully delish turned out to be a tiny slice of moist chocolate cake that one can easily buy from local morning bakeries. Red ribbon chocolate cake and aristocrat's taste even better...way better! Ok I get it, they claim to serve healthy meals. Healthy but crappy meals. Who would want to pay 683 pesos for unlimited serving of dalandan juice, bland pasta, Camote and Turon? C'mon! I could have spent the same amount for Dads or Vikings and come home with a happy belly. I'll never go back. It's overrated.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank oliviagracia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonya's Secret Garden also viewed

 
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
 
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
 

Been to Sonya's Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing