We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice safe place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Good hotel/guest house. reasonable priced, great location. Clean rooms, everything you need including a fridge. Staff were really helpful, they sorted out all our onward travel e.g. made many phone calls on our behalf, they could not do enough for us. Breakfast staff were very helpful, friendly and ensured we were well looked after - breakfast outside on the lawn lovely. Sadly we were too busy to use the pool - but it looked good. Would stay here again, as i'm sure I will come back to Bagan, loved the tea shops at the other end of town.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 544 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

It was cheap, and the best value we found while in Myanmar for three weeks. I loved the pool after cycling around. The staff were helpful. The room was spacious. We had a corner room. Remember if you are used to staying in 5 star accomodation than this is not that. this is Myanmar accomodation. We found it well sighted for doing bike rides. The breakfast was fab and their are cafes just down the road a few metres. It also had internet..Myanmar internet which is slow.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Good hotel providing clean rooms, strong showers and a nice pool. The staff is friendly and cool beverages are avaialble in the lobby which is nice if you want to have a drink after returning from the temples. Altogether a very pleasant stay with surprisingly good value for Bagan.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavitaebella_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

The express has a resort like feel which is pleasent. Very helpful staff, pool which is very necessary for bagan which is incredibly hot and served a great breakfast outside on the lawn. Definetly deserved 5 out of 5 rating.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

A travel agent booked this hotel for me from Yangon. I couldn't have been more satisfied with the location. It was half way between Old Bagan and Nyaung U. I was able to walk to plenty of temples and to Nyaung U. It was also right next door to Harmony Restaurant which had a great in expensive BBQ.

It was 40 dollars a night for a room in the two story buildings in the back. They had their own power which was a plus. Internet at reception was out the whole time I was there. I got CNN on the TV. I had no news in four days as the hotel in Yangon only had HBO. I have had better / more stylish accommodations for less, but it was perfectly adequate for me. Walk in rate might have been cheaper, and they did have cheaper rooms but some only fan and others with out tv.

AC, Hot Water, Clean, comfortable. Did not eat the breakfast though they tried their hardest to make sure I didn't miss the opportunity. Staff was friendly and able to sit and talk a while with one of the receptionist at the hotel. Good insight to the changing political scene.

The pool could have used some bleach or filtering, but swam in it anyway and it was fine.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimCA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Golden Express, didn't know anything about the place until we arrived from Mandalay. I believe we booked the hotel on arrival at the Nyuang U airport. If you stay there make sure you get a room in the two newer additions toward the back of the property. These are two level buildings. The front desk staff seemed confused on check in. There is a computer room but the computers never worked. Wifi did work on the property. There are several restaurants and internet cafe's near by. The room was big, had a t.v.. Good water pressure and hot water. They offer free breakfast outside in the court yard which was good. Rent a bike about two doors down to your left as you leave the hotel, cheaper. Get a map of the temple complex and ride. You are smack dab in the middle of them all. When we stayed there the pool was solid green and kind of creepy. Bagan was the most enjoyable part of Burma that we visited. If you need more details on my Burma visit and want to see many photos feel free to contact me.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank impetiousdoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed 27 may untill 30 may good location for Bagan my room was 208 it had aircon no TV
the room looked very tierd and worn out
Walked around to the pool and was shocked by the green water
The beakfast was nice served in the garden and breakfast staff were helpfull
Ive stayed in some cheap motels and this place felt like that

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karl640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagan hotels
1.1 mi away
Zfreeti Hotel
Zfreeti Hotel
#3 of 8 in Nyaung U
799 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#5 of 51 in Bagan
832 reviews
2.3 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#9 of 51 in Bagan
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 51 in Bagan
717 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
3.7 mi away
Arthawka  Hotel
Arthawka Hotel
#7 of 51 in Bagan
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Bagan Umbra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Bagan Umbra

Address: Nyaung U Main Road | Wet-Kyi-Inn Village, Nyaung U Township, Mandalay Province, Myanmar, Bagan 05231, Myanmar (Formerly Golden Express Hotel (Bagan-Nyaung U))
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range: $46 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Bagan Umbra 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Umbra Bagan is located at Wet Kyi Inn village, mid-way between Old Bagan and the City Nyaung U. Old Bagan is one of the most significant archeological sites in the world which rose to glory as capital of the First Kingdom of Myanmar in the 11th century. The Hotel Umbra Bagan is closer to major tourist attractions like the famous Shwezi Gon Pagoda and Anandar Temple. The beauty of ancient Bagan can be seen early in the morning and be explored simply from the hotel's doorstep. After guests spend the day biking around pagoda in heat and dust they can enjoy our two swimming pools. Also the Hotel Umbra Bagan offers a pleasant quiet surrounding at night with its 5 acres of beautifully landscaped garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Hotel Bagan Umbra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing