We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, beautiful location, needs a little TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bagan Hotel River View
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Bagan
Reviewed October 16, 2012

For the price of the hotel, this is a good place. You're right in Old Bagan. Restaurants are nearby at the old gate. The horse carriage stall is just outside the hotel, making it easy to tour around the gorgeous pagodas if you wish to use them. There are also taxis waiting outside and bicycles to rent.

The good:
- No complaints about staff. Nearly everyone was very friendly and attentive.
- Clean rooms (though some could do with a new shower curtain)
- Beautiful location (one old pagoda ON the property and another huge one just next to it)
- Lovely river view for breakfast and dinner. In the evening, it's quite magical and mozzies aren't too much of an issue because it's so hot in Bagan.

Room for improvement:
-The pool. This was my biggest complaint.
Though the water was very clear (the attendant vacuumed it), it appeared not to be cleaned with the net the entire four nights we stayed. And we swam every day. Despite all the bugs and leaves and stuff. It would be REALLY great if they could ensure this was done multiple times a day.
The recliners are wood and painted white. They are badly in need of being completely sanded down and repainted or stained. Only some had cushions, and those cushions were very dirty, moldy (just coming to the end of the monsoon season), and had lots of bird poo on them. It was hard to find any that were relatively clean. They really need to fix this.
The patio/decking around the pool probably used to be quite beautiful, but it was rickety, damaged, and needed lots of repair work.

-Include a binder in the hotel room about the services they provide, including a map of Bagan, restaurants, places to go....you know, the usual. We didn't even know they provided laundry service until I asked housekeeping directly. It would be great to have these things told when checking in and also clearly available in the room.

-Be consistent on where they serve breakfast and dinner. Due to the rain, they sometimes needed to switch from outside b'fast/dinner by the river (understandable), but each night/morning it seemed to be in a different spot with no sign or anything to indicate where to go. This was a bit annoying.

- Get softer beds!!!!! I am used to very hard mattresses in SE Asia. I expect them. Ours (and we were in two different rooms - it was the same in both) were SO uncomfortable and hard I had to sleep on the floor on a very small twin mattress with my five year old daughter. THAT was more comfy than the bed!

Still, for the price, this is a good place to go. The service was very good.

We live in Myanmar though, so I think we would check-out a different hotel next time we return to Bagan.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becky c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 409 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our stay at the Bagan Hotel River View was pleasant surprise. For $60 a night, our room was clean and centrally located to the Irrawaddy River and all of the pagodas. The pool was large and clean, and the food was actually quite great. I recommend asking the front desk to arrange a horse cart for exploring the pagodas. Overall, this is was one of the nicest hotels I encountered at this price point in Myanmar.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exploringexplosions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

A rather late review as I stayed with my girlfriend in February 2012 but we had a magical trip in Bagan and a lovely stay at the Bagan Hotel, certainly the hotel added to enjoyable time we had in Bagan. It is well located, although old Bagan is a small area, the swimming pool is great after a long hot day looking around the temples although it can be freezing and the eating area at the back of the hotel overlooking the river is wonderful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and I would happily return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here twice, once while traveling with a group and then another time on a solo trip. When you are running around with a group you definitely overlook some of the details and see them as just adding comedy to the trip.

This is a nice hotel. It has a lovely pool, a gorgeous view of the river with a large deck to relax on, there are ruins on the hotel grounds, the staff tries their best. The location is in old Bagan and if you rent a bicycle you are just a short distance away from incredible ruins.

The main thing I realized is that this hotel needs to be updated. Getting wifi is extremely iffy/unrealistic. On my first trip it was not even an option and during my second stay the staff said it was hooked up and worked well yet still I (and other guests) could never get a connection which lasted more than two minutes. The rooms are fine. The AC units and refrigerators can make a lot of noise and not all facets are leak-proof. The staff's grasp of English is a bit hit or miss but if you are patient they will do their best.

I would not dismiss this hotel and I believe that as tourists rates increase this hotel will continue to get better and better. It is a charming place in Bagan.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoungExplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

good view / good customer care/ easy to go pagan famous pagodas/ ၂ ရက္ ေနခဲ႔ တယ္ ။ room charges လဲ မဆိုးပါဘူး။ I like swimming pool ေရကူးရတာအရမ္းေကာင္းတယ္။ နံနက္စာလည္း ေကာင္းတယ္ verity of bread I like so much at breakfast time. ဒါေပမယ္႔ internet wifi မရတာ အရမ္းဆိုးတယ္။lobby မွာ ဘဲ သံုုးရတာ အဆင္ မေျပဘူး။ ေနာက္ ႏွစ္ လာရင္ အားလံုးအဆင္ေျပေစခ်င္တယ္ ။ေပ်ာ္ရြင္ စရာေန.ရက္မ်ားအတြက္ေက်းဇူးပါ။

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelrin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We came in rainy season and it only rained once, for about 5 minutes unlike Yangon. It was so quiet, perfect! Room was excellent, although the staff kept putting the air con on at 18*c. I live in Asia and didn't appreciate it. On our last night, they decorated our beds with flowers. A beautiful touch. We spent afternoons by the pool and were generally alone. Although it was quite, the staff were not sleeping. An awesome experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The 3 nights my wife and I spend at this hotel were wonderful. Although we arrived at just after 10 a.m., our room was ready (it was off-season.) After a quick shower and unpacking, we made ourselves comfortable around the lovely pool. Food from the restaurant was delicious, although I would recommend sticking to Burmese cuisine.

The hotel features a deck at the bottom of the garden from which sunset can be viewed. There was a bar there, and evidence that they have barbecued food, but being low-season this was out of commission. Nevertheless, it's a pleasant place to watch the sun go down.

Our twin room was a good size; I forgot to write double on the Agoda booking form, and I was too lazy to ask the hotel staff to change it. The bathroom even came with a bathtub, a rare luxury in South East Asia. My only complaint with housekeeping is that whenever they made up the room, they would leave the air-con running at 19 C, which was rather too chilly when compared with the mid 30s outside. However, housekeeping did arrange flowers on our beds for our last night (see my photos) which was a wonderful touch.

Hotel reception was very helpful in reconfirming flights and arranging a taxi to the airport,

I've seen a review on here that says the breakfast buffet was small, but I disagree; there were many different cuisines available....maybe it was the small choice of cereals available. The coffee was excellent, and eggs cooked perfectly to order.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandomGuy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.1 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#9 of 48 in Bagan
1,259 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
0.3 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#5 of 48 in Bagan
798 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
3.3 mi away
Zfreeti Hotel
Zfreeti Hotel
#3 of 7 in Nyaung U
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagan Hotel River View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagan Hotel River View

Address: 8 Ward, Thein Ni Road, | Near Archeological Museum, Old Bagan, Bagan, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bagan
Price Range: $97 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bagan Hotel River View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagan Hotel River View is situated in a stunning location with fantastic views across the Ayeyarwaddy River. With the towering Gawdawpalin Temple on one side and the river front on the other, this attractive hotel is situated in the heart of Old Bagan, one of the world's most fascinating cultural heritage sites and Theravada Buddhism first flourished in Bagan. The hotel set on its own 7.8 acres of landscaped garden, indulges prominent view to breathtaking Ayeyarwaddy River, a treasure of Myanmar and a gift from the Nature. Not only the resort has been meticulously planned to be unique and original. The hotel unique architecture remains loyal to authentic Myanmar cultural and its lush garden compound features two ancient Pagoda are Shinpinthettawshay Pagoda and Shinpinthettawya Pagoda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bagan Hotel River View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Hotel Bagan
River View Bagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing