We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an awesome stay!”
Review of Blue Bird Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Bird Hotel
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had an awesome four-night stay at the blue bird hotel in January. This is a new, hotel with the feel of a small resort. The location was slightly outside of the main area, but we liked the quietness this provided.

We enjoyed the outdoor restaurant where we ate our breakfasts as well as several meals. The food is good and it was nice to just walk outside your room for a meal after a long day of touring. Yes the staff is still learning, but they couldn’t have been sweeter or more helpful.

The rooms were spacious and clean with modern decoration. In talking to the owner, Mai, she is still waiting for some items such as chairs and lamps to be delivered.

We enjoyed the outdoor sitting area, reading and surfing the net. The staff always brought us a nice glass of ice water when we sat down and was attentive to our needs without being overbearing.

We highly recommend the Blue Bird Hotel and the beautiful area of Bagan.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
There are newer reviews for Blue Bird Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 888 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We really loved the blue bird, the rooms were clean, comfortable and were of a lovely design. The staff were friendly and helpful and had a few little tricks up their sleeves, like bringing a cold glass of water to you whilst you baked by the pool - which we really appreciated.

Anyway, all hotels can manage these things, what made our stay a cut above was the way the management turned our valentines day dinner into something really special. There were rose petals over our table and small hearts with our names on waiting for us, little locally produced gifts and chocolates and complimentary champagne brought to us when we arrived. There were just loads of really nicely thought out touches that you wouldn't get at a big corporate hotel or anywhere were the owners were anything less than 100% committed, it was commendable and helped us to have a really memorable night.

We were also impressed with the turndown service and the way we were allowed to keep our room till 4.30pm on our last day without it being even slightly an issue.

We would totally recommend this little gem of a hotel. If we had to had to find a negative, you do pay a little more for your meals and drinks, but the quality is good and we'd still say it was worth it, just not perhaps if you're traveling on a tighter budget.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank WinnieLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Blue Bird Hotel for 2 nights in early February. It is a small and very nice hotel in New Bagan off the main road, some 15 min. by bike to New Bagan riverside. Upon check-in, the reception staff immediately offered to do our flight re-confirmation, while we had a cool ginger tea in a typical locally-made laquer bowl with a layer of real gold inside. We particularily appreciated the nice garden with the beautiful pool (we would have loved to spend more time there during the daytime, but there are just too many temples and buddhas to see in Bagan ...) as well as the service of the well-trained and friendly staff in the restaurant. The restaurant is a bit pricey, but the food is very good and portions are large. Even our pasta was "al dente"!
We did not have a room facing the pool but one in the back building. The view out of the window offered a high concrete wall at 1 meter distance. The equipment of the room was quite spartan, for sure not boutique-style, and the grey-painted concrete floor did not make things much better. The bathroom was spacious, but the red plastic roof over the shower gave the impression that you were actually in an infrared shower cabin... Overall both room and bathroom are much too dark. I strongly recommend that you place all your luggage underneath the only light spot in the room in order to not lose anything when you pack your stuff. This hotel is mostly frequented by French people, and the French owner of the hotel is a typical representative of his native country. The Burmese owner-wife however is a very friendly lady, and all staff seem to have learned from her.
Apart from the room design that we did not like, this hotel is a very good choice for your Bagan stay. Everything is well organized and running smoothly.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k_dieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have been staying for 3 nights with our little son in this hotel. Staff and owner take care on our individual needs - they provided all the help needed to travel with young ones and loved to service us wherever needed.
The beds are at a very high standard, so we sleep very well. During day time sometimes lorries pass by, but during night time no disturbing noises.
The pool site is perfect for a small break during the noon sun...
We felt in very good hands and would stay here defiantly a second time. I can only recommend to all travelers to rest in this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the road if you have little kids need a afternoon nap.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHRISTIAN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at the Blue Bird for four nights in January 2013. We had an lovely, relaxing and enjoyable stay. The rooms were spacious and clean with tasteful decoration, the pool area was very attractive and relaxing - with large cushions to recline on or regular sunbeds as well as poolside food and drinks service. The restaurant offered a romantic and peaceful setting with a varied menu of fresh and well-cooked Western and Burmese dishes. We chose to eat at the restaurant more than once as the food was so good. The hotel offers a tranquil location, away from the tourist hubbub yet very convenient to reach everything you may need. Above all, the staff were extremely welcoming, offering us impeccable service and everything that we needed. After telling the staff that it was our anniversary, we were greeted with complimentary glasses of wine - a lovely touch. The owners - Mai and Philippe - went above and beyond in helping us sort out everything that we needed, including flights to Mandalay and accommodating us for an extra night. We rented bikes from the hotel at a very reasonable price, which I would highly recommend as it is the best way to get around Bagan. I would not hesitate in returning to Blue Bird if I return to Bagan.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place Blue Bird is! It is reasonably small, lies in a green oasis with a lovely pool! The rooms are minimalistic and very tastefully decorated. The staff is incredibly friendly. It is wonderful to come back to after a bike ride or ballooning over the pagodas of Bagan! The only draw back is the food, it is incredibly neutral, breakfeast could be better!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamitanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and i spent 2 nights in this lovely boutique hotel in the end of Jan 2013. The place is very lovely. The rooms were clean , spacious and exactly like the pictures that some of the reviewers has taken. The breakfast is not a buffet style but was lovely as we had toast, eggs and bacon made to order and fresh fruit juices. The staff were very helpful in reconmending places to shop for lacquer ware and places to eat. We hired the bicycle for 2 days and enjoyed our sights and sound of new and old bagan up to ngaung u town. The last night of our stayed we decided to dine in the hotel itself. The price is expensive however the food and presentation were lovely. The only set back was my husband has a very bad diarrhoea after taking the food which was the grilled pork.

Room Tip: When you book the room , let the hotel know that you are on honeymoon so that they will appoint the...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.4 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 47 in Bagan
630 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
2.8 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#10 of 47 in Bagan
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#6 of 47 in Bagan
769 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
3.3 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bird Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bird Hotel

Address: Myatlay St., Bagan Myothit (East), | Naratheinkha 10, Bagan, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range: $70 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Bird Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 rooms boutique hotel.Hotel - Blue Bird Bagan is located in the peaceful village of New Bagan, where traditional lifestyles are still the norm. Specialized services and full facilities designed to meet the individual needs.Comtemporary, well-appointed 40 sqm. room showcasing fine Myanmar handcrafted pieces, custom-made furniture and lighting. The combination of a mattress and featherbed offers your sleep to a unique experience. Luxurious 12 sqm bathroom features waterfall shower, handcrafted mosaic mirror & spacious wardrobe. The Hotel Facilities are privatised exclusively for our Hotel Guests. We do not accept Walk-In Inspection for the privacy of our Hotel Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Blue Bird Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing