We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could be great...but sadly it is lacking”
Review of Himalayan Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Himalayan Horizon
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Dhulikhel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

After the border crossing from Tibet to Nepal, and the heart-stopping drive down the mountain, it was a relief to stop at a hotel before venturing into Kathmandu traffic. The hotel has great views over the valleys (and perhaps the Himilayan Mountains - but not while we were there). The rooms are a good size with a bed area and separate sitting room area. The furniture in the rooms is old and the style looks as if it was left over from the "British Raj" colonial days.
However, the view doesn't quite make up for the rock-hard beds, lack of electricity until 5.00pm, no internet, dirty antiquated bathroom with no hot water, etc.
The hotel is in bad need of maintenance as a lot of the grounds and also the buildings have been left to fend for themselves.
The staff were pleasant and tried to be helpful. The meals were quite adequate although the bar prices were atrocious. In fact the bar man was adding bits to the bill above the quoted prices + service charges and got away with it until finally queried.
I wouldn't bother staying here again but plunge straight in to Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntarcticBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 76 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel looks quite inviting and compared to standards in this area, quite majestic. The view from the terrace is spectacular. On a good day when the Himalayas are visible, there is no better place in the world you'd rathher be ...
To sit and relax with a drink or to eat in the company of the the Himalayas is almost like being in heaven itself!
But...that's where it ends I'm afraid. Usually the visibility factor spoils even the best made plans. It really is up to the God's whether the weather will permit just a sneak peak of the peaks! To base your stay on this alone, is a huge gamble.
Inside the hotel, the accommodation is severely lacking. The rooms are very old. The power cuts off overnight - there are no lights, so you need a torch to go to the toilet and the threat of a cold shower constantly looms. The beds are very hard - very thin mattresses on wooden base beds. The pillows uncomfortable and the bedclothes are like fragile antiques. The mismatched items look almost as if the linen supplies & pillows have been solely provided by forgetful travellers. The rooms surprisingly are not that cold if you bring appropriate gear - there is a very old bar heater in each room, but it's basically ineffective. A hot water bottle is provided on particularly cold nights. Maintenance on the property is non existent. If something is broken forget it - it won't be fixed! Wifi is available but is unpredictable. The food is O.K they try and cater for different nationalities where possible. This hotel has so much potential, its in a good location, has a lovely garden at the front of the building and it looks impressive - it's a real shame...

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
Thank MissPearlPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

i went to Dhulikhel and stayed in Himalayan Horizon Resort. it is a very beautiful hotel and traditionally built on newari style. what i loved the most was the garden which was so beautiful with several colorful flowers. the view of mountains were exquisite which you can see from the garden terrace restaurant ....i felt like my dream was fulfilled...what an experience that was. and the varieties of the food were brilliant and the food that i got to taste or eat was very delicious. i think this is a place that every people should visit once. it was the experienced that was most memorable for me during my stay in Nepal.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinnie898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Big rooms and bathrooms lovely views even without the Himalaya's putting in an appearance on the horizon. At 5.30 one morning you could just see one peak above the cloud and Kathmandu smog (you're not sure of a view until September-October).

The food was the best buffet food I've had here, freshly cooked and varied. The place had some character and each room was different. Lot's of wood and brick - a relief from the concrete monotony. There are loads of terraces and gardens for kids to run round.

The service was great. Why the low rating? One of our group found someone from the hotel in his room going through his wallet. So do lock your doors and keep your valuables with you - (standard traveling advice I suppose but a shame as it spoiled an otherwise great stay).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bardo_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

It's a beautiful building in a peaceful area about 2 klm from Dhulikhel town. I only went there for one night to see the mountains and relax from Kathmandu but it was so blurry I didn't actually see anything... I had booked through a big travel agency on the internet but they didn't have my reservation, they just stared at my voucher as if it was the first time to actually see one... there was no computer at the reception to check and the staff spoke just basic english but I received the room normally by saying ok, ok... I had also arranged transportation from there to the airport by sending 2 emails and receiving an answer back for a very cheap price but they didnt have those emails or knew anything about my transfer. They could only offer a taxi at the price of 25e which is outraegeously expensive for the nepali standards, as there are no taxis in the area at all or the owner offered to give me a lift on his motrobike (!!!) free of charge all the way to Kathmandu so I finally took the local bus! They also offered me free dinner from the buffet for the inconvenience and the owner was (too) friendly to have a couple of drinks with me, so as to make it up...Breakfast normally finished at 9 am but when I went there at 08:50 it was already finished, as the group they had was already gone....so they served me some toasts and fruit...
My room was on the new building on the top floor with a great view from all the area around (if only the atmosphere was clear enough) and very spacious with room for 3 people but the beds and the pillows so hard as I would sleep on the floor!!! so I didn't sleep at all and I ended up with a head and back ache the next morning... but generally it was clean and all fresh with a nice balcony! There was also a kettle and 2 refilled bottles of water that I wouldn't trust to drink...
So I wouldn't say it's a 3 star hotel, not at all by western standards but quite acceptable for nepali standards but then rather expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13_Eleni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed here for a week in February whilst on British Council visit.
Staff were pleasant and the room was lovely.
Food was OK, a bit hit and miss.
The hotel seems to derive most of its business from coach groups who do an overnight stop on their way through the valley.
Views from the terrace are sensational, though the mist meant we had very few views of the Himalaya.
Its cold at night in February, and the wifi worked once during our stay

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The scenery is really Great but inside the room...there're many things need to be renovated..Heater wasn't work so well....and I forgot my phone at the room I stayed when I realised the guide called back..They said they couldn't find it...it's Unbelieveable!! So just Don't forget your stuffs...Oh and one another comment...the door of the room is needed to fix!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nareerat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhulikhel
0.3 mi away
Mirabel Resort Hotel Pvt. Ltd.
1.9 mi away
Dhulikhel Mountain Resort Hotel
7.3 mi away
Hotel Country Villa
Hotel Country Villa
#2 of 16 in Nagarkot
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Club Himalaya
Club Himalaya
#1 of 16 in Nagarkot
773 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel at the End of the Universe
0.4 mi away
Dhulikhel Lodge Resort
Dhulikhel Lodge Resort
#2 of 12 in Dhulikhel
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himalayan Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himalayan Horizon

Address: Dhulikhel, Dhulikhel, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Dhulikhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Dhulikhel
Price Range: $56 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Himalayan Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Himalayan Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing