We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Haven of Peace and Tranquility”
Review of Thande Hotel Bagan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thande Hotel Bagan
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
483 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A Haven of Peace and Tranquility”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the most elegant and peaceful hotel I have visited in Myanmar. My riverside chalet has stunning westward views across the Irrawaddy. The whole property is imbued with a relaxing tranquility. Granted the puppet show in the evening is a little raucous, but the food is delicious - I recommend the Myanmar Fish Curry coupled with Mandalay Beer. The gardens are home to over 100 species of birds (not all together) - I was lucky enough to see a common hoopoe as I wandered. The swimming pool I found invigorating (= a little chilly) but deep and long enough to swim properly, not just frolic. It is a good place to see the Bagan complex, but also a place to unwind and sooth the soul.

Room Tip: River Side Rooms are more private, away from the little noise that there is, and have unparalleled v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TempleofPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    593
    168
    30
    9
See reviews for
163
568
126
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambria, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

One of the few hotels in Old Bagan, the Thande is quite a charmer. By no means new (built in the 1920s) or modern. the setting along the river is wonderful. The rooms are in a series of chalets set in a lovely tropical garden, the newer ones (though far from new) are set right along the river bank with views out over the river. Older rooms are scattered in chalets throughout the gardens and by the swimming pool.

Our room was a ground floor river front room. The room was huge, but dated. Very clean, though the dim lighting at night from multiple, equally dim fixtures, made that hard to verify. The beds were extra, extra firm and we were very glad to have our own pillows (we never leave home without them!) Minibar stocked with beer and soda. Working AC which was a nice relief from the Bagan heat.

Bathroom again large but in need of updating. Huge bathtub and separate non-enclosed shower wet room style. Plenty of towels and lotions, and again very clean.

Dining was alfresco under an enormous acacia tree with a lovely river view. Fairly extensive menu with lots of local fresh fish done pretty much any way you wanted, and breakfast was a buffet with a good range of choices.

Can't comment about value as this hotel was included in our overall trip price.

Room Tip: The Riverfront Suites are worth the splurge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights while touring Bagan. Our first 2 nights were in a superior room, and the last in the river suite, due to a mix up by our travel company, Grand Lotus. This was disappointing to us, but they were fully booked and couldn't switch us until the last night. We thought the superior rooms were fine, but the river view suites much nicer. We were offered the Prince of Wales rooms but found them way too dark and dingy to want to move in. We enjoyed the grounds, the location, and the food at dinner, breakfast was ok. The service was fine. Our favorite thing was the fabulous live music by a local man and young woman at dinner, and a charming puppet show. Wifi was only available in the lobby, and quite intermittent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tübingen
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel has its own history ( was built for the Prince of Wales), and the location is in the middle of Bagans history.
The stuff is well-trained, very nice service. The hotel has a huge breakfast buffet, served in the restaurant or next to the river. Everything (honey, yoghurt,pasterie) is homemade.
There are beautiful lush gardens, colourful birds, a clean and relaxing swimming pool area.
There are Riverview Bungalows, Garden Bungalows, garden standard rooms....,depending on your bugdet. We enjoyed the cheapest Standartd Room, next to the pool area. The room has had a good size, was clean, the bathroom was clean but not new and luxery.
Bikes are availible for small money, horsecards with driver also next to the hotel entrance( 1 day, or 2 half days, pagodas for sunset.....many options). You will nedd ether bike or horsecard to visit the historical area, because its huge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank muggel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is ok that's all. The staff do not have a smile for you . The eating facilities are all open air so make sure you have insect spray on. We had a deluxe room and it was large but not deluxe. The river view is not that special so don't pay extra for it. The pool area is attractive but the water very cool.

Room Tip: Pay as little as possible here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spendingpension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
121 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I was a little concerned as we could only get the 54 USD economy room, I needn't have worried it was an attached chalet bungalow quite old but comfortable and clean.
We didn't have the river view but we could watch it from the garden bar or open air restaurant especially at sunset.
A pretty and delightful place, lovely gardens and a nice walk by the river, good and reasonably priced food, icy cold swimming pool though!
Take a horse and cart, bike or just walk to the beautiful Pagodas right on your door step!
Hopefully we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Nice location in Old Bagan (definitely the place to stay in the Bagan / Nyaung U area). One night in the suite then one night in the deluxe river view rooms - we were taking what we could get at this stage. Suite was HUGE but to be honest the delux was as good, and very well positioned with a chalet type feel and your own private balcony to view the awesome sunset over the river. Glad we didn't have to stay in the rooms surrounding the dining area. Service was not brilliant - strangely one of the few places in Myanmar where they were NOT super-friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: River view definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wking21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.2 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
3.4 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#6 of 46 in Bagan
745 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 46 in Bagan
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
0.9 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
3.1 mi away
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thande Hotel Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thande Hotel Bagan

Property: Thande Hotel Bagan
Address: Old Bagan, Bagan, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bagan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thande Hotel Bagan 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have airport transportation service upon request and have internet access as well and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thande Hotel Bagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagan Thande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing