We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, beautiful and restful.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thazin Garden Hotel
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Congleton, Cheshire
Level Contributor
193 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Peaceful, beautiful and restful.”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The pool and the surrounding gardens are beautiful, the whole of the area was very clean. We found the drinks and food at the restaurant were on the expensive side for Burma. Just outside the ground is a small restaurant with good cheap food and drink.
The rooms were lovely and clean and the shower and air conditioning worked well, very important in the heat and dust of Bagan. Our room was the end one of the terraced chalet type rooms, it was very quiet and there was no noise coming into the room from the next room which has been mentioned before.

Room Tip: The room we had at the end of the terraced chalets was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zenith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    209
    86
    17
    10
See reviews for
63
187
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was the nicest hotel during our group tour of Myanmar. The staff were friendly and general ambience was relaxing. The poolside bar was a great place to sit and have a cooling cocktail away from the hustle and bustle of Bagan temples/stupas. The rooms were very clean and a reasonable size with individual balconies.
At the end of the drive is a excellent local restaurant- Shwe Lan Thi

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paloma057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
397 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Not too bad a hotel for the area, nice pool and the setting is great with a pagoda in the garden! They will set tables outside for eating and is very nice place to eat. Rooms and bathrooms are tired out but the AC works and are a good size. This was probably one of the nicest hotels in the country when new, but as with all Hotels in Burma, it needs a refurb!
Towels, bed and linen acceptable.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
367 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here with an Explore! Tour which, by the way, was excellent. This is a really lovely hotel with rooms arranged around green courtyards full of trees and birds. There is a good sized swimming pool with seating in shade and in sun, and a poolside bar and restaurant, and a spa where we had a super massage at a price very reasonable in UK terms, if expensive in Burma terms. The restaurant is quite expensive but the omelette we had was delicious. Our room was a twin with air conditioning that varied in efficiency, and there is free wifi although it’s quite slow as in all of Burma. The décor in the rooms is charming and fresh. There is a gift shop. The breakfast is varied and good with seating outside and inside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Rooms, although dark, were very clean and comfortable. The outdoor dining area in the gardens around the pool was a welcome break from the dusty hot conditions in Bagan. The staff were very obliging and aimed to please. Breakfast was very basic and disappointing. Although breakfast was not appetising I recommend the hotel if you are looking for a comfortable place to rest after a long day touring the stupas and temples

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
185 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our 3 night stay was pleasant enough and, as other reviewers have indicated, the hotel gardens do provide an oasis style setting in what is a very dusty town but there are a couple of things that do lead to disappointment here. The quality of the linen - thin and worn - together with poor quality pillows do not make for good sleep quality. The breakfast is also very basic, and while basic is fine, the cost of the rooms here lead you to expect more. It is to be assumed that the cost of food and drink will be more expensive inside the hotel, but we found the first restaurant at the gate of the hotel to be a delight - drinks being one third the cost and drinks at least half price. The food was delicious and when they didn't have the diet coke I wanted one of the staff was immediately dispatched on his motorbike to get some. Hotel staff were pleasant enough but not proactive. Overall, should I return to Bagan, I would probably give somewhere else a try.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luciafrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
253 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a good hotel, no doubt. The whole complex is meticulously well kept and aesthetically appealing. A very spacious bedroom with wooden floor and a marble tiled bathroom, a very nice pool area with a bar and restaurant. Lots of green on the compound which is a nice change for the eye in the otherwise extremely arid and dusty Bagan area. Main point of criticism is that the staff's English is ridiculously weak, even at the reception desk. This makes them more or less useless if you want any type of information about Bagan. Also, I found it annyoing that I was put in a room that was separated from the next only by a thin door through which I could hear every movement of my neighbors. Luckily, the next door room was vacant during most of my stay.
Being more on the traveller than the tourist side myself, the Thazin Garden is definitely over the top for me. Also, a luxury resort like this one comes with its own type of clientele: the affluent elderly, especially French and Brits, often coming in packaged bus tour groups. And those are of no use whatsoever if you are hunting for valuable tips for the onward journey or, when travelling on your own, looking for company to have a good time. However, if you're in your fifties or sixties and want a quiet, luxurious place with a pool, this might be just the place for you.
As for myself, next time I'm in Bagan I'll look for a place in Nyuang U.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertLockwoodJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagan hotels
2.8 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#10 of 46 in Bagan
1,171 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 46 in Bagan
601 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#6 of 46 in Bagan
743 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
0.5 mi away
Arthawka  Hotel
Arthawka Hotel
#8 of 46 in Bagan
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thazin Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thazin Garden Hotel

Property: Thazin Garden Hotel
Address: No.22, Thazin Road, Anawrahta Ward, Bagan, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thazin Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thazin Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing