We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Blue Bird Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Bird Hotel
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We arrived late in the evening and the check in was very quick. The room was huge and had a very updated bathroom and again huge. When in the hotel it was paradise but outside you were far removed from any place that would appear to be a town...which bothered me.
The dining room was under a large open space but was very appealing and the food excellent.
the hotel staff arranged a guide and driver for us the night we arrived and for the next 2 days we did not have to think about where to go.
In all of Myanmar Bagan is the place I loved the most and Blue Bird added to this enjoyment.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmichaelUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluebirdbagan, Manager at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear rmichaelUSA,

Thank you for your comments. We are please to read that you appreciated the updated design of our large Deluxe Room and especially the modern Bathroom.
We will share your feed back regarding the good service to all departments.
As you have well noted Bagan area is an archeological area / site and therefore development is restricted.
We are looking to welcome you back and please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any assist.

Best regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

574 - 580 of 909 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

My first time to Myanmar. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere. I guess I was thinking Bagan was a big city. Really, there's nothing there except the thousands of pagodas to be seen. The breakfast was bad and the lunch and dinner menu very limited. I got sick in Yangoon so I was very careful with what I chose to eat. The hotel owner was not very concerned with my health when I asked the kitchen to make something more mild to eat as opposed to the Burmese food.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank SrTaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluebirdbagan, Manager at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Peter082,

Thank you for your comments following your stay @ Blue Bird located next to the archeoligical site of Bagan.
We are sorry that you got sick in Yangon before heading to Bagan, please rest ensure that we always take special care when our guests @ Blue Bird Bagan are seeking for help or assistance ( please see latest TA comments).

Surprisingly,we have read that you felt the breakfast was "bad"as our clients enjoy the diversity and quality of it with a selection of Danish, croissants, 3 kind of fresh juices and water, seasonal fresh fruits , 3 type of fresh fruit juices,eggs prepared your style from our live cooking station,variety of local condiments, imported bacon and sausages , fried vegetable spring rolls , baby patatoes , tomatoes, daily traditional soup, 3 type of cereals by Kellogs,fresh milk, french pancakes cooked for you a la minute, toast bread and Brioche bread, 2 type of fresh home made jam, local organic honey & palm sugar syrup,imported soft butter,myanmar coffee,English breakfast tea and green tea....not to forget our star the home made yoghurt........as well we are always ready to assist if any special order.
Following your comments " middle of nowhere" kindly FYI the religious site of Bagan is composed of 3 villages , Nyaung Oo , Old Bagan and New Bagan where we are located . As you mentioned 2 to 3 thousands of Pagodas are dissiminated around those 3 villages. The site of Bagan is still quiet untouched and the local traditions well protected.
Our hotel offers the service of a tour desk to help for any sightseeings or tours arrangements as well Blue Bird provides free hire of bicycles and a free shuttle service for our residents.

We appreciate your comments regarding our comfortable rooms.
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you plan to visit Bagan again as we will be delighted to assist.

Best regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We had a short, visit to the Amazing archeological site in Bagan, and stayed two nights at the Blue Bird hotel. They helped us maximize our visit, by helping us arrange a ticket on Balloons Over Bagan, providing free bikes to ride to explore New Bagan and providing great information on great places to watch the spectacular sunsets the location has to offer. They do not take credit cards, like many businesses in Myanmar, so bring cash. The staff was kind and helpful, the food in their dining area was good and well prepared, and breakfast is included in the room fee. The room decor is nice and features local architectural details. There is a small infinity pool to cool your heels and refresh after a day of exploring. Check out the local horse carts, with drivers who are excellent guides.

Room Tip: Select a room with a pool view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danjiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluebirdbagan, Manager at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Danjiro,

Thank you for your interesting positive feed back.
We will share your comments with our Tour desk team as you enjoyed all arrangements organized during your stay at the hotel.
At the same time we really appreciate you to share with us your positive dining experience at our restaurant Spices Garden.It was nice to read that you liked the quality ,design and set up of the room as well the cool ambiance of our swimmingpool.

We are looking forward to welcome you at Blue Bird again.

Best regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Great hotel. Superb service from all the staff. We arrived at 830am from an early morning flight from Yangon and they kindly gave us the 2/3 rooms we had booked so we could freshen up. We also had breakfast- hot pancakes made whilst u watched or omelette, fruit, yoghurt etc. The atmosphere was relaxed and we were very sorry we did not have time to stay longer. 1 night was not enough. We ate breakfast lunch and dinner at the hotel simply because an early flight and a day sight seeing took its toll. the margaritas were lovely, the goats cheese with 3 different salts so moreish we ordered a second plate.

This hotel was great value for money. The pool area is a little small if everyone is there but after a long day sight seeing it was very refreshing. the rooms were beautiful though one of us had a room that backed onto the water tank so some noise was heard.

the staff booked our sight seeing trips, checked everything was ok with them and even ensured our flight back was confirmed. NOTE to everyone.....don't assume because you have a ticket that you do not need to re confirm internal flight....

There are lots of books and DVDs to borrow as well...if you have the time.

We will be visiting again, next time for longer.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babsl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluebirdbagan, Manager at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear BabsI66.

The entire team of the Blue Bird would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you all enjoyed your room and the services of our hotel with a special note for the food and beverage services. Glad to read that you enjoy the Margaritas part of our special cocktails list.
We tried our best for you to make the most of your too short stay and we hope to have the chance to welcome you at Blue Bird in Bagan again soon.

Best regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

What was my miracle at the Blue Bird ? Simply this. After a frustrating and unsuccessful five weeks attempting to get an online reservation on a balloon flight over Bagan the obliging and helpful staff secured one for me within an hour of my arrival. I enjoyed it hugely but it was very expensive. The hotel staff were beyond praise and when I began to feel unwell they couldn't do enough for me. I had a garden room, beautifully furnished, although I doubt the wisdom of having white gravel stones used as a decorative motif around the waterfall shower. One of them kicked out of place could cause a slip. I was happy with the restaurant and my room was spotless. I thought the hotel was excellent value and I cannot praise the staff enough. I would happily return.

Room Tip: There were some fairly noisy children in residence and the rooms next to the swimming pool reflect t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank admonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluebirdbagan, Manager at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Admonty,

Thank you for your great feed back following your stay at our Boutique resort in Bagan.
I will share your comment regarding the very good service and the tasty food at the restaurant with the Team.
We are looking to welcome you back to Myanmar, Bagan and at Blue Bird.
Best regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

First off, hotel prices in Bagan are astronomical this year. While we initially wanted to stay in Old Bagan, lack of availability and high rates lead us to select this charming hotel in New Bagan. This hotel turned out to be the least expensive of our four hotels in Myanmar and we were delighted with it. The staff were kind and a bit shy, but could not do enough for you, though a few did not speak English that well (yet). The room was spacious and clean, and the bed was the most comfortable we had on our 12-day trip. The garden, pool, the quiet location and the mojitos were welcoming after a hot day exploring Bagan. At first we were concerned about the location of the hotel, but it turned out to be just fine. Two days we rented electric bikes (fun and cheap) which took us everywhere we wanted to go. The hotel also shuttled us into New Began to various restaurants in the evening (it was only a 10-minute walk but it was dark, we were lazy and they were so willing to drive us). We also ate dinner at the hotel one night and the food was good. Overall, this hotel was a great choice for us.

Room Tip: Some people may prefer the rooms looking onto the pool, but we preferred the rooms that looked onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank on_the_road1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluebirdbagan, Manager at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear on_the_road1998,

Thank you for your positive comments following your stay at Blue Bird.
We are happy to read that you liked the daily Free service of our Shuttle to New Bagan and that you made use of it.
We have pass ypur feed back to the restaurant and kitchen team regarding your good dining experience at our Spices Garden restaurant as well to our Mixologist for the Great Mojitos!
Please do not hesitate to contact us when you next plan to visit Myanmar and Bagan as we will be delighted to assist.

Best regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I loved my stay at the Blue Bird. The hotel is well located, near old Bagan.The room are large, with very nice furnitures. The bathroom is also nice and modern. The staff of the hotel is welcoming, you can relax in a peaceful patio, and have very good meal at the hotel restaurant.
All the hotel is very clean, with good internet wireless connection.
The Blue Bird is an hotel for people who want to have a high quality of service at a not expensive price.
Last, for visiting Bagan, you can ask to find a guide at the time you register.
For sure I will go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluebirdbagan, Owner at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Charles L,

Thank you for your comments.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed ypur stay at Our Boutique hotel.We have noted your comments regarding the large room and beautiful modern bathroom.
we will convey your positive feed back to our Tour desk concerning the preparation of your sightseeing tours and guide.
Last but not least we will share your comments regarding the good meals and service at our restaurant .
We hope to welcome you here again soon.

Best regards,
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.4 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 47 in Bagan
654 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
4.0 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#6 of 47 in Bagan
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#10 of 47 in Bagan
1,241 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
4.5 mi away
Zfreeti Hotel
Zfreeti Hotel
#2 of 6 in Nyaung U
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bird Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bird Hotel

Address: Myatlay St., Bagan Myothit (East), | Naratheinkha 10, Bagan, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range: $126 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Bird Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 rooms boutique hotel.Hotel - Blue Bird Bagan is located in the peaceful village of New Bagan, where traditional lifestyles are still the norm. Specialized services and full facilities designed to meet the individual needs.Comtemporary, well-appointed 40 sqm. room showcasing fine Myanmar handcrafted pieces, custom-made furniture and lighting. The combination of a mattress and featherbed offers your sleep to a unique experience. Luxurious 12 sqm bathroom features waterfall shower, handcrafted mosaic mirror & spacious wardrobe. The Hotel Facilities are privatised exclusively for our Hotel Guests. We do not accept Walk-In Inspection for the privacy of our Hotel Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Blue Bird Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing