We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
anonymous293
Phnom Penh

Lovely location, very nice place to stay.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 30, 2012
Beautiful location right on the river....request a river view room. Calm and tranquil, lots of trees and vegetation on the property. Rooms clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly and remarkably professional and well-trained. In Old Bagan and accessible to temples, restaurants, etc. Has pool, massage, and lovely place to have a drink or food by the river, but food a bit over-priced and fairly mediocre. Recommended place to stay, would return.
Date of stay: November 2012
Room Tip: Get a river view room, make sure it's not the ones near the restaurant.
Trip type: Traveled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$132
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    $49
  • eDreams
    $77
  • Expedia.com
0.9 miles from Bagan Thande Hotel
Free parking
Pool
$85
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $63
  • Trip.com
    $51
  • StayForLong
0.2 miles from Bagan Thande Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$63
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $52
  • Vio.com
    $45
  • Priceline
    $47
2.9 miles from Bagan Thande Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$68
Fully refundable
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Vio.com
    $68
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.2 miles from Bagan Thande Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$41
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $41
  • Vio.com
    $39
  • Expedia.com
    $44
2.3 miles from Bagan Thande Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$25
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $25
  • Tripadvisor
    $25
  • Booking.com
3.9 miles from Bagan Thande Hotel
Free Wifi
$17
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $17
  • Agoda.com
    $17
2.5 miles from Bagan Thande Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$99
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $86
  • Agoda.com
    $61
  • Hotels.com
    $99
4.5 miles from Bagan Thande Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$24
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $24
  • Agoda.com
    $24
3.5 miles from Bagan Thande Hotel
Bungalow!!
$34
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    $34
  • Agoda.com
    $34
  • Priceline
4.5 miles from Bagan Thande Hotel
View more hotels in Bagan
Reviews (1,535)
Filter reviews
1,535 results
Traveler rating
500
746
224
43
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
500
746
224
43
22
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
936 - 941 of 1,535 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

After the hustle and bustle of Yangon we checked into this hotel and were amazed at the beautiful location on the banks of the Ayerwaddy River. The bungalows were very clean and comfortable and surrounded by landscaped gardens and manicured lawns.
The restaurant (weather permitting) is set up outside on a large paved area under huge shady trees overlooking the river. Breakfast, lunch or dinner - this was a perfect setting.
The whole place is very peaceful and quiet as it is some distance away from town and commercial shops etc.
Regrettaby we only stayed here for 2 nights but will spend more the next time should we visit Myanmar again.

Room tip: Choose a room overlooking the river - well worth it
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fonzie198
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have seen a lot of hotels throughout the world but this one was different:
-- very good service
-- location down at the river is great
-- calm and nice atmosphere
-- breakfast and dinner under a large tree with river view, whereever can you get it like this.

Room tip: Choose a riverview room, definitely worth it.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank haktus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel is a respite for the long hot and dusty days in Bagan. It feels more like an Oasis in a desert. The greenery all around the hotel is a nice change from the drought outside. The services are good and the amenities are upscale. The staff was also very courteous and friendly. I stay in 2 types of rooms in the deluxe River View as well as in economy and both are of a very good standard. The buffet breakfast was also very good and varied. The prices at the restaurant are double what you find in the outside restaurants and the selection is a little bit limited. Even so, it is understandable since the running costs are much higher than a restaurant. The pool is also well kept with ongoing cleaning regularly.

There are two things which are a little annoying. First, the photo attached to this site with the river water reaching the edge of the hotel railing is fake. At the start of November (the time i visited) the water was at least 500m away from the hotel and there is a sand bank all the way between the hotel and the river ( i did book the hotel because of this photo). Secondly I do not recommend to book your room via the website of this hotel. I booked 6 weeks in advance and managed to get 2 alternating days of river view room and 2 days of economy room so basically I had to move room every day. While there I met 2 couples who booked their room just 5 days before they arrived from an agency in Yangon and managed to get a river view for the whole stay (also 4 days like me). Basically my point is that if you book online they give you less precedence than through an agency.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Super quality hotel in the heart of Old Bagan. We stayed there 4 nights in one of the bedrooms directly overlooking the river. When you wake up you can see farmers working on the banks of the river, very atmospheric. Our bedroom and bathroom was big, nice and clean. There a nice swimming pool which is really nice to enjoy after a long morning bicycle ride in the temples and before heading back again to look at the sunset. I think it is a good choice to stay in Old Bagan compared to New Bagan even if the hotels are a bit more expensive. We dined at the restaurant every night, though you could go to some of the other hotel's restaurants around, just a bit bored of the puppet show 4 nights in a row!

Room tip: Chose the bedroom overlooking the river.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carole_nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

The hotel ground is really nice. All from the pool, the breakfast area, the rooms, gardens. You can tell this place was built to please the Brits in the 1920s.

The location is quite good, but the sights are quite spread out in Bagan, so you need to walk/bike/take a car quite far or respectively where you are going.

All in all an amazing stay for an amazing value.

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amaral82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews