We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bagan Best in Show: Well-managed and well-appointed in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Tharabar gate hotel earns high marks for great management, well-designed rooms and a great location. After looking around at other propertis in the area, this would the only place I would stay.

The rooms are furnished in dark hardwoods with high-quality white linens. There is ample desk and counter space to relax, put one's bag or Skype The water pressure is good but one needs to remember to turn on the hot water.

We never jumped into the pool but admired it from afar from the restaurant. It is surrounded by statues. Next to the pool is bar nestled underneath a giant tree, perfect for weddings or a party.

The breakfast buffet features great cheeses, bircher muesli, fresh fruit, pancakes, omelets and congee. My favorite of the lot was the coconut noodle soup made from ground garbanzo beans and coconut milk. The waiter patiently explained the recipe to me. I plan to make it at home.

The hotel is perfectly situated next to arguably one of the most ornate of Bagan's temples and is within easy striking distance of all of the sites. We chose to bike to see the area and were not disappointed. Some of the bikes are not in great condition but we managed with a few close calls. :)

At the front desk, Wewe in particular provided great customer service. She arranged to buy our plane tickets for our onward destination and came to our room to give us the change and vouchers, instead of making us come out to the lobby.

Overall, 5 stars. My advice for management is so minor it does not deserve a knock down in my rating of the hotel: please tell staff to more helpful with getting guest luggage. On the short walk from the room to check out my friend and I wheeled our unwieldy luggage past 3 guest attendants, and not one smiled or offered to take our bags to the front desk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diplogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,153)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 1,153 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

We arrived by coach just after 5am from Rangon, leaving at 8pm the previous evening. Comfortable seats & a reasonable amount of sleep, to then be met by awaiting horse & carts to take us to the pagoda just across the road from the hotel, for a lovely sunset - with an amazing view of the hundreds of pagodas across the landscape. Truly a sight to behold.

Welcome reception at the hotel & thankfully able to check-in early & rest up before breakfast & embarking on the day. Hotel rooms are spacious, air conditioned & in good condition - nothing to fault on that front.

Unfortunately though, as they're still constructing new rooms - so the whine of saws etc. wasn't a welcome wake-up call the morning after & as per a previous reviewer, we were obviously disappointed with the fact that the murky pool was still out of service - as it would've been very refreshing after a day of cycling dusty roads.

Service was good & the restaurant was certainly up to scratch. A couple of things to take into consideration are a 7% surcharge for using credit cards, taxi to train station for US$50 (we arranged alternative for US$15) & that the bicycles just across the road are a bit cheaper & in better condition/with gears. This latter aspect will be gratefully received by your bum, after a couple of days cycling! Certainly the best way to get around (if reasonably fit/weather OK) & you'll sleep well after a nice meal/drink later.

If you head right from the hotel for a few mins, through an archway & take your next right...there's a short road that takes you down to the water/small gold pagoda. Here you can rent a boat for US$15 each way & visit the pagoda on top of the mountain, across the river. Suggest getting the taxi that awaits incoming boats for US$20 to get you there & back. Certainly a broken down clapped out Toyota, but you'll be thankful you did, instead of trying to walk there.

Also suggest making the effort to go the viewing station, which is about a 30min cycle as you head left of the hotel (make sure you get a map from reception). It's the tallest building, very new & next door to a golf resort. It costs $5 to go up to the top/few refreshment & the view is absolutely amazing...well worth doing, although unfortunately we were pushed for time & couldn't stay for long.

We took the train back at 5pm (train station about 10mins away) to Rangon, opted for a sleeper carriage for $40 something each & enjoyed a few drinks & seeing the countryside. Well recommend the train, though it didn't get to Rangon until midday the following day & must surely be the bumpiest trainride in history (I had a bruised hip to prove it). Make sure you have a bag of sweets to throw to the local kids & enough small local currency to buy lots of snacks//drinks to take on the train, as well as ordering a meal when you get on (fried rice was actually very tasty).

Room Tip: Request one that is away from construction of any other rooms...otherwise be prepared to wake up ver...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel @ Tharabar gate for three nights. We were a group of three friends and our goal was to see Bagan and not chill out by the pool, so keep that mind. The hotel has a great atmosphere and has been decorated in what I'll call "faux-Bagan-meets-Bali" and it works nicely. The room we had was well air conditioned, the bathroom was small for three people but we managed and it was clean and well appointed. The pool is really nice. The service was fine but not great. The staff is very friendly they just lack that little bit of training that would make them great. Though I caveat this by saying that Myanmar is only just opening up to foreign tourists. Our standards are different to theirs, and we can't expect total English fluency. Make sure to rent bikes from somewhere outside the hotel, the bikes we got from the hotel were broken which was a bummer. Enjoy though, and if you go, eat at Starbeam restaurant across the way. Don't go to sarabhai which is around the corner and is just terrible tourist fare.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Corinne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located right next to the old city wall & Tharabar Gate. It’s set back from the main road, in a beautiful & peaceful lush setting. The rooms are large suite rooms with teak floors and front outdoor patios. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Lush grounds, outdoor bar surrounded by trees, dim lighting and the pool. Dining room is open air, overlooking the bar and pool area. Good spa services. You can get a really cold G&T with ice and not have to worry, as all the ice is made from bottled water.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OverNextHorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

A very nice stay - spacious room, lovely staff. We only had breakfast in the restaurant as there were eating choices outside the hotel which were much more competitively priced, but breakfast was good with many choices. Pool was really pleasant. It was very green on day 1 of our trip but much clearer on the 2nd and 3rd day. We swam every day. Overall, a great place to stay in old Bagan and well located. We slept 4 in our room - we paid for an extra bed - our 2 kids are 4 and 5 and the single bed was large enough for them to share comfortably but for older kids, this might be a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoInSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

June 1, 2013.

Writing this review while sitting in my hotel room. I'm traveling with my husband and brother.

The good...

CHECKING IN
This part was a breeze, easy, and very brief. We booked thru agoda.com. Our room was ready upon arrival around 7:45am. We were welcomed warmly and brought out some refreshments. We were showed to our room.

ROOM
An extra bed was set up for us in a nice, excellent-sized room. The room itself is well-decorated, clean, and very modern with all the amenities.

LOCATION
We loved the location of this hotel as it is near several local restaurants and a local convenient store across the street. There is also a horse-cart and bike rental place across the street.

The bad..

INTERNET
We knew coming in internet was going to be shoddy. And it really is.

ROLLING BLACK-OUTS
The occur here every 15-25 minutes or so we've experienced so far. Its quite inconvenient.

And the UGLY...

POOL
The receptionist failed to tell us at check-in that the pool is closed for an undisclosed period of time. So after getting back from a full day of trekking and temple sightseeing we were ready to dip into the pool...but only to learn that it was off-limits to guests.

The hotel has an option for guests to take an 8 minute horse-cart ride to and from another hotel to use their pool. It is 90+ degrees in 80-90 percent humidity here at the moment. Its fine with us to go to the other hotel - - but its the convenience of having this amenity available to us at the price we've already paid. Being told at the beginning when we checked in wouldve given us a heads up and prepared us - maybe even helped us make a better decision whether to stay at this hotel or look elsewhere. Now we are stuck here for the remainder of the trip.

We are now in our room, watching local TV, trying to stay cool with the rolling blackouts.
Again - its a great hotel but with no pool at the time being.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jet2dresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We agonised about where to stay for our 3 nights in Bagan, new or old, on the river… but we were so happy that we chose Tharabar Gate. One of the best hotels we had through our 3 week visit to Myanmar. From the warm welcome with cool towels and drink, to the greetings and offers of assistance whenever you arrived or left the hotel, the staff were exceptional. The hotel grounds are set in lush gardens, with the restaurant overlooking the pool area. Everything is well set out and you felt like you were in an oasis (compared to the dry dusty country outside).
The room was spacious and lovely. Super comfy bed, with lots of pillows. A side door lead to a semi-private outdoor veranda with sun lounges and tropical garden. Bathroom was also lovely with lots of towels and toiletries. Shower over bath but good water pressure and spotlessly clean. TV had all the usual international channels and movies for a relaxing evening after a hot day temple hopping.
The restaurant menu looked delicious but outrageously expensive so we only had breakfast there. Breakfast was excellent with lots of options and great fresh bread (i.e. not the sweet white sliced, mass produced stuff you get most places). Lots of places to eat 1 or 2 minutes walk, not to mention a few shops and artist workshops, and the spectacular Ananda temple on your door step too. We also walked around the many templates all around the hotel, and it was an easy walk to the other major temples within Old Bagan and river.
The pool looked OK, but not as crystal clear as you would want, but not green. However it did have to close during our stay. There was an unfortunate incident where an electrical short in one of the rooms that was being renovated caused a fire, and the pool water was used to help put the fire out. There was only minor damage and it was well away form other guest rooms. By the following day, repairs were well underway and the affected rooms were almost back to normal (except the roof). Special mention to the staff who did everything to reassure us visitors when the fire occurred, even though they were very worried themselves. They were truly wonderful.
I cannot fault the hotel and hope to return there one day soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGB_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.9 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#10 of 47 in Bagan
1,211 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
2.7 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 47 in Bagan
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#6 of 47 in Bagan
769 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
0.4 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Tharabar Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Tharabar Gate

Address: Near Tharabar Gate | Old Bagan Nyaung Oo Township, Bagan, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bagan
#3 Family Hotel in Bagan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bagan
Price Range: $92 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel at Tharabar Gate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hotel at Tharabar Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tharabar Gate
Tharabar Gate Bagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing