We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamy place but location is not convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014

A private and quiet place perfect for couples. At night, you can see thousands of stars in the beautiful garden beside river. The breakfast is also good, especially the coffee tasted nice.

The name for the hotel is very hard to remember, you can just call it sakura and every local knows that.

Location is not very convenient, around the hotel is nothing, and it is about 25-minute horse carriage drive to the popular restaurant area in old Bagan.

And the wifi inside the room is not very reliable, sometimes it didn't work. Also there is leak of water in bathroom. They seems dissatisfying in terms of a luxury hotel like this.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank VenaMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 912 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Thiripyitsaya’s location is breath-taking: a huge riverfront property right on the Ayeyarwaddy. Dining by candlelight on the hotel’s huge dining terrace, overlooking the river and the lit pagodas on the other side, is magical. We splurged on a riverview suite, and for two nights enjoyed magnificent sunsets from our own private balcony, glasses of wine in hand.

But the Thiripyitsaya also comes with some negatives. Despite the hotel’s claims, there is no WiFi, either in the rooms or in the lobby. As a practical matter, you have to pay in cash.

Also, the staff seemed to us somewhat standoffish – certainly not as helpful or personable as the staffs at our other two hotels in Myanmar, the Governor’s Residence and the Rupar Mandalar.

Our riverview suite was spacious and first-class in every respect. The cuisine at dinner is excellent, but breakfasts, served in a drab, gloomy space, are skimpy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel is great for large groups, but fine for families or anyone else. You are close to the big temples and you can easily get a horsecart or other transport each day. And the people are lovely. The food is a bit pricey and you won't be strolling out of the hotel to any restaurants but you can do worse. The only main problem was the worn out mattress, and the giant scorpian I saw one night when I was stupidly walking around barefoot!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldmanrunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

enjoyed this boutique hotel very much. our lovely room overlooked the pool area and the river in the distance. The sunset from this hotel is amazing. The breakfast is good, not great. Those were the only meals we ate at the hotel. The bar area and large deck overlooking the river where we had our drinks at the end of the day and our breakfast outdoors was extremely relaxing. I totally recommend this hotel when in Bagan….it was a totally relaxing hotel to come back to after full days of sightseeing. The staff was very accommodating and the rooms were very nice. We sat outside on our little deck from our room and just relaxed at the end of the day or even mid day when we took a break from the hot sun.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TucsonJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Beloved and I reckon that almost everyone who comes to Bagan comes for three nights at most. So none of the hotels have those longer term, more demanding guests who keep a place up to standard.

Dear oh dear. This place should be 5* all the way. The grounds are lovely, the setting is idyllic, the architecture is charming, the hotel is beautiful, the rooms are in bungalows which are just a tad shabby but also spacious and comfy… so what's gone wrong?

The service, that's what. We went for dinner on the first night. "Have you booked a table?" asked one of the staff in a manner that suggested we might be made to stand in the corner any moment. After a slightly edgy exchange in which we made it very clear that we hadn't been recommended to book a table, it was clear that there were plenty of tables - so why the fuss?

So they wait they would make one up for us, and would fetch us from the bar when it was ready. Half an hour later, I made my way round the dark terrace (lit only by candlelight) to find a member of staff - ANY member of staff - who might be able to tell us if our table was ready… which it had been for the last 25 minutes…

It didn't get any better. We had to call the wait staff for the wine list. We had to call the wait staff to take our order. We had to tell the wait staff our starter wasn't finished and to wait a moment before dumping our main courses in front of us. And so on.

The food was good. But I'd rather eat out. And it made us realise - no-one ever stays long enough in Bagan for the management to care.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIssDillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel is very well situated in Old Bagan, just a short bicycle ride away from most of the temple ruins. It's a beautiful property, esp the grounds around the hotel and the setting on the river. The staff is okay...not great, but not bad at all either. Not sure if some things aren't lost in translation sometimes. The rooms are fine...I've seen some negative comments on here regarding the rooms...but, I disagree...and found them to be perfectly adequate (and you shouldn't be hanging out in the room anyway...you should be out seeing the sights!) :)
I had a garden view room near the back (B012)...and where else can you sit on your porch and look at the ruins of an 800 temple.
The only drawback is if you're looking for more of a local vibe, this is not your place...this place feels a bit "resorty" and has a resort like pool and even sports a gift shop! I observed quite a few tourist groups here. Not that there is anything wrong with that...but as a solo traveler I felt as if I should have been somewhere more down to earth. (A travel agent booked this place for me the day prior to my stay...and it was one of the few places with a vacancy.)
Finally, I paid approx $170/night - which I thought was very expensive for Bagan...but apparently, due to high demand prices are high all over this area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed here in January 2014 and stayed in Room B113 which has no river view. I agree with many of the other reviewers. The location is amazing and close to the temples. The Ananda festival was on and I loved listening to the recitations from the temple. Big thanks to the Gardeners who steal the show at this hotel. Next the service; we thought it was good from the hotel staff...reception were a little dis-interested. The breakfast was very good. The dinner very poor (chicken curry with chicken boiled to make it completely inedible)...dont really understand this as the local food and curries are superb...also very bland...designed for the risk-averse traveller perhaps. (At 17$ -not acceptable) Big thanks though to the kitchen for my birthday cake and the rendition of 'happy birthday' in English from the serving staff...lovely.
The spa staff seem rather hostile...they offer a free 10 minute taster session to all guests...only if you want the massage in public at their reception desk. It was obvious they resent doing this ...so dont offer it...we walked out and voted with our feet by not using the spa at all.

All in all this was a confusing hotel...at times delightful and others dissappointing. There is the atmosphere of greed at this hotel and at time you get the feeling that guests are only tolerated in exchange for large amounts of USD

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vince092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagan hotels
2.4 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 51 in Bagan
717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#9 of 51 in Bagan
1,306 reviews
3.5 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#6 of 51 in Bagan
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
3.2 mi away
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
Bagan Hotel River View
Bagan Hotel River View
#24 of 51 in Bagan
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort

Address: Bagan Archaeological Zone, Bagan, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bagan
#6 Spa Hotel in Bagan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bagan
Price Range: $106 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagan Thiripyistaya Sanctuary Resort is situated on the banks of the Irrawaddy, Myanmar's river of history and legend. The Resort sprawls over 24 acres of landscaped gardens, which is home to mature tropical trees and flowering plants, as well as native birds and a number of small tame animals. Every morning our gorgeous peacocks, Myanmar's national bird, go for a walk in our garden. Oriented towards the west, the Resort revels in panoramic river views, glorious sunsets and silver moonglow, and a pervading atmosphere of profound peace, warmth and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Hotel Bagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing