We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfall Shower, a nice touch”
Review of Blue Bird Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Bird Hotel
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We truly enjoyed this hotel, the room was excellent, large and spotless. The air conditioning was a welcome relief after a long day exploring the temples and archeological sites of Bagan. The small restaurant prepared superb meals and the breakfast included cook to order eggs. The shower was rather interesting, it was a waterfall which fell onto a stamped cement surface and drained around small rocks. It was nice to have so much water running over a tired dusty body, truly relaxing. The staff is very attentive and looks for ways to be of service. The hotel is a bit far from the shops and sights so you will need transport arrangements of some kind, there are bikes for the use of the guests but we preferred to hire a driver. Since it is out of the way it is very quiet and dark at night, perfect for getting a good nights sleep. We would stay here again and recommend the hotel to anyone traveling to Bagan.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

640 - 646 of 955 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

The staff was awesome. The facilities are gorgeous. The location is fine. I persistently uncomfortable watching the Swiss manager micromanage the staff. The Burmese people are so incredibly hospital. The uptight Swiss guy would jump in and talk over the staff constantly.

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by courteous professional Burmese staff. The swiss guy was just sorta hanging back in the corner watching them. Then he just sorta jumped over them and started telling us everything and talking over the staff.

If the same scenario played out with him sitting behind the desk as part of the staff (not oddly and uncomfortably above the local staff) when we arrived, and the others were there as support, it wouldn't have felt so awkward.

The food is solid but the kitchen can be slow. The restaurant is very pretty.

Pool is great. Gorgeous. Hours are short. 10am to 7pm. With the sun setting after 7, that seemed early a few times.

The location is a bit out of town, but everything is spaced out all around and travel is inevitable regardless of where you stay. Nyang Yu seems like more of the urban area. We didn't mind that though. We quickly hired a driver for every day, which runs $30-60 depending on how far we went. $60 got us to Mt. Popa and back, which was over an hour drive.

If you're looking for a local english speaking guide, ask for Aye Aye at Ananda Temple. She made our trip.

Overall, the place felt like a steal. Our room was very nice. Service was great. Turn down service every night. I would highly highly recommend it accept for the bitter taste I have left from the single Swiss management dude.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. What a great relief to have this cool, comfortable place to retreat to after a day of exploring the wonders of Bagan in the heat. The bed is so comfy, we loved the waterfall shower, and the food was fresh and tasty. We also loved that the attentive staff would bring us cold washcloths and cold water when we'd return to the hotel.
There have been some complaints that the location isn't the greatest, but the restaurant at the hotel is good, they have bicycles available for guests, or you can hire a car for 1/2 a day (8 am- 1 pm) for $25. That seems like a very reasonable cost to me since they'll drive you wherever you want to go. We would definitely stay here again if we ever have the privilege of returning to Bagan.

Room Tip: Our room was right by the pool, we liked that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conejotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in low season. It was lovely and quiet, often with the refreshing pool to ourselves after a hot day of sightseeing. Pool was really so welcome after the hot sandy plains of Bagan and I was so glad we stayed somewhere with a pool.

Rooms were lovely, shower fantastic, loved the waterfall effect and black stone floor. Beautifully presented rooms, the only comment being maybe another light would have been helpful as our room was quite dark. Slept so well in super comfy beds.

Wifi generally good although best around the pool area itself. Breakfast was plentiful, enjoyed delicious little fruit salads with mint, fresh yoguhurt and amazing omelettes amongst lots of other things. Staff highly attentive and very sweet.

We ate dinner 2 nights at the hotel and ate out the other 2 nights. I was a bit worried about the location being "far from the action" at first, as mentioned by some, but we ended up being very glad to be in New Bagan, away from more backpacker Ngaung U and Old Bagan, which had a lot of vendors selling tourist stuff, which became quite wearing after time. New Bagan was much more "local" and the hotel is about 20 min bike ride to Old Bagan, so it worked out great. The hotel even gave us free bike hire as well, which was an extra bonus - probably due to low season I guess? Also access to the much less quieter temples is actually very close to the hotel if you take the back (tarmac and decent) road - a real bonus as you can have a whole area of temples much to yourselves.

A lovely stay! Thank you to the excellent staff at Blue Bird.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EgyptSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Great service, clean and spacious room, and tasteful decor. happy that we chose this place to stay. The pool, although small, is a prefect place to chill out after a day out of temple hopping. Breakfast in the lovely dining area is a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MICnEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Blue Bird recently in what turned out to be an unexpected lodging highlight. We were aware based on reviews that this would be a special experience, but the extra attention and special treatment from the owner, Mei (such as help booking an airport hotel in Yangon and early check-in and late check-out due in part, perhaps, to the low season) way exceeded our expectations. The hotel setting is very elegant and thoughtful and feels like a resort without any of the generic overtones. The enormous bathrooms and waterfall shower were terrific, as is the infinity pool and ample samplings from a buffet breakfast. Though we did experience some issues with slow wifi and bicycles that weren't quite up for our strength and speed, these were outweighed by feeling like such VIPs. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were there in may with 2 kids.i stayed 2 night in this beautiful place and enjoy it...very quiet & relax place ..swimming pool is great..rooms are very clean and confortable..wifi connection was good..will come back there again next trip..

Room Tip: very big & confortable rooms..good staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franckhuahin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.4 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 51 in Bagan
717 reviews
4 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#6 of 51 in Bagan
832 reviews
3 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#9 of 51 in Bagan
1,308 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort
2.6 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bird Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bird Hotel

Address: Myatlay St., Bagan Myothit (East), | Naratheinkha 10, Bagan, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range: $91 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Bird Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 rooms boutique hotel.Hotel - Blue Bird Bagan is located in the peaceful village of New Bagan, where traditional lifestyles are still the norm. Specialized services and full facilities designed to meet the individual needs.Comtemporary, well-appointed 40 sqm. room showcasing fine Myanmar handcrafted pieces, custom-made furniture and lighting. The combination of a mattress and featherbed offers your sleep to a unique experience. Luxurious 12 sqm bathroom features waterfall shower, handcrafted mosaic mirror & spacious wardrobe. The Hotel Facilities are privatised exclusively for our Hotel Guests. We do not accept Walk-In Inspection for the privacy of our Hotel Guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing