We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding disaster” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kimberly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Kimberly
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Tagaytay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wedding disaster”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

The wedding package which includes the bride's room is not really fit for a bride. Food is annoyingly late. Hotel staff are ok though.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Tripwithkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat0123, General Manager at Hotel Kimberly, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear TripwithKat,

Thank you for your candid feedback. I am sorry for your dissatisfaction but I do believe the hotel and our staff did their best under the circumstances. Do allow me to clarify the issues that you mentioned.

The wedding was booked for 3pm but the instructions were to serve food at 4pm for 100 people. On the day, wedding guests turned up an hour early expecting food and they were 120 not 100 guests. We rushed to set up the food and extra tables as the extra guests waited. Our staff on their part were surprised but decided to go ahead and get everything ready so as not to disappoint the bridal couple.

The room given was a deluxe room and we do inform all couples if they need extra space to book the Kimberly Suite which has a separate living area. This option is available for certain packages and it was not the chosen one, nor did the couple opt to pay an additional fee for it.

If you have any problems, questions or comments with anything above do let me know. I have asked our Sales Manager to directly liaise with you on any further issues you may have. I do take pride in my staff commitment to service and would always welcome any suggestions on how we can improve guest experience with us.
Sincerely yours,

Natalie Ng
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    179
    56
    14
    7
See reviews for
320
36
5
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

The hotel is far from Tagaytay proper. The area is peaceful. Its an excellent hotel for its price. one thing i do not like is they don't have hot water at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maldita1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat0123, General Manager at Hotel Kimberly, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear maldita1010,

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Kimberly Tagaytay and sincerely apologize for the lack of hot water on the night of your visit. In the interest of the environment, we use solar panels to provide hot water throughout the hotel and had a problem with one of our solar panels that has since been fixed. Rest assured this will not happen again. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Natalie Ng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

The hotel is not located close to establishments. You need to drive through a long road to get there. There is a big sign by the entrance so you won't get lost. If you don't have a car, your only choice is to eat in their restaurant.

The breakfast buffet is a typical selection of Filipino food such as lugaw, sinangag, tuyo, adobo, tapa, and pansit. However, pancakes and fresh fruits are available if you are not a big fan of heavy breakfast. The breakfast items sit on warmers so they stay warm for a long time. The main problem I have are the flies! So many of them!

The room is really nice, with a big bed and spacious bathroom. The tub is quite small so you don't really soak up nicely, unless you're not that tall. The fridge is well stocked and the television has a wide array of channels. You can even borrow DVDs from the front desk and room service will deliver it straight away.

Overall, a pleasant overnight experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melaelaeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We travelled to Tagaytay over the weekend to escape the summer heat. We were billed at Hotel Kimberly for a night. The hotel is found along Amadeo Road, which is not along the scenic route (no view of Taal), about 15-20 minutes from the Rotunda. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted with welcome drink and checked-in promptly. The stylish hotel lobby is large and airy. We got the well-appointed premium room which easily fit 4 people. The room is equipped with basic amenities like cable TV, mini fridge, electric kettle, safety box, and water heater. The beddings were comfortable and the room temp can be adjusted. The hotel lies on extensive grounds and has a lap pool. The hotel also has an entertainment room across the lobby which is equipped with a pool table, foosball, and air hockey!

We were pretty pleased with this property as we thought the price was reasonable for their offering- good rooms and attentive service. Buffet breakfast was also included (typical Filipino fare: arroz caldo, longganisa, hamon, omelettes, sinangag, etc.) . The main downside to this hotel is its location. No view of Taal from any vantage point of the hotel. While the roads were not congested the weekend we stayed here, we can imagine how difficult to travel from the hotel to the different dining spots in Tagaytay (the real point of travelling to this destination) during the peak season. On another note, the hotel seems to be popular wedding venue in Tagaytay as we witnessed a reception for both days that we stayed there.

I'd recommend the hotel to groups of friends, families, and large groups (conferences, team-building). The hotel however is not for those seeking a romantic getaway.

Overall, two thumbs up.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CQ2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We availed of Kimberly Hotel's Valentines's day promo for P5,499 nett in a deluxe room that came with a set dinner for two with champagne and massage for one. The package also came with breakfast for two. Kimberly hotel is on Amadeo Road which is a few minutes away from the Tagaytay roundabout. Calls itself a four star hotel but in my opinion, its more of a three star hotel. We were expecting to have a nice quiet romantic dinner but the hotel was hosting a wedding that day so we had the annoying voice of the wedding's host as our romantic dinner background. The set dinner was ok. Nothing special. The set had salad, soup, entree of your choice and dessert. Hubby's quarter chicken and pasta was a disappointment. The quarter cut was so puny (the cut was probably from a spring chicken). I was happy with my tenderloin steak though. It was a generous serving of two 4-5ounces of tenderloin. The supposed "chefs ice cream special" was strawberry ice cream with chocolate syrup and a cherry on top (my 6 yr old could do that special :-) ) Breakfast buffet was adequate. Fried tawilis, ham, corned beef with rice and eggs were served along with salad greens and fruit. Pancakes and arroz caldo were also among the selection. The buffet came with free flowing juice and barako coffee.

The de luxe room we had was spacious and clean but dated. Our room fronted Amadeo road. It wasn't a very busy road but the sound of the tricycles could get you up in the morning along with the gazillion cockerels in the property and around the neighborhood. The bathroom had a tub. Aircon (window type) was noisy. The bed was not comfortable. The mattress was hard and uneven. The sheets although they looked clean smelled like they came from a moldy closet. The tub in the bath leaked all over the bathroom floor after each use. The hotel had a pool, a nice big playground, function rooms, recreation area, a fishing pond (not operational when we were there) and a small farm.

During check out, we were charged for a bottle of water and a bag of Nagaraya nuts. Apparently, you will be charged for the bottled water in the ref and not the bottled water on top of the ref. We didn't notice any sign to inform you us of this and we did not bother to check because we assumed the water bottles were complementary since they were all bottled with the hotel's name on it. No big deal however we did not consume any Nagaraya nuts from the minibar. The lady at the front desk asked us to wait and she later tells us that housekeeping insists that the minibar set is complete. I tell her simply that I won't deny eating a pack of Nagaraya nuts especially if it's only a lousy 25 bucks. She obviously did not take my word for it and had to verify with the head of housekeeping this time. Instead of getting an apology, she informs me that they will just waive the charges. Hinting that an apology was the proper thing to do, I tell her that housekeeping has to be careful regarding this lest to charge guests erroneously. Still, she adamantly points out that the head of housekeeping insists that the items were complete. In short, it was like they were doing me a favor by waiving the charges not realizing that they were actually causing us an inconvenience. Wow! For a lousy 25 bucks, they were willing to destroy a customer relationship. That's smart.

Well, if not for the silly pack of nuts incident, I was telling hubby that this hotel will be a good place to take the kids while we were having breakfast. I'm taking that back. We will probably be better off somewhere else. To take the incident aside and give my unbiased opinion, I'd say that this is not the ideal place for a romantic getaway especially when you're set to impress. You may consider this place for conferences, camps or even a short family vacation. It will be better to chance on their promo rates and not book with the regular rates.

Room Tip: Do not get rooms facing the main road especially if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ditz_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat0123, General Manager at Hotel Kimberly, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Ditz_8,

It's with regret that I read of your disappointing experience with our front desk reception. I can vouch that subpar service is really the exception with us not the rule Be assured the matter will be addressed immediately along with your other concerns. Please accept our heartfelt apologies.

Sincerely,

Natalie Ng
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We had a perfect New Year get-away! My kids loved this place so much. They had different breakfast to choose from (for kids and for adult). My kids loved the playground. We have no time to use their entertainment area due to lack of time, maybe when we go back here, we'll spend more days. I had a nice sleep. Nice bed and pillows. All inside the room are functioning well. Very clean. Our family loves a quiet place and we're satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank badethzkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marikina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

highly recommend this for families. i have 3 teenage girls and they are not shy to say, "best Christmas ever!" staff are very welcoming and attentive.

we got a premiere room for 2 nights on the 3rd floor which was quite clean; beds are very comfortable, allowing for much needed restful sleep. cable tv service not so good, as with everywhere else anyway, but they have a dvd player so I suggest you bring some of your favorite movies. wifi connection in the room is ok for social networking. the bathroom is not pristine but clean enough. complimentary toiletries are complete. only problem is the drain in the shower is slow, as mentioned in other reviews.

breakfast buffet is lovely, has good variety and delicious. staff at the cafe are very attentive despite the rush season. we availed of the Christmas dinner and it was quite wonderful.

the game room made me happy to see my teen girls away from their laptops & gadgets. they spent a lot of time there. i saw other families doing bonding there as well. they have pingpong, billiards, air hockey and foozball. these moments are golden! even if you're not good at these games, try a them!

the play area meant for kids also found itself used by teenagers. the bonfire where you can roast marshmallows (purchased at the grill station near the pool for only Php30) was a December special. i think they should have it every weekend all year round.

Awesome vacation! We hardly ever left the hotel. Well worth the money, and it doesn't even cost much to begin with. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marianne z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
1.8 mi away
Taal Vista Hotel
Taal Vista Hotel
#5 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
4.0 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
4.7 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#4 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Tagaytay Country Hotel
Tagaytay Country Hotel
#16 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
#9 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
#14 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kimberly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kimberly

Property: Hotel Kimberly
Address: Brgy. Kaybagal, Amadeo Road, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tagaytay
#1 Family Hotel in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kimberly 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the cool breezes and relaxing ambiance of Tagaytay City. Get comfortable at Hotel Kimberly, where quality service and exemplary facilities meet. Nestled in the heartland of Tagaytay, this 4 star Hotel Kimberly Tagaytay is now open to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kimberly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel Tagaytay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing