We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Myanmar Treasure Resort Bagan
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Bagan
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent three nights at this hotel & find it difficult to fault. We would recommend it!

The check in process is excellent, welcoming staff. Our room was extremely comfortable & clean. There's a nice pool and grounds which made the stay very relaxing. The location is good in New Began being close to restaurants & shops.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alf O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 318 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

The location is in New Bagan, convenient if you have a car, not so convenient if you are using a bicycle as is popular. The hotel has a pool area adjacent to the restaurant and reception. The pool was too cool to use in December. Wifi was so slow as to be virtually useless. The room was good size with clean facilities. The decor was predominantly of attractive timber. The food was a bit expensive and only limited options for vegetarians. We think the breakfast was fine. Every evening hotel put on traditional entertainment in the form of dance, music and puppetry, which was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the pool area if you do not want to hear entertainment in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nwe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Staff charming but English could be improved. Wifi only available in the lobby and not great. Spa nice but manicure and pedicure very basic and pigeons made so much noise outside, very difficult to relax during massage. No relaxing music. Pool looks very nice but freezing. Room nice and large but bed quite hard and bathroom quite basic. Sunbeds etc around pool on wrong side as in the shade - poor design thought. Very nice overall and right amongst the most fabulous area of temples and other sights. Really not to be missed. Could do with a little shop selling swimming costumes, toiletries etc. Good wifi signal available just down the road in a small cafe (walking distance). Not sure of its name but red and white sign saying OK.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merrybrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We enjoyed the laid back ambience here, good pool and spa to relax weary bones, evening meals served under the stars and a good breakfast buffet. The staff were helpful and happy, the room was more than adequate- everything worked. This was a great place from which to explore the history and wonders of the Bagan area. Don't miss the sunset views over Bagan's golden Pagodas.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Myanmar Treasure Resort Bagan is a very pleasant place, we were received by a smiling manageress and given cold drinks and hot towels, though we subsequently noticed that the other reception staff were relatively unsmiling and taciturn. When paying, a receptionist hassled us about the state of the dollar bills which were perfectly good, we had specified we wanted clean bills when we bought them in the UK, we had to return to the room to find other money, then she had the cheek to offer us change in crappy old tattered Kyat, which we in turn to give them a taste of their own medicine refused. Things were always easier when the manageress was present.

The rooms are in several separate blocks of two floors set in the gardens, we noticed there were also bungalows which we thought looked nicer. Our superior room on the first floor (Americans would say the second floor) was very large and comfortable but just slightly gloomy, a balcony would have made all the difference. A safe is provided, the tv reception is good and there is a large selection of programs. Attention should be shown in the hallways, the floors are very slippery.

The gardens are charming; well tended and designed to marry beautifully with the pathways running between the separate buildings, some paths by the spa are in decking. At the entrance to many buildings are pots of water with attractive floating flower arrangements. The area surrounding the spa could win a prize at the Hampton Court Flower Show.

The swimming pool is not terribly appealing, the loungers are on one side of the pool in the shade, so there isn’t the option of getting the sun even for a short period, by early afternoon the whole pool is in shadow, it isn’t greatly used, I guess people have other things to do in Bagan.

Free wi-fi internet is available in the reception area, the speed varies with usage, but is not terribly fast.

The buffet style breakfast choice is not overwhelming, excellent fresh orange juice, but no cereals. Essentially, how do you like your eggs? I didn’t see anyone taking the soup, steamed cabbage or the rice. There might be more choice if you arrive early.

The little bar opposite the pool is a very pleasant place to have an end of day drink, a large Myanmar beer for five dollars which seems to be the average price can be shared by two.

The restaurant in the evening offered a Myanmar music, dance and puppet show which was entertaining, the food was unfortunately not Myanmar or entertaining, but a limited western menu. Once more I had a pizza.
Outside the hotel grounds turn left until you reach a small supermarket and turn right, you will find a fantastic family run restaurant called the “Pwint Mar Lar Restaurant” with a lovely warm friendly decor. Just ask for the buffet rather than perusing the menu, delicious little dishes of local food cooked by the grandmother just don’t stop coming, and the family is so attentive and friendly. The prices are very low. Luckily we were tipped off by our wonderful guide, Po about this place.

My wife went to the spa to have a pedicure, but was worried by the lack of light available to the manicurist, I don’t think she enjoyed the experience too much.

Overall, staying there was a positive experience; it’s in a very convenient position, the ruins are very near, in fact there are ruins of stupas on the grounds, and the gardens are lovely.

We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: book a bungalow if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel resort has a wonderfully helpful staff and a great layout. The room was medium size and comfortable. The bathroom was modern and there was plenty of hot water and water pressure. The pool was clean and large though the jacuzzi was hard to get into and had very weak jets.

Daily buffet breakfast was a tasty selection of foods from various cultures. Plenty of food and fresh juices made the breakfast a wonderful way of starting our day.

If needed, there is a local market within a 5 minute walk from the hotel, as well as a nice local restaurant a half block farther.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces away from the show stage. The music is rather loud at night. Rooms are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larryjw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a very nice hotel, part of the Myanmar Treasure chain. The room was adequate size, and the bathroom well equipped. Free WiFi was available in the lobby, though it was quite slow. The breakfast buffet was quite nice, and had both western and local cuisine. There is a nice pool, next to an outdoor stage where there is a free evening show featuring local music and dance. The hotel is quite busy with busloads of foreign tourists coming and going. There is no convenience shop, but some small markets are about a 15 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benz37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.6 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 51 in Bagan
713 reviews
4.1 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#6 of 51 in Bagan
831 reviews
3 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
2.7 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#9 of 51 in Bagan
1,305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Bird Hotel
Blue Bird Hotel
#1 of 51 in Bagan
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myanmar Treasure Resort Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myanmar Treasure Resort Bagan

Address: Khayay Rd | Anawrahta Quarter, Bagan, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bagan
Price Range: $81 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Myanmar Treasure Resort Bagan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Myanmar Treasure Resort Bagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myanmar Treasure Resort Bagan Hotel Bagan
Myanmar Treasure Hotel Bagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing