We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”
Review of Nooch Bagan

Nooch Bagan
Ranked #106 of 163 Restaurants in Bagan
Cuisines: Barbecue, Burmese, Chinese, Thai, Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were early and were among the first guests to arrive. We were sat in the rear area near the a/c, I think this was a place of honor but sometimes the a/c is very cold after spending all day in 35C heat.
The staff was really good, we had several people taking care of us and they seemed to coordinated as we got what we had asked for and nothing redundent. They brought us a never ending supply of peanuts making points in my book. (I like peanuts)
The one odd thing was the lighting. I am not sure if the flouresent tubes were grow lights or black lights but the purple glow along with the purple and teal decor is somewhat irritating. This is not a stay away proposition though.
The menu had more items than the standard Chinese and tourist Myanmar food on most menus. The food arrived hot and timely. It was very good and I think rated amongst the best meals we had in Myanmar.
Go there if just to meet the staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MurTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    5
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Get over to Nooch. Best food and service in Bagan.”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Another great example of great quality food in Myanmar.
The owner is very passionate and a people person, she will sit with you after your meal, discuss your travel plans and most likely offer you a complimentary dessert!
Staff are generally attentive and act swiftly - the only uncomfortable feeling was when the kids began to fan us during the meal.

The food was simply exquisite. I'd highly recommend both the ginger chicken and veal curry. The meats were cooked beautifully and the sauces that they came with were sublime. I am salivating thinking about it now! Wash the meal down with the utterly amazing lemon and mint juice. The best remedy for a hot and dry day. Also watch out for the Tamarind sweet treats served after the bill has been settled.

Personally thought it was the best eatery in Bagan. They have a dart board and a giant television that plays music and local television. Requests were accepted.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent service and very good food”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Excellent service, quick, attentative, interested in guests, very good food (much better than in Bagan hotels we tried), cheap by European standards.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jajalumaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food, fun place...”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stumbled upon this place late at night and we were very pleasantly surprised by the excellent food and the charming staff. The restaurant is run by a gay couple who have travelled the world and have decided to return to Myanamar to start afresh. And what a good job they are doing. The food was one of the best we tasted in the whole of our trip, especially the duck. We highly recommend this gay friendly with excellent food restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carocrotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Best Thai food in Bagan!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

My first time to Bagan and was surprised to find the best thai food here. Loved the steamed fish and homemade duck (must try!)

Very authentic thai good you can find in Bagan prepared by Thai chef and the owner Jasmine told me they have Nooch in Yangon as well, will visit them in Yangon soon!

Overall enjoyed ourselves very much, thanks Jasimine!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nooch Bagan also viewed

 
Nyaung U, Bagan
 

Been to Nooch Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing