We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,004)
Filter reviews
1,004 results
Traveler rating
315
456
166
49
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
315
456
166
49
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews irrawaddy river river view archaeological zone great setting beautiful grounds large swimming pool stayed here for nights breakfast buffet horse cart reception area local restaurants early morning e bikes sunset banks veranda loungers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,004 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

We only stayed there for one night. The place is nice and clean. Breakfast is ok. We did not try any other meal. WiFi was not so good but you can use LTE if you have the local Sim.

Nothing much to comments on this but if I go to that area again, will probably stay there again as it’s quite convenient

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank LBBL_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maps656351, Sales Executive at Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2019

Dear LBBL_Linda ,

Thank you so much for enjoying in Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort with full excitement. We apologize for the inconvenience on Wifi service and we will do everything to fix and improve on what we can.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

with best regards ,
May
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

We had a delux river view room which was a comfortable half bungalow set in beautifully landscaped grounds overlooking the Irrawaddy river. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was okay but having to step up into the bath to have a shower was not the easiest and a walk in shower would be an improvement. The terrace with loungers was a great place from which to watch the sun go down over the Irrawaddy sipping the complimentary beer or soft drink from the fridge. We enjoyed the quiet time in our room and on the terrace.
We found the reception check in was prompt and efficient and they were always helpful when we asked quetions of Bagan and this hotel. We used the pool and found it clean and refreshing but the paths to it got very hot in the midday sun so we walked on the grass. One should consider wearing the slippers provided.
Breakfast in the morning was very good with a buffet on Friday and A La carte on Saturday. Having an early flight on Saturday we really appreciate breakfast starting at 6 am.
Dinner was on the terrace overlooking the pool and the Irawaddy river which is a magical spot to be when the sun goes down. We ordered a chicken curry and a seafood salad. The curry was very good but I had chicken which must have died of old age as I struggled to cut it with my knife. My wife's salad was good but she struggled to find any seafood.
We would certainly stay here again but other than breakfast we would have our evening meal somewhere else.
.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RODERICK C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maps656351, Sales Executive at Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2019

Dear RODERICK C,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback for us. We highly appreciate your feedback and comments about our team and hotel facilities as it helps us enhance the services, we provide to ensure that our guests have a comfortable stay with us. We will be more than glad to be of service to you again soon!

Once again ,thank you for choosing our Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort and look forward to welcoming you in near future.

with warmeest regards,
May
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is a great place to stay when visiting Bagan and the temple complex. It is designed to help you relax after a hot day in the countryside, with good bar and restaurant and lovely grounds. The staff were very helpful, with good English. Very convenient for crossing the Irrawaddy.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 401RichardB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maps656351, Sales Executive at Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2019

Dear RichardB,

We highly appreciate for your kind words about the services we provide & our hotel.We had the immense pleasure of serving you as much you loved stay here.

Thank you for taking your time in writing a review for us on TripAdvisor and look forward to welcoming you soonest.

with kind regards,
May
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019

Spent 3 night in this hotel, we were disappointed with our room that was not very pleasant, decoration was minimal.
The check-in at reception was not very friendly. It was right before new years eve and staff might have been stressed out. Meal were ok but nothing to remember. Definitely room for improvement.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Laurence_T_Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maps656351, Sales Executive at Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2019

Dear Laurence_T_Victoria ,

Firstly , I would like to thank you for staying with us. Please accept our deeply apologize for your disappointment caused during your stay. Our main goal is our customer's happiness and we will do everything in our power to make our clients happy.Once again, I would like to apologize for the complains you had and we will do everything to fix and improve on what we can.

If we have any chance , we would like to pleasure serving you and we look forward to welcoming you back .

with warmest regards ,
May
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2019

Spacious grounds and gardens if you have time to walk around. Our room was alright, nothing memorable and nothing bad. A la cart dinner was good but breakfast buffet was blah.

Sad to say Bagan is heavily polluted with smoke from all the trash burning, sadly year-round. So the nice scenery and taken away from the smell of smoke everyday. We do not recommend this visit for those that have asthma or allergies issues.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VDlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maps656351, Sales Executive at Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2019

Dear VDlong ,

Thank you for your valuable reviewed for our Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort and share your experience in Bagan visit.

I'm really sorry to hear that you had been faced with heavily polluted with smoke from all the trash burning and the smell of smoke everyday during your visit. Normally , this is not always happening in here.

If you have any chance to travel again , we will ensure that you have a comfortable stay in Bagan.

Thank you for choosing our Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort and look forward to welcoming you very soon.

with warmeest regards,
May
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews