We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kumudara Hotel Bagan
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel with a great location amids the pagodas. We had a junior suite which is very good value compared to what you get in yangon or mandalay for a similar price. The view from the balcony is unbeatable, seeing the lit pagodas at night from your room. The room is quite luxurious and well maintained. Airco worked well and pool was nice. The restaurant is ok, I can recommend the tomato myanmar salad which is like a peanut-onion- tomato salad. Overal the myanmar food is better that the rest, the fruit shakes are not that good as they are warm. You can rent bikes, my tip is to pick the ones you want before breakfast before the other guests select the better ones, as they are not all equally comfortable. There is free internet but it almost never works. Staff is friendly, overal a very good pick given the alternatives in Myanmar.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D51054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    181
    99
    41
    12
See reviews for
36
200
67
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights in junior suite. Great views over the pagoda plain. Decent breakfast, nice dinner served, very friendly staff, spacious rooms & clean, very comfortable.

Only minor downside is the not so cheap bicycle rent, and the pool (which we used every day) coukd be a bit more clean.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed here for five nights in July in a Junior Suite. This hotel has potential and with some TLC could be very good. The location is tucked away but not unreasonably far from restaurants in New Bagan. The staff was friendly and helpful in booking taxis, onward hotels, and making phone calls.

The Junior Suites are nice on the surface but suffer from some problems. The biggest for me was that the aircon was terrible. Bagan is in the hot/dry zone and it is 40 degrees by 8:30am, so good air on was really important but it never got very cold. I had the opportunity to hang out in the bungalows as well, and while they aren't as nice decor wise, the air on is much better. Also there were birds living under the roof, which makes for lots of scuffling and banging around directly above the ceiling. I changed rooms and the staff said they'd have a look, but I don't think they did. Last problem is there is no shower curtain in the bathrooms, which makes for a wet bathroom.

Breakfasts were terrible.

Like I said, with some professional management and some TLC, this hotel could and would be really great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Kumudara. It's very peaceful, with fantastic views over some of the many temples in New Bagan, and stunning sunrises and sunsets!
The F&B Manager (Zaw Zaw) runs a great onsite restaurant, serving tasty dishes at very reasonable prices. We enjoyed relaxing there at the end of the day; with a cold beer and good food, chatting to our fellow travellers.
Through the hotel we booked a horse and cart to visit some of the 3,322 temples. Shan, the driver/owner (and Zorro, his horse), were great company for the day and we enjoyed our time with them.
A worthwhile visit, within walking distance of the hotel, is to the Bagan House Lacquer ware Workshop where you can see how local lacquer ware is designed and made. It's an interesting set up, and well put together for the tourists. Interesting, also, to walk through the back streets of the village - people came out of their homes to wave and say "Hello" as we ambled by.
I had a few grizzles, (which were far outweighed by the good things), but I'll mention them anyway.....We visited in May, when the day time temps reached 40 degrees plus, and I found the aircon in our room struggled to keep up. It was disappointing to find the pool out of action, because the water had gone green. This could have been easily fixed with a few chemicals. The internet was very slow, but 30mins free per room per day enabled us to make onward bookings and catch up with emails.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suewhoAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I had a Junior Suite room which was clean and well appointed with a great view out over the pagodas. I loved the relaxed atmosphere at the end of a busy day touring, with peaceful views, frogs chirping in the pond below and chanting wafting across from the nearby monastery as I ate a delicious dinner at the restaurant.

The staff were friendly, the room clean, the internet access was slow, but free for 30 minutes per day. Breakfast was included and although the buffet choice was very limited they would cook items to order at no cost. Great if location and hotel if you just want to relax at the end of the day, but not convenient if you want to go out again for dinner or a drink.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellipsis000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Have just returned from a trip to Miyanmar and booked most of our accomodation while there.The Kumudara is a pleasant 15 min drive from the airport.The staff are very welcoming and friendly and willing to assist with any travel plans. We chose a junior suite in the 2 storey block.Room was clean and had comfortable beds.As the temperatures were in the 40's during our stay it was nice to get back to a cool a/c room to relax.View from the balcony at sunset/sunrise was stunning with many pagoda's in view.Can recommend an early morning walk down the road to the village before the heat of the day kicks in.
The food in the restaurant was excellent and very reasonably priced.Breakfast, although basic,is fine and is in a buffet style.(Don't understand a previous review about cold toast....you make your own.)
With the attentive and helpful staff the Kumudara certainly get's our vote for any future stay.

Room Tip: Go for a room on top of 2 storey block for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HODGEY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
483 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

a little bit isolated location which gives you tranquille atmosphere after the busy tour at the city.
From the distance, you can also enjoy many pagodas and romantic sunset. There is outdoor pool where you can relax agter the day tour.

Room Tip: This hotle is located in the middle of old bagan and new bagan which makes you commute easily betwee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hee_Sung_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagan hotels
3.4 mi away
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
#13 of 46 in Bagan
486 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ruby True Hotel
Ruby True Hotel
#11 of 46 in Bagan
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arthawka  Hotel
Arthawka Hotel
#8 of 46 in Bagan
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kaday Aung Hotel
Kaday Aung Hotel
#24 of 46 in Bagan
321 reviews
2.1 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#10 of 46 in Bagan
1,171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thurizza Hotel Bagan
Thurizza Hotel Bagan
#15 of 46 in Bagan
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumudara Hotel Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumudara Hotel Bagan

Property: Kumudara Hotel Bagan
Address: Corner of 5th Street & Daw Na St. | Pyu-Saw-Htee Qtr, Bagan, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kumudara Hotel Bagan 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every time you open the curtains from your room, you can see the panorama view of ancient Bagan temples. Located at the edge of archeological monument zone, surrounded by farms and ruins of temples, Kumudara Hotel is the only hotel in Bagan with the unbeatable location where you can enjoy the priceless view of hundreds of pagodas and at least 10 famous ones. Famous pagodas include Su La Ma Ni Pahto, Dhamma Yan Gyi Pahto, Ananada Temple, Shwe San Daw Paya, and That Byin Nyu Temple. Situated in the middle of 4 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens and 12.9 acres of farmland, the atmosphere is very quiet, peaceful and serene. If you are looking for a place to escape from your daily stress at the best location in Bagan, Kumudara Hotel is the right choice for you. This is where your Bagan dream comes true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kumudara Hotel Bagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing