We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and lovely pool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aye Yar River View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aye Yar River View Resort
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location and lovely pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel with beautiful grounds and a great pool to cool down in after a day in the dust and heat of Bagan.

We had a cabin room (no 648), which was very large and comfortable but a bit dark and was ideally located right beside the pool. Breakfast was good. We ate in the restaurant on out first and it was ok but expensive. There was a puppet show on which was fun. The other 2 nights we walked into Old Bagan and both restaurants we ate at were great. It is a 10-15 min walk. Make sure you take a torch as the road is pitch black There are horse and carts just outside the hotel if you don't fancy the walk!

Overall we had a lovely time and would recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoopyLouNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    204
    62
    25
    13
See reviews for
54
249
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. The grounds were excellent with a nice restaurant bar area overlooking the pool. A nice place to return to in order to rest and relax after visit many temples or taking boat rides. We looked right out our window and balcony to look at temples - day or night. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skipper1967vet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a trip to Bagan when I was extremely ill. Our room was lovely and comfortable (fabulous bathtub) and balcony with a view over some of the nearby temples. (there is also a nice pool). Food expensive and ordinary - but the real standout was the service.

I was suffering from about a 6 day run of gastroenteritis and finally gave in and decided I needed to see a doctor. The hotel arranged this extremely quickly, the doctor came straight to my room and loaded me up with all sorts of meds. After that the hotel sent up free tea, rang to check in on us and loaded us up with free bottled water. They also took care all of our onward travel arrangements promptly and without error. It also happened to be my birthday while we were there and they sent up a lovely birthday cake (trust me, my husband did not arrange this!)

The location of the hotel was also terrific and by Myanmar standards, this is about as luxurious as you get. Consistent hot water, hit and miss internet connection and a lovely, lovely setting with genuinely helpful staff.

It is a bit pricey, but we certainly felt we got our moneys worth!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moestephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England
Level Contributor
170 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a Premier Deluxe room, which was quite a hike from reception, but with an excellent view of the river, and the "port" area - an excellent place to view Burmese life. Avoid the ground floor river view rooms - there is a walkway outside the ground floor rooms that is used by the staff and security guard patrols, and privacy is therefore a problem.
In the evenings the staff bring round tea to the rooms, which is a nice touch, and use a bug spray.
There is a small 12th century stupa actually in the hotel grounds - wonderful.
The hotel is situated just outside the old city walls of Bagan,and ideally placed if you want to walk around the pagodas, temples and stupas of Old Bagan itself, which I did in (a very hot and dusty, but tremendously rewarding) three hours, visiting the 10 Old Bagan temples/sites listed in the Lonely Planet guide, and several more besides - the thing about Old Bagan is that everywhere you turn is another stunning site. The hotel is a 5 or 10-minute walk from the beautiful gilded Bupaya stupa.
The hotel pool was fine, although rather bizarrely has random model penguins around it! Breakfasts in the hotel were fine.

Room Tip: If you're oing for one of the river view rooms, avoid the ground floor, where privacy is an issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samthetax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had a 3 night stay in a grand deluxe room which overlooked the gardens out towards the river and close to reception. Very clean and quiet and no problem with mosquitos. Pool was beautiful and staff very helpful although the majority had limited English. Food was average and expensive and after the first night we walked the 10 minutes into town and ate at a restaurant which was the second one on the left hand side after going through the town gate, which had excellent food, and cheap prices. Sorry cant remember the name! The reason for downgrading it to 3 stars is for the expensive and average food and drinks. Would love to find some wholemeal bread and hair conditioner!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in February 2013 but we stayed in 3 different room types : 1. Avoid staying in the Delux river view room which is more expensive than the garden room view but you DON'T get a good nights sleep and not alot of sympathy from the reception staff at the hotel when you make complaints. The constant whirring of the boats engines which cross the river throughout the night and the further you are down the west corridor of the hotel you are nearer the village where the boats are. I stayed awake most of the night!! 2. The Garden room. A larger room (they easily fitted a double bed and a single bed in this room) and there was still plenty of space. Had a good nights sleep but these rooms do get booked up quite fast. 3. The Suite. Fabulous as it SHOULD be and with a great view of the pagodas. You are given a complementary bottle of wine BUT we didn't have any hot water to fill a bath tub!! A major disappointment. We filled numerous kettles of boiling water to help enjoy the experience of sitting in a bath (which can fit 2 persons) over looking the pagodas. The swimming pool was on the cool side for us to enjoy, the food was quite nice but the breakfast was a DISAPPOINTMENT. The bakery goods cakes & croissants were stale and tasteless, the cooked food was cold as the chefs forgot to light the burners to keep the eggs, bacon etc hot. The quality of the food overall was poor and for the high price you are paying a decent breakfast (which is what we had in Traders, Yangon is what was expected).

Room Tip: Don't book a Delux sea view room if you want a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
378 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very convenient location. the restaurant ,bar, pool area and reception very well designed. There were rooms round the pool area, with river view (expensive!) and looking at the back to a street facing the village.Our room was located there and we had some noise and no view at all. The only attraction was a bird taking care of her babies on our balcony.The room however was spacious with comfortable beds and all the necessary facilities.Not quite clean because of the sand we were carrying on our clothes and shoes not because of the service.Sand covers everything in Bagan and it is the place with the fewer rains in South Asia.Dinner quite nice but expensive, stuff still learning how to treat tourists because Myanmar only during the last few years open its gates to tourism other than religious concerning mainlyAsian people.

Room Tip: Room around the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimtraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.9 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#6 of 44 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
3.0 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#2 of 44 in Bagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
2.9 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#7 of 44 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aye Yar River View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aye Yar River View Resort

Property: Aye Yar River View Resort
Address: | Near Bu Pagoda, Between Royal Palace and Ayeyarwaddy River Bank, Bagan 061, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aye Yar River View Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built on one of Old Bagan’s prime Ayeyarwaddy(Irrawaddy) riverside locations, the resort started as a guesthouse of the Burma Airways Corporation in the 1950s. The property is now undergoing a makeover to turn it into a resort of international appeal. Occupying a vantage site on the banks of the Ayeyarwaddy(Irrawaddy) River and revelling in space and privacy, the Aye Yar River View Resort is an ideal destination for a family holiday, individual solitude and self-renewal or intimate holiday for the hopeless romantics. The idyllic tropical setting, irresistible charm of the romantic moonlit horse carriage rides and sunset over the Ayeyarwaddy(Irrawaddy) drinks, fun-filled activities and resort facilities but most of all, your well-being and comfort assured by our ever-attentive service hosts – these are the vital ingredients in our unique cocktail for an invigorating holiday and your many memorable moments at The Aye Yar River View Resort and Bagan. Located in the heart of Old Bagan and on the eastern bank of Ayeyarwaddy(Irrawaddy) River.10 minutes drives from Nyaung Oo Airport. The resort sits on a sprawling 10 acres of tropical gardens completed with a scenic 300-meters riverfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Aye Yar River View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing