We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Retreat, not too sure if its a sanctuary...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Thiripyitsaya Resort is more of a retreat resort nestled amongst the ancient Bagan temples and stupas. I would the resort to be comfortable and well appointed but far too basic for what it wanted for a night stay.
Perhaps overly care-free with naming its category of rooms, we got a 'Villa' for a little shying from USD300 a night is a double storey building with a room that comes with a sizeable balcony and a nice quiet view of the vegetated garden and lake.
Amenities are very basic with poor drainage in the shower, after our first night, the drainage in the shower started to kick back a dreadful smell...

Having said that, i decided to eat in the second night, dinner for 2, a bottle of nice Red, 2 course dinner each with coffee for approx USD 87 if not bad and came with a great evening open-air deck ambience with no extra charge!!

I have no doubt the cost for rooms in Myanmar will continue to escalate as tourist up-surge through the roof... already in one year from a tad over 500K annual arrivals previously, this past year saw over 1M arrivals and little to no increase in rooms inventory... am sure the prices will go sky-high and crash if operators don't upgrade their offerings !!

All in all... a good stay but could be soooo much better... its after all, now 2013 !!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michaelloh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThiripyitsayaResort, お客様担当マネージャー at Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Greeting from Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort.
We are most grateful to you for staying in our resort.
You are absolutely right about an anticipation about Myanmar Tourism.
We will need more improvement with increasing the market rate for sure.
Your advise is very appreciated to make our hotel much better.
We are looking for your next stay in Bagan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 898 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

The best aspects of this property is the location and the outdoor environment. Lovely surroundings. Situated on the river with beautiful pool and gardens, nearby to ruins and a Stupa. Very peaceful views. The restaurant is nice and the service is very good. Staff are friendly and courteous. The rooms are just OK and the beds variable in comfort. We stayed there on two occasions - one room was a bit nicer and quieter than the other.
The spa was OK - staff are pleasant but don't seem to be professionally trained. They offer a reflexology massage, it's really not that.
Overall - enjoyable

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CC L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThiripyitsayaResort, お客様担当マネージャー at Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Greeting from Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort!
Thank you for your stay in our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you enjpyed our restaurant and river view.
For sure we will take your advise about Spa to improve us more.
Hopefully we will meet again in Bagan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Thiripyitsaya is set along the Irrawaddy River in the Old City of Bagan and everything about it is wonderful. We were individually escorted to our rooms by an umbrella carrying bell man and got a terrific view of the beautiful infinity pool and manicured grounds. Our rooms were very large suites with a sitting room, bedroom and bathroom with separate tub and very large stall shower. We had a spacious veranda overlooking the river, perfect for viewing the sunset. The buffet breakfast had a large selection and the dinner was served on the terrace overlooking the river. The food and service were wonderful. The swimming pool was a welcome respite after a hot day of touring the fabulous pagodas. The only criticism is there is no shady place around the pool. As an added attraction, bikes may be rented, and the spa is also lovely. Everything was clean and serene.

Room Tip: The suites are beautiful and away from the main buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelfiendNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThiripyitsayaResort, お客様担当マネージャー at Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Greeting from Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort!
Thank you for your compliment about our view.
And also we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast.
We are looking for your next visit with great smiles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Simple but comfortable rooms set in manicured gardens (Japanese influence?). Polite, friendly staff and superb food. Sunset over the river, with a sundowner, is not to be missed. The setting of the pool is artistic and colourful. The massages in the Spa were welcome after a day wandering round the pagodas.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Voyageur775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThiripyitsayaResort, お客様担当マネージャー at Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Greeting from Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our facility.
And also thank you for your compliment about our staffs.
We are really sorry for our special exchange rate and inconvenience and appreciate your understanding that it is difficult to change the foreign currency to USD.
Looking forward to seeing you again in Bagan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Pros
Beautiful lawns, garden and swimming pool on the bank of the river. Teak large veranda attached to rooms (which are detached chalets). Free wifi in the chalets.
Cons
Room and bathroom are not very comfortable and very dated. We booked a deluxe river view room 9 months prior to arrival. We were given a room very close to the reception so that if one sat on the verandah there was a trail of workers and guests traipsing passed every few minutes three feet from where we were sitting. There were only 2 very hard pillows on the bed. The reception staff said they would move us for the second night so we packed up our suitcases but the reception staff on morning duty then said there was no other room. After much insisting they moved us to a very private room with a gorgeous view. Here there were 4 higher-quality pillows, but the air conditioning was not working properly and the bathroom stank of sewer gases coming up from the floor drain.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naturelover_777983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThiripyitsayaResort, お客様担当マネージャー at Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Greeting from Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort!
Thank you for your kindly advises.
We will take them to improve our facilities especially about rooms.
Hopefully look forward to meeting you in Bagan again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

conveniently located in old bagan but away from bustling tourism, this hotel has an enviable on-the-river location with sweeping views across the water. its grounds are expanse, delightful and well maintained and the swimming pool offers good midday respite from the endless walks through the temples. quite surprisingly the rooms are disappointing and in strong need of refurbishment. good restaurant with beautiful outdoor ambiance.

Room Tip: ask for those closer to lobby or you will have to walk a bit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unionsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThiripyitsayaResort, お客様担当マネージャー at Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Greeting from Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort!
First of all thank you for choosing our hotel to stay.
We will accept your advise about our facility to improve for sure.
It would be very happy for us that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was my second trip to Bagan and the Thiripyitsaya Hotel. The first trip was in 2005, and there has been a huge change in Bagan. SO many more businesses and activity and tourists. It is still incredible, but much more busy. That is why the Thiripyitsaya Hotel is so wonderful. It is in a rather isolated area, on the edge of the river, with beautiful views. The rooms are really a little basic for what you would expect, but they are fine. They all have a nice porch with comfortable chairs. There is a lovely pool, and a great big deck overlooking the river where dinner is served. You can book your choice of table in advance by asking the staff so save that particular table for you.
The bar is very nice, with incredible sunset views.
No problem with ice in your drinks...everything is filtered. In fact, we never once got sick in Myanmar.
The hotel rents bikes, which I think is the best way to see the temples. We rode all over the place, and even into Nyaung U, the village about 8 k away.
The spa at the hotel is pretty good, with very reasonable prices.
We had lunch on the road that goes through Old Bagan, the road parallel to Anawrahta Road. There are tons of restaurants to choose from.
Dinner was at the hotel, one night in the restaurant, which was good, not great, and one night in the bar, where we just had sandwiches (not that good).

Room Tip: I think all rooms are basically the same, except some have river views from the porch. Not sure that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThiripyitsayaResort, お客様担当マネージャー at Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Greeting from Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort!

Thank you for your second stay in Thiripyitsaya and your compliment.
We are really glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
For sure, we will take your advise to improve our service and accomodation more and more.
Looking forward to seeing you again near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagan hotels
2.4 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 52 in Bagan
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#9 of 52 in Bagan
1,282 reviews
3.5 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#5 of 52 in Bagan
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
1.1 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
3.2 mi away
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort

Address: Bagan Archaeological Zone, Bagan, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bagan
#6 Spa Hotel in Bagan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bagan
Price Range: $107 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagan Thiripyistaya Sanctuary Resort is situated on the banks of the Irrawaddy, Myanmar's river of history and legend. The Resort sprawls over 24 acres of landscaped gardens, which is home to mature tropical trees and flowering plants, as well as native birds and a number of small tame animals. Every morning our gorgeous peacocks, Myanmar's national bird, go for a walk in our garden. Oriented towards the west, the Resort revels in panoramic river views, glorious sunsets and silver moonglow, and a pervading atmosphere of profound peace, warmth and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Hotel Bagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing