We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming hotel in Old Bagan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“charming hotel in Old Bagan”
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in Tharabar Gate and were very pleased with the comfort and service of the hotel. The hotel is set in a lovely garden. Rooms are comfortable and cozy with small terraces. If something could be better than the bathroom (they would need some renovation) and breakfast (very western style - an asian touch is missing).
The staff was very helpful. only that the internet is VERY slow in comparison with other places in myanmar.
We enjoyed our stay in Tharabar and if we come back we will definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dita_S_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    507
    125
    21
    11
See reviews for
156
575
86
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
230 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Bagan was so much more than we expected and The Hotel at Tharabar Gate was a great location to explore this spectacular part of the world from.
We wouldn’t normally stay in a large hotel however found it difficult to find smaller boutique hotels in Bagan, in saying that we certainly weren’t disappointed with our choice.

LOCATION: The Hotel at Tharabar Gate is in a central location in Old Bagan. Outside the hotel are a few small eateries and tea houses, with horse and cart drivers waiting to take you to your next temple experience.

TYPE OF ROOM: Deluxe Room, booked through Agoda.com. $110USD per night.
After reviewing hotels on Tripadvisor we decided on Tharabar Gate, but then couldn’t find any availability. Agoda to the rescue and we were able to book a Deluxe room at a good rate. As we had booked through Agoda we weren’t sure what our standard of room would be like, however we were pleasantly surprised to find our room was beautiful, big and with a terrific selection of bathroom amenities.
The air con worked well and was quiet.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: The bathroom wasn’t big but had a new and clean look to it, and a very good selection of toiletries and amenities.
The bathroom had a bath with a shower above it, great for a long day of temple sightseeing to come back to soak in a tub full of bubbles and water.

CLEANLINESS: The room was very clean, tidy and well kept.

CLOSET SPACE: There was plenty of closet space in the room, and plenty of space overall for bags/cases.

TV/INTERNET: There was a TV in the room with a good selection of channels.
A disappointing feature of the hotel (given the price) is that wi-fi is not available. There is a PC in the main hotel lobby where internet can be accessed for a fee.

SERVICE: As with most large hotels staff were friendly but I wouldn’t say they were personable. Staff did their job and did it well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gounta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Right outside what used to be a gate into the walled city. Set back from the road so it is quiet. Setting very plush with trees and plants.

Rooms are all ground level and fairly large. Very efficient AC in our room.

Outdoor restaurant eating area. Sometimes the birds think the plate you took to the table was for them. Some great local restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.

Staff very helpfull. Reconfirming your airline resevation 24 hours prior to flight necessary and something the staff did .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durayb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs UK
Level Contributor
426 reviews
212 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Beautiful hotel in lovely gardens, friendly staff, the bedroom was well planned including kettle - in particular there was lighting for reading in the evening. The bathroom, however, did look somewhat jaded & the shower was over the bath & for small people (like me) I regard climbing over the side of the bath as dangerous.

Breakfast was taken on the "grass" next to the swimming pool & was excellent, although the tea, which was served by staff from a glass container was often warm/ cold rather than hot!

Many guests retired to the swimming pool during the heat of the afternoon, notwithstanding chairs & umbrellas were often in short supply.

Take the left side outside gate - you will find the horse-carts, bycyles for hire & a shop selling extra water for your cup of tea! Immediately outside the right hand gate is the Sarabha II restaurant - where you can enjoy a lovely local meal complete with puppet show.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
175 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

The hotel is very conveniently situated amongst the temples of Bagan, right next to the Tharabar Gate itself. The rooms, reached by following winding paths through attractive tropical gardens, are large and well thought out, with small patios at the back. It is a thankless task attempting to keep everything free from the dust of Bagan in the dry season, but the staff cheerily do so all day long, busily sweeping the paths.

The generous breakfast is served by the pool. Other meals were not exactly wonderful (and quite expensive), but there are a couple of more reasonable restaurants within a few paces of the hotel.

The presence of quite a few tour groups makes the hotel less intimate than might be hoped, but seeing that Bagan is itself very touristy, I don't think this can be avoided. I would definitely recommend the Tharabar Gate as a base while in Bagan.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Very well located, walking distance to many pagodas. Excellent breakfast. Very pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTL_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

we really enjoyed staying in this hotel. The rooms were nice, the staff very friend and the pool nice and clean.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cobweblondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.9 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#8 of 46 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 46 in Bagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
2.6 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#7 of 46 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Tharabar Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Tharabar Gate

Property: The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
Address: Near Tharabar Gate | Old Bagan Nyaung Oo Township, Bagan, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bagan
#3 Family Hotel in Bagan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel at Tharabar Gate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel at Tharabar Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tharabar Gate
Tharabar Gate Bagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing