We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of Old Bagan”
Review of Thande Hotel Bagan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thande Hotel Bagan
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Super quality hotel in the heart of Old Bagan. We stayed there 4 nights in one of the bedrooms directly overlooking the river. When you wake up you can see farmers working on the banks of the river, very atmospheric. Our bedroom and bathroom was big, nice and clean. There a nice swimming pool which is really nice to enjoy after a long morning bicycle ride in the temples and before heading back again to look at the sunset. I think it is a good choice to stay in Old Bagan compared to New Bagan even if the hotels are a bit more expensive. We dined at the restaurant every night, though you could go to some of the other hotel's restaurants around, just a bit bored of the puppet show 4 nights in a row!

Room Tip: Chose the bedroom overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SebSingap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel ground is really nice. All from the pool, the breakfast area, the rooms, gardens. You can tell this place was built to please the Brits in the 1920s.

The location is quite good, but the sights are quite spread out in Bagan, so you need to walk/bike/take a car quite far or respectively where you are going.

All in all an amazing stay for an amazing value.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaral82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Other reviewers have said it already, but this hotel's trump card is its location and grounds. The gardens are beautifully maintained and full of interesting plants. I'm a keen gardener so this particularly appealed to me. A large grove of mature Acacias provide shade for the restaurant and bungalows away from the river. After the heat and dust of the temple strewn plain, this is a wonderfully lush place to return to. We had a full day off from sightseeing and couldn't have been happier than to spend a whole day by the lovely pool or watching the sunset from our verandah.

We'd have been pretty gutted not to have had a river view room, which afforded beautiful views all day long, but especially early morning and at sunset. We did not mind the décor, although it was a little dated for European tastes, as others have commented. The wet-room style bathroom worked well and my partner especially liked that there was a bath as well. The WiFi was not brilliant, but as we ventured further into Myanmar we realised that it worked comparatively well here!

So, all the makings of a pretty exceptional hotel. However the restaurant completely lets it down (apart from the setting), and feels like it belongs to somewhere else altogether. The menu is limited, not very sophisticated and quite expensive. How much of that is due to availability of ingredients I don't know, but other restaurants in Bagan seem able to do better for less. The service, although charming wherever you are in Myanmar, was erratic and got more so when the restaurant was very busy. We were abandoned in a dark corner of the terrace on a couple of occasions, and only eccentric flailing of arms managed to draw the attention of the waiters.

A puppet show is performed nightly, followed by traditional music. However the programme appears to be the same every evening, so it grows a bit repetitive. As most group tours only stay a night or two, this is understandable, but we were travelling independently and at a slightly slower pace.

The hotel is walking distance from some of the very large temples and pagodas, and very close to the lacquer making village, so nothing is far away. If you don't want to venture out, the pool area is very smart, pretty and well maintained. The towels are presented with frangipani flowers in the centre of the rolls, which is very nice touch. Drinks are bought to your lounger and the WiFi works reasonable well in the pool area, which became busiest in the mid afternoon, before sunset tours began.

Having not tried other hotels in Bagan, we can't compare, but the Thande was definitely worth it for the beautiful setting alone. We'll soon have forgotten any shortcomings in the catering in favour of fond memories of watching the sun set over the Irrawaddy with a nice bottle of rose.

Room Tip: River view room or nothing I'd say!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanBCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A most beautifully landscaped hotel on the Irrawaddy. Rooms are spacious, nicely furnished, basic bathrooms, poorly lit rooms, especially if you are a reader in bed. Loved the pool at the end of a hot day touring Bagan. Wifi iffy but eventually accessible. Food is good, and there's an international menu is you are "over" Burmese cuisine.

Room Tip: Try to get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QUIGDEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The river view room was great. The physical infrastructure was good but not so in terms of food at the restaurant and the service at the restaurant and reception. Come here only if you really want to get a river view room. Otherwise, there are better places elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jade55ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Perfect place to stay in bagan, Clean and spacious room with minibar, tv with a few movie and news channels, kettle and safebox. The view from the restaurant is breathtaking and the food quite good (a little expensive) the pool area including poolside bar is great. Old bagan is also the perfect location to hire a bike and explore... make sure you check out star beam and be kind to animals restaurants while you are in the area (a short bikeride away)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimburns4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A great hotel choice in Bagan. Bungalows dotted amongst the beuatiful, well maintained grounds made for a very relaxing stay, especially after long days of sightseeing.

The staff are super friendly. Breakfast, and other meals, are served in the gardens by the river. The included breakfast buffet is fine to set you up for a day of touring but isn't the best in terms of quality. Also had dinner there which was fine and, though a little pricier, was still reasonable for a nice hotel. A few of the staff have limited English which can making ordering a little tricky but they will get someone over who is more proficient. The staff were very helpful when my partner got sick.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and there was free wifi throughout the complex which was fine (apart from the last morning). The swimming pool area was lovely and sufficient beds though it may be tough to find one in the shade during hot afternoons! There is also a pool bar service.

There is also an underground spanear the pool which has reasonably priced massages. A one hour Thai massage was $17 and very relaxing.

Would definitely stay here again if in Bagan.

Room Tip: Most rooms will be good, try to get one near the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrrfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagan hotels
3.4 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#5 of 47 in Bagan
790 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
0.2 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
2.6 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 47 in Bagan
657 reviews
3.4 mi away
Zfreeti Hotel
Zfreeti Hotel
#3 of 7 in Nyaung U
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thande Hotel Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thande Hotel Bagan

Address: Old Bagan, Bagan, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bagan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bagan
Price Range: $79 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thande Hotel Bagan 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have airport transportation service upon request and have internet access as well and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thande Hotel Bagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagan Thande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing