We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very spacious and clean room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amazing Bagan Resort
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very spacious and clean room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed there for 4 days and 3 nights. The room was spacious and very clean. You basically have everything in your room. The resort is located in a bit remoted area, so you won't be able to walk out at night. As a result it's very quiet at night. The breakfast was good, although I didn't find it exceptionally delicious. My only complaint is the place gets a bit loud when someone checks out of hotel early in the morning. Staff will be running around and screaming while pulling luggage along the corridor. I actually got waken up by the noise every morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    310
    90
    21
    9
See reviews for
106
353
63
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in December. Although it can probably do with a little renovation to update the rooms, esp the bathrooms, the service is prompt and efficient. My rooms was quite spacious and free wi fi. The pool is great - clean and large. The property is fairly quiet. Has bikes you can use to pedal to nearby temples (watch the pot holes!). The breakfast buffet is good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Quebec Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Any hotel that calls itself "Amazing" would lead one to be suspicious about its claims. But this one is right on! Well located in the area, quiet, great pool and nice gardens. We took a suite bungalow for 4 nights and did not regret it one bit. Needed a bit of downtime after 2 weeks of travel, so day 1 was spent poolside. I think we were the only ones left in the resort and everyone else was out doing the stupas and temples that one comes here for. Day 2 Hotel arranged an English speaking guide and driver which cost a very reasonable 55000. Guide was extremely knowledgable about the history of the temples as well as the architectural styles etc. Well worth the small price, as getting around the sites that are fairly wide spread on your own would be a big mistake (Also glad we opted out for the donkey cart! A day of that would be too much!) Breakfast is the usual fare. Dinner at the hotel one night was quite good, and featured some local puppet performance. Myanmar prices are going through the roof everywhere, but Bagan still offers good value. We booked this resort last summer, and our spacious bungalow poolside was only $105/night. Best deal so far on this trip. A couple of downsides: The towels are sparse, we asked for a pool table to be placed outside our door on the patio as there is no furniture (No problem happy to do it) A huge room, but could stand a bit more furniture. Hey, nothing is perfect! But overall, if you want a nice boutique hotel resort at a reasonable price, you could not do better. Note: we did not view the rooms in the main building, but I would say that it would be foolish not to come up with the small difference and go for the bungalow.

Room Tip: I would suggest the pool side cottages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devon2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after 2 nights at Tharabar Gate, having read that the latter's pool had problems with algae, which, incidentally, we found not to be the case during our stay.
Our Suite Bungalow at Amazing Bagan was spacious and well-appointed, the pool area well-tended and the breakfast adequate if uninspiring. The downside is that the hotel is some way away from amenities and temples and, whilst free bicycles are provided, the main road unsafe after dark.
If you have time to spare and can factor in taxi fares, this is a relaxing haven, and Nyaung U has a good variety of restaurants. If you are short on time and want to be close to the temples, Old Bagan is a better bet.

Room Tip: The Suite Bungalows are more attractive than the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linkscres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our tour group of 24 enjoyed 3 nights here. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was large, had a safe and mini-bar, and large closet space. Breakfast buffet was in the large covered open-air space so there was plenty of room. The selection was fairly elaborate with an egg station. A young man played the Burmese harp. At dinner, there was an excellent 2-person marionette show that lasted about 30 minutes. Driving time to the airport is about 15 minutes. Downsides: 1) The dinner food was OK, but not particularly inspired. 2) Wi-Fi was OK in the room in the late evening or early morning. However, when we were there, the cabled internet and Wi-Fi at the internet station were hit or miss. 3) While in a quiet and secluded location, one needed taxis or to walk 20 minutes to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank United2millionmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Amazing Bagan Resort is a delightful hotel that embodies the best of Bagan in its decor and service. Rooms are quite comfortable and well designed with very nice touches that remind one that you are in a place like no other on earth...Bagan....home to 3500 temples of varying size, age and architecture.
Like many hotels in Burma, this one also needs a bit of updating and could use some sprucing up here and there. Yet at the same time, this is part of its charm: it is very much of the country in which it is located.
On the downside, it is a bit out of the center of Bagan, but there are free bikes to use, and if you are willing to pedal a kilometer or two, you can get to a long street of restaurants and shops, most of them still charming and appealing.
Dining at the hotel is very enjoyable...good food in a pleasant ambiance with puppet theater presentations. Prices are reasonable and the food is good. Breakfast, however, was nothing special...a little skimpy on choices.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rupertpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
193 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We recently spent two nights in Bagan and very much enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very tastefully apointed with traditional decor in a quiet and peaceful part of town. Rooms are spacious and clean. Housekeeping is very efficient. There is a lovely pool which can be particularly nice when the weather is hot and one is tired after visiting the pagodas and temples. Staff are very friendly even though language skills are a bit of a challenge, but to be expected in a country that has been effectively sealed off for so many years. Breakfasts were good. While selection was not extensive, there was an egg station, freshly made crepes, fresh fruit, etc.The hotel also has bikes which can be used free of charge and which are in good condition. Great way to spend some time getting around.

Restaurant row is a little too far to walk, and the roads are not that well lit, but you can get around by bike with a torch. There are good eating options on that street. We really enjoyed eating at the Black Bamboo.

Other meals at the hotel are just okay. There was a surprisingly nice puppet show one night, and good live music on a type of harp another, but the food options are a little limited.

Lighting in the rooms was a little dark. Despite there being several lights, the wattage was low so reading, etc. is a little difficult.

Overall we were very happy with our stay at the hotel and would recommend it to others. Bagan is a wonderful place, and it was nice to come back at the end of the day to this nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagan hotels
3.4 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#7 of 46 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 46 in Bagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
3.9 mi away
Arthawka  Hotel
Arthawka Hotel
#9 of 46 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazing Bagan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazing Bagan Resort

Property: Amazing Bagan Resort
Address: Nyaung Oo Township | Bo Myat Tun Tower, Bagan 009561, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bagan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bagan
#5 Spa Hotel in Bagan
#6 Family Hotel in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amazing Bagan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing Bagan Resort is located adjacent to the Bagan Nyaung Oo Golf Club. 10 minutes away from Old Bagan and most of the sightseeing points. Only 5 minutes from the Bagan Nyaung Oo Airport.The Amazing Bagan Resort promises each guest with unsurpassed ambiance and personalized service altered to the individual's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amazing Bagan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazing Bagan Hotel Bagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing