We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most amazing views...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dwarika's Resort-Dhulikhel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dhulikhel
Certificate of Excellence
amman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the most amazing views...”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

...that you will probably ever see from your hotel room so its worth staying here just for that! Our double room was simple and clean. Hot water for showers, just don't take too long. Good food and service. It was quite busy during our stay so the lobby, dining room and bar with fireplace were always buzzing with people (in a good way). Walked up to the top of the hill two days in a row to watch the sunrise - which is amazing if you are lucky enough to be there on a non-cloudy/hazy day.

Room Tip: The hotel and its bungalows are located on a hill, accessed by stairs so choose a room closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
76
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
WASHINGTON DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Dwarika's hotel arranged a small conference for my company in the Dhulikhel branch of thier hotel. The hotel and facilities were excellent, as was the food. Thanks to thier great staff, the event went off very well, and the conference participants were all very satisfied. Many of them commented that they would return to Dwarika's on thier own....great hospitality and excellent organization, guys! Thank you!!

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank LIZZZZZZZZZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Frankly this place needs a kick up the backside. It trades on being part of the Dwarika group, whose flagship hotel in Kathmandu is the height of luxury, yet falls far short of those standards despite being pretty expensive.

It helps if you are a goat. Having reached the hotel by a challenging series of steps, you then have another exhausting climb up to the chalet bedrooms. No wonder there's no room service.

The reward is the most magnificent sight you will probably ever see from a bedroom window - uninterrupted views of the LangTang range spread out like some special effects movie. Breathtaking. This alone goes some way to justifying their prices.

Back down in the hotel, things are not as they should be. Sure, the evening meal was fine and the breakfast excellent (a dedicated chef cooks your eggs to order on the terrace and they even have proper bacon!)

But despite its tranquil setting there was a depressing, slightly hostile air about the place. It did not help that an aggressive group of Germans were having a public bust-up with the manager over what appeared to be a double-booked room. Nor that building works were in progress, meaning we had to step over rubble and duckboards to reach the hotel entrance.

It certainly didn't help that, when it came to settling the bill, we were overcharged for a bottle of wine, the reception manager refusing to budge even when we showed him the menu on which the price was advertised. It was an "old menu", he insisted. Rubbish. In England they could have been prosecuted for that stunt.

The staff were attentive enough but unsmiling. The management, as we discovered, had a definite confrontational streak.

If the hotel was located near civilisation you could go out for a change of scene to provide some relief from the starchy atmosphere. But it is miles from the nearest village. You're stuck.

I would like to think we had hit the Shangri-La Village Resort (what IS its name? - it keeps changing) on a bad patch, but we stayed there the previous year and found it little different.

Come on Dwarika's - you have a potential gem here. Do something about it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PaulHowardCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2010

We were met at the airport by our driver and taken on one hell of a road for over an hour by the time we arrived it was dark and met by a gate by a porter where we climbed about 150 steps to the main house (reception bar cafe ), We checked in then climbed another 150 steps to our chalet which was very basic we did ask for a room with good views and in day light the climb up throught the gardens are nice .(you need to be mobile to stay here ) Next morning the views were realy good we asked the reception what walks we could do and were given hand drawn maps and were told where to start. We came upon a barbed wire fence after ten minutes and had to return where we were shown again the way and a member of staff came to show us we were suprised when he pulled back the fence so as it made it a little easier i tried and got caught in the wire so i was not going to let my wife try it. So we walked into Dhulikel town not a pretty sight the only nice point was a walk upto a shrine past a stupa this only took one hour so the rest of the day was just looking at the view the only good thing about the place. Our pick up the next day was at 8.30am so i asked for a wake up call at 7.00 which never came we woke on our own to rush down for a coffee to find the reception locked and not even maned seemed like the staff needs wake up calls also. There were only about ten guests there at the time so i put that for the reason that there was very little heating in the bar & cafe. all in all we were glad to leave.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuggerMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We splurged on this for 3 nights to celebrate our 25th anniversary. Location is great, good views of the Himalaya, clean fresh air, quiet (apart from the crickets!). We had a nice bungalow at the top of the hill, great views from the picture window. IF we had been paying more moderate prices, we would have been totally satisfied. HOWEVER, the prices are pretty much international standard, and frankly the service and general feel of the hotel aren't. True, there is constant hot water (rare in Nepal!), the staff wear fancy costumes, etc. But there was something lacking. The evenings were quite cool, and the fire was never lit in the bar or restaurant. The 'library' was pathetic - I'm sure all the books were donated from aid agencies. There was no written information about the area, not even a display board showing which Himalayan peak was which. Sure they will sell you a tour, and you can hire a guide at the gate, but we wanted to explore independently, and relax as much as possible. There were seats outide our room, which was great for relaxing in the sun and taking in the view. But there weren't enough so other quests kept taking them away to their rooms. Also, nobody made sure the cushions were taken in at night, so they were always wet in the morning. This applied to the breakfast terrace cushions, too.
So, could be better, shame really as its a great place to relax. They had just appointed a new manager, who promised that things would improve dramatically, so it would be interesting to hear from others what their experience is in future years.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobtheDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Check-in, hike for 10 mins into the hills to room, room change request refused by extremely rude receptionist. Manager (appalled at her staff's behaviour) steps in with an assured personal touch, finds us a much better room and a complimentary bottle of wine at dinner. Things improve.

Dinner - a perfectly cooked steak frites - my best meal in a fortnight in Nepal. Off to bed - no hot water in bathroom for shower.

Wake up, rub eyes, locate spectacles, gawp open mouthed at the stunning panorama of the Lang Tang range framed by a single 12 foot rectangular window at the foot of the bed. This is without question the finest view I've ever had from a hotel bedroom.

Breakfast taken on restaurant balcony with film-set backdrop of valleys, hills and mountains. The restaurant again surpasses itself: a textbook Kerala omelette cooked to order in front of me.

A dog starts barking and shatters the nirvana-like tranquility, I reach for my machete, saddened to be reminded that it was confiscated at Heathrow. 10 mins later, dog still barking directly outside reception. Must remember to bring a high powered semi-automatic rifle next time.

Guests now thoroughly hacked off, I take matters into my own hands, leaving my breakfast to get cold. Upon complaining, three porters are dispatched to tame the hound. Fido is lifted bodily and dragged unceremoniously for 1/2 mile to the hotel perimeter where he is dumped. Peace and quiet returns.

Check out, five mystery beers have worked their way on to my bill. Rude receptionist is up for a fight, I'm not. Dispirited, I pay and leave, never to return...probably.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quentinhapsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

I have stayed at Mirabel in Dhulikhel before also. I must say that Shangrila was amazing in comparison. The buildings are traditional nepali style and the food is very very good. The hotel is very well maintained and very clean. There is hot water and good electricity. The best food I have had in a hotel in Nepal (and I have stayed in many!) The staff, especially Santosh, was super accommodating - they were friendly and professional without being overbearing. The views are amazing when the clouds cooperate. There is quite a steep climb up to the "cottages", but this is true for most places. The only thing is that it is a bit further out in town, so you'll be a bit isolated. There are trails that you can walk to so we weren't bored. I have lived in Nepal for over a year, traveling around, and this has been the most pleasant experience thus far. The pictures from their website is exactly what the place looked like!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Booklust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhulikhel
15.4 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,043 reviews
7.7 mi away
Club Himalaya
Club Himalaya
#1 of 17 in Nagarkot
720 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dhulikhel Mountain Resort Hotel
8.8 mi away
Hotel Country Villa
Hotel Country Villa
#2 of 17 in Nagarkot
344 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dhulikhel Lodge Resort
Dhulikhel Lodge Resort
#3 of 12 in Dhulikhel
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dwarika's Resort-Dhulikhel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dwarika's Resort-Dhulikhel

Property: The Dwarika's Resort-Dhulikhel
Address: PO Box 459, Dhulikhel, Nepal (Formerly Himalayan Shangri-La)
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Dhulikhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dhulikhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dwarika's Resort-Dhulikhel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Himalayan foothills outside Kathmandu, The Dwarika's Resort-Dhulikhel is opening in August, 2013. This will be a spectacular property offering guests the chance to enjoy unique Himalayan spa treatments, gentle hiking and other activities, and organic cuisine prepared with ingredients from our own farms- all with a magnificent view of the Himalayan range ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dwarika's Resort-Dhulikhel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dwarika`s Himalayan Shangri-La Village Hotel Dhulikhel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing