We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, and good base for sightseeing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aye Yar River View Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Aye Yar River View Resort
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
275 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Quiet, and good base for sightseeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent two nights here . Our room was quite small but very comfortable and had a river view. The grounds are well kept and the breakfast offered lots of choices and was good. Dinner was adequate - but by then we were tired from a day of sightseeing and probably didn't pay too much attention. We didn't use the pool - we like to swim laps, and it was one of those oddly shaped pools that offers no opportunity for exercise swimming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gogocar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    204
    62
    25
    13
See reviews for
54
249
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The rooms here are spacious clean and comfortable. The service is good and the grounds are immaculate. The only drawback is the distance from the cafes and shops at Tharabar gate. This means unless you are happy to walk or cycle in the dark (or get a cab) you have to eat your evening meal in the hotel. This is not a great hardship. You can hire bikes to explore Bagan on your own which is great fun.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ApricotCrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horsham
Level Contributor
436 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a deluxe room. The grounds are spacious beautifully kept and quiet ( unless you are in a grand deluxe on the river where locals live and longboats move up and down). Conveniently located within 10mins walk of Tharabar gate, Ananda temple - it's neatly tucked away from the throng. Breakfast was varied and open early for departures ( great no required food box). We ate in restaurant one evening, great food but we found we were getting up early 5-5.30 and wanted to eat earlier in the day rather than struggle to stay awake. My cocktails were good in the small bar overlooking the pool. We sunbathed by the pool one day but did not fancy a dip as the water looked rather murky.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in November. Lovely well appointed room by the river. Very clean and comfortable but suffered under attack of small black flying beetles - a common problem by the river I understand.
Service in the bar was incredibly slow, not improved much after a chat with the bar manager!
Food,usual Burmese choices but well executed.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

First impressions were not great, we arranged airport pickup via email and there were several emails back and forth on the subject. We arrived at the airport and couldn't see anyone with our name so waited and waited. The lady at the information counter would not help me to call the hotel and our mobiles didn't work, luckily I saw someone with a sign from the hotel waiting for someone else, so we spoke to him and he called the hotel and after another 15 mins a driver finally appeared though there was never any explanation or apology from him or the front desk.

After this however the place grew on me more and more each day, we were here for 5 days and stayed in both the grand deluxe and deluxe rooms. I preferred the deluxe which was a decent size still and a much brighter room. The grand deluxe was a fair bit more expensive & we only picked it for the first night as the cheaper ones were full. It was more like a mini apartment with a massive bathroom area and an unnecessary kitchenette and dining table which we never used. It was also very dark & dim even in the day due to all the dark wood used in the construction and lack of natural light.

The rooms are comfortable and very clean. The beds were big with some of the best bedding we had in Burma. The mini bar was well stocked and actually cold. Breakfast was pretty good, plenty of options although we stuck to the asian food mostly, however the omelette / pancake station was very good. We ate dinner once and it was good with generous portions. Otherwise we usually walked 20-25 mins or so to the cluster of restaurants by Tharabar Gate (Star Beans, Yar Pyi) or got a taxi to other places slightly further afield. The hotel bar is small but pleasant enough for a drink.

I liked the location a lot, it's quiet and peaceful yet there are restaurants etc within walking distance. You can get around by bike easily, we hired them from the hotel every day. We ventured into New Bagan and Nyaung U several times. Liked the daily local market in Nyaung U and there are some good restaurants there, wasn't so keen on New Bagan.

Staff were all very helpful and although they don't always get things right and there are some flaws they're trying hard to please. One other slight annoyance is we felt we were constantly being asked to sign bits of paper, sometimes in the evening there'd be a knock at the door for a bike rented in the morning or laundry (when you've signed the form submitted anyway) - they need to put a better system in place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kittkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This review is for a river view suite, which we spent 2 nights in is November.

The room is enormous and has a separate seating/lounge area with flat screen tv and half bath. The main room is also very large and the bathroom has a big shower and free standing tub. Amenities are all top notch and the river view location can't be beat.

Hotel pool is very good and the restaurant isn't bad either, though we only used it for breakfast. Staff was helpful. The lobby has wifi but is rather slow.

Only complaints that the river suites can has a little but of noise caused by the longboats that ply the river, but its not so bad as to keep you awake. All told, a good pick in Bagan.

Room Tip: Suites are very modern but the cheaper basic rooms aren't quite as new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a beautiful Hotel, on scenic grounds, with helpful staff. The room is lovely--very clean with good air conditioning. The swimming pool after a hot day touring is wonderful. Their is good separation between rooms so it is quiet and private.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kbounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.9 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#6 of 44 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
3.0 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#2 of 44 in Bagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
2.9 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#7 of 44 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aye Yar River View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aye Yar River View Resort

Property: Aye Yar River View Resort
Address: | Near Bu Pagoda, Between Royal Palace and Ayeyarwaddy River Bank, Bagan 061, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aye Yar River View Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built on one of Old Bagan’s prime Ayeyarwaddy(Irrawaddy) riverside locations, the resort started as a guesthouse of the Burma Airways Corporation in the 1950s. The property is now undergoing a makeover to turn it into a resort of international appeal. Occupying a vantage site on the banks of the Ayeyarwaddy(Irrawaddy) River and revelling in space and privacy, the Aye Yar River View Resort is an ideal destination for a family holiday, individual solitude and self-renewal or intimate holiday for the hopeless romantics. The idyllic tropical setting, irresistible charm of the romantic moonlit horse carriage rides and sunset over the Ayeyarwaddy(Irrawaddy) drinks, fun-filled activities and resort facilities but most of all, your well-being and comfort assured by our ever-attentive service hosts – these are the vital ingredients in our unique cocktail for an invigorating holiday and your many memorable moments at The Aye Yar River View Resort and Bagan. Located in the heart of Old Bagan and on the eastern bank of Ayeyarwaddy(Irrawaddy) River.10 minutes drives from Nyaung Oo Airport. The resort sits on a sprawling 10 acres of tropical gardens completed with a scenic 300-meters riverfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Aye Yar River View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing