We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a day or two”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bagan Hotel River View
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Bagan
Reviewed November 1, 2012

File this one under "a little pricey for what you get", but it's a nice location in Old Bagan so it will make your wandering amongst UNESCO-restored Buddhist Stupas easy. In fact there's a nice one in the grounds of the hotel itself.

The rooms are clean, functional and a bit motel like, decorated with lots of teak. I'm not sure where you'd get hot water for your flask from (we filled up during breakfast).

You go out the front door here and be in the middle of some awesome history in about 10 minutes of walking. When you take the path in (near the old gate) there's an excellent food stall where you can get rice or noodle dishes, fresh juices, bottles of water etc at local prices. It's run by a lovely family and everything is fresh.

There's internet in the lobby but none in the rooms. Here's a great tip tho... if you go to the beer garden at sunset, you get a strong and fast signal from the more expensive hotel next door, unlocked.

The pool is nice, but there were weird biting bugs sharing it with us.

They don't take credit cards... you'll need to settle up in cash.

Unless you are documenting Buddhist history you'll probably only want to stay a day or two in Bagan and this is a great central hotel to do it from. There's not a lot to do here except soak up the serenity.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreativeSpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 416 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

You can do old and new Bagan in a day, in air-con car - forget bikes - too hot and too slow. Forget horse cart (just a novelty), too hot, too slow and too uncomfortable. You can do old and new Bagan and Mt Bopa in 2 days. Old Bagan is more interesting than New Bagan. Apparently the locals were moved from Old to New Bagan. All ruins are along the road on way from airport to hotel.

We had 2 nights here at River View. We were unsure the taxi took us to the right hotel as it says on the sign at the front River Side Hotel. At the airport, the taxi said Bagan Hotel. Apparently, they are all the same hotel!! Paid 6,000 ks one way from airport to hotel for this 10-15 mins drive. Expect to pay US$10 pp entry fee at airport. We booked the 2 days from tour desk at airport counter. Paid 35,000 ks for Old Bagan tour on 1st day and 45,000 ks for Mt Bopa and on way back New Bagan on 2nd day. Brand new car with great air-con.

This hotel has nice grounds - nice gardens and a restaurant overlooking the river. Nice sunset from here too but mozzies and bugs abound at night. Food is not so good, limited choices as is with breakfast (shocking really).

Room is old, bath and toilet are old, towels are thin, hard, rough and old. No safe deposit box. No jug for boiling water but there's a flask - you have to ask reception and staff will fill the flask with hot water for you. Room size is quite large but quite primitive.

Hotel is next to Gawdawpalin (lit up at night). Free wifi only at reception and pool area - not in room. No spa in hotel.

Staff not attentive - preferred to set up table than to serve. We had to try to get their attention.
Reception staff somewhat stuck up. Not helpful or friendly at all.

We walked out the next night to have dinner - quite a hike and very dark. Bring a torch. We got lost. As it turns out, it is quite a walk to Tharabar Gates. We took a horse cart back after dinner, most uncomfortable but at least we saved the dark walk back and about 20 mins. He wanted 2,000ks for the ride back but paid only 1,000ks for this 5 mins horse ride. Resort is tucked away from activities. We wanted to stay at Tharabar Gates but they were booked out. Shame.

Never again.

Room Tip: Don't bother. Glad we didn't pay any more to have front facing lake view rooms - not worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweetcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

For the price of the hotel, this is a good place. You're right in Old Bagan. Restaurants are nearby at the old gate. The horse carriage stall is just outside the hotel, making it easy to tour around the gorgeous pagodas if you wish to use them. There are also taxis waiting outside and bicycles to rent.

The good:
- No complaints about staff. Nearly everyone was very friendly and attentive.
- Clean rooms (though some could do with a new shower curtain)
- Beautiful location (one old pagoda ON the property and another huge one just next to it)
- Lovely river view for breakfast and dinner. In the evening, it's quite magical and mozzies aren't too much of an issue because it's so hot in Bagan.

Room for improvement:
-The pool. This was my biggest complaint.
Though the water was very clear (the attendant vacuumed it), it appeared not to be cleaned with the net the entire four nights we stayed. And we swam every day. Despite all the bugs and leaves and stuff. It would be REALLY great if they could ensure this was done multiple times a day.
The recliners are wood and painted white. They are badly in need of being completely sanded down and repainted or stained. Only some had cushions, and those cushions were very dirty, moldy (just coming to the end of the monsoon season), and had lots of bird poo on them. It was hard to find any that were relatively clean. They really need to fix this.
The patio/decking around the pool probably used to be quite beautiful, but it was rickety, damaged, and needed lots of repair work.

-Include a binder in the hotel room about the services they provide, including a map of Bagan, restaurants, places to go....you know, the usual. We didn't even know they provided laundry service until I asked housekeeping directly. It would be great to have these things told when checking in and also clearly available in the room.

-Be consistent on where they serve breakfast and dinner. Due to the rain, they sometimes needed to switch from outside b'fast/dinner by the river (understandable), but each night/morning it seemed to be in a different spot with no sign or anything to indicate where to go. This was a bit annoying.

- Get softer beds!!!!! I am used to very hard mattresses in SE Asia. I expect them. Ours (and we were in two different rooms - it was the same in both) were SO uncomfortable and hard I had to sleep on the floor on a very small twin mattress with my five year old daughter. THAT was more comfy than the bed!

Still, for the price, this is a good place to go. The service was very good.

We live in Myanmar though, so I think we would check-out a different hotel next time we return to Bagan.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becky c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our stay at the Bagan Hotel River View was pleasant surprise. For $60 a night, our room was clean and centrally located to the Irrawaddy River and all of the pagodas. The pool was large and clean, and the food was actually quite great. I recommend asking the front desk to arrange a horse cart for exploring the pagodas. Overall, this is was one of the nicest hotels I encountered at this price point in Myanmar.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exploringexplosions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

A rather late review as I stayed with my girlfriend in February 2012 but we had a magical trip in Bagan and a lovely stay at the Bagan Hotel, certainly the hotel added to enjoyable time we had in Bagan. It is well located, although old Bagan is a small area, the swimming pool is great after a long hot day looking around the temples although it can be freezing and the eating area at the back of the hotel overlooking the river is wonderful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and I would happily return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here twice, once while traveling with a group and then another time on a solo trip. When you are running around with a group you definitely overlook some of the details and see them as just adding comedy to the trip.

This is a nice hotel. It has a lovely pool, a gorgeous view of the river with a large deck to relax on, there are ruins on the hotel grounds, the staff tries their best. The location is in old Bagan and if you rent a bicycle you are just a short distance away from incredible ruins.

The main thing I realized is that this hotel needs to be updated. Getting wifi is extremely iffy/unrealistic. On my first trip it was not even an option and during my second stay the staff said it was hooked up and worked well yet still I (and other guests) could never get a connection which lasted more than two minutes. The rooms are fine. The AC units and refrigerators can make a lot of noise and not all facets are leak-proof. The staff's grasp of English is a bit hit or miss but if you are patient they will do their best.

I would not dismiss this hotel and I believe that as tourists rates increase this hotel will continue to get better and better. It is a charming place in Bagan.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoungExplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

good view / good customer care/ easy to go pagan famous pagodas/ ၂ ရက္ ေနခဲ႔ တယ္ ။ room charges လဲ မဆိုးပါဘူး။ I like swimming pool ေရကူးရတာအရမ္းေကာင္းတယ္။ နံနက္စာလည္း ေကာင္းတယ္ verity of bread I like so much at breakfast time. ဒါေပမယ္႔ internet wifi မရတာ အရမ္းဆိုးတယ္။lobby မွာ ဘဲ သံုုးရတာ အဆင္ မေျပဘူး။ ေနာက္ ႏွစ္ လာရင္ အားလံုးအဆင္ေျပေစခ်င္တယ္ ။ေပ်ာ္ရြင္ စရာေန.ရက္မ်ားအတြက္ေက်းဇူးပါ။

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelrin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.1 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#10 of 52 in Bagan
1,282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
0.3 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
#14 of 52 in Bagan
531 reviews
3.4 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#5 of 52 in Bagan
822 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagan Hotel River View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagan Hotel River View

Address: 8 Ward, Thein Ni Road, | Near Archeological Museum, Old Bagan, Bagan, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bagan
Price Range: $99 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bagan Hotel River View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagan Hotel River View is situated in a stunning location with fantastic views across the Ayeyarwaddy River. With the towering Gawdawpalin Temple on one side and the river front on the other, this attractive hotel is situated in the heart of Old Bagan, one of the world's most fascinating cultural heritage sites and Theravada Buddhism first flourished in Bagan. The hotel set on its own 7.8 acres of landscaped garden, indulges prominent view to breathtaking Ayeyarwaddy River, a treasure of Myanmar and a gift from the Nature. Not only the resort has been meticulously planned to be unique and original. The hotel unique architecture remains loyal to authentic Myanmar cultural and its lush garden compound features two ancient Pagoda are Shinpinthettawshay Pagoda and Shinpinthettawya Pagoda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bagan Hotel River View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Hotel Bagan
River View Bagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing