We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Oasis in the Desert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thazin Garden Hotel
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Reviewed August 8, 2013

A great hotel to stay at, as I found when our tour group stayed there in September 2012. Was delightful to have dinner amongst the ruins or if not wanting to have dinner there just follow the dirt road to the front and turn right and follow your nose to the little cafes along the road, food is good and the beer is cold and the price is cheap. This hotel was a joy to come back to after a hot day looking at temples and being able to relax in the pool and have a nice cocktail by the pool. Rooms were always clean and on a number of evenings when we came home the beds had been decorated with flower pictures. Lovely breakfasts and you must try the Bombay toast which is very nice. Everybody was friendly and the only problem that I experienced was with the wifi, but I was on holidays so it was ok not to have it

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rockmelon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 415 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

The location of the hotel is just outside of New Bagan but the setting is superb. Pagodas surround the hotel and are visible from the pool and lawn where the food is served. Beautiful flowers and lush green grass are a contrast to the dusty town and countryside around Bagan. The food served for the evening meal was nice local cuisine. All the facilities that you need are at he hotel including pool, billiard a table, bar, spa etc. helpful staff and unique styled rooms make for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in a single storey bungalow at the back of the complex. It was very quiet but close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JakeA81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a quiet hotel in gorgeous surroundings. The staff are unobtrusive helpful and very friendly - flowers and notes on our beds as a welcome. We were able to have dinner set out on the lawn beside the pool on a very tranquil and beautiful evening with the lit up stupa as a backdrop.
Lunches around the pool a very welcome time out from travel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wmowat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

The setting of the Hotel is amazing - you see Pagodas from the Restaurant and from the pool, the garden is very well kept. Staff was extremely helpful, the rooms clean and comfy. Breakfast wasn't that hit but surely enough. Try to get a room away from the pool and restaurant as behind there the villagers live with their music blasting.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandra15983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Situated a distance from the main road along a dirt path this hotel offers a quiet resort setting amidst the beauty and serenity of historic Bagan. The enthusiasm, warmth and friendliness of the young local staff more than compensate for the inconveniences that we encountered during our stay. The air conditioning did not worked well and there was no hot water in our shower. We could hear noises from the room next to us which affected our sleep somewhat. Relaxing by the lovely pool in full view of a Stupa was a highlight. A dip in the cool waters is recommended as a much needed respite after visiting the temples in the intense summer heat. Do not expect nightly turn down service. Breakfast was spartan and you are better off heading to the local tea shops outside for a nice bowl of noodles. For dinner options there are several nice restaurants along the main road outside the hotel which offers very good value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The service is superb in this hotel, the staff are very helpful and they do the impossible to make you happy. The rooms are lovely, very spacious, clean and authentic décor. The pool area is beautiful, you can enjoy a fresh juice while sunbathing. Dinner is something out of reality ... the food is good but to add it all you be sitting near a Stupa :).. I just loved the idea! We were lucky to watch a puppet show during one of the meals.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malteser_Wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The pool and the surrounding gardens are beautiful, the whole of the area was very clean. We found the drinks and food at the restaurant were on the expensive side for Burma. Just outside the ground is a small restaurant with good cheap food and drink.
The rooms were lovely and clean and the shower and air conditioning worked well, very important in the heat and dust of Bagan. Our room was the end one of the terraced chalet type rooms, it was very quiet and there was no noise coming into the room from the next room which has been mentioned before.

Room Tip: The room we had at the end of the terraced chalets was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zenith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagan hotels
2.8 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#10 of 47 in Bagan
1,221 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
4.4 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#6 of 47 in Bagan
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Zfreeti Hotel
Zfreeti Hotel
#2 of 6 in Nyaung U
701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Bird Hotel
Blue Bird Hotel
#2 of 47 in Bagan
898 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arthawka  Hotel
Arthawka Hotel
#9 of 47 in Bagan
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thazin Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thazin Garden Hotel

Address: No.22, Thazin Road, Anawrahta Ward, Bagan, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range: $76 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thazin Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thazin Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing