We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing! Absolutely worth every penny.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balloons over Bagan

Balloons over Bagan
Ranked #2 of 14 Outdoor Activities in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Launched in 1999, the family run Balloons over Bagan provides awe-inspiring flights over the ancient temples of Bagan. From our intimate Premium Service 8 passenger balloons with a maximum of 2 people in each compartment for that special occasion, to our 16 passenger balloons ideal for families or larger groups with only 4 in each compartment, all our balloons provide a spacious platform for unrivaled views. We are the only company in the industry with full time, on-site, maintenance engineers and inspectors, reflected in our 15 year safety record, free of accidents or incidents. Our insurance policy placed directly with Lloyds of London, provides the most comprehensive cover in the country, reflecting our integrity and reputation for safety.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing! Absolutely worth every penny.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I agree with the other posts -- this really is a magical experience and a professionally run operation. A few tips:

1) Book early, especially during high seasons. We booked 3 months in advance for end of December, and were initially on the waitlist -- we didn't get our spots confirmed until 2 weeks before the trip.

2) No need to pay extra for the premium service, we were able to see everything with the standard service. If you are particularly picky though, try to stand in the corner of the basket on the side that doesn't have the little camera with strings.

3) At the end of the balloon ride, local children will try to sell you souvenirs. I ended up buying a silk skirt, but it wasn't color fast -- after it got wet, the colors ran.

For pics from our ride, see: http://luxurybackpacker.blogspot.com/2013/01/balloons-over-bagan.html

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank m3linda_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,050
    91
    20
    13
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
303 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience. Go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

You arrive at the fields just as the night is fading. Coffee and cookies are available as you wait for everyone to arrive. Teams are assigned, safety training is completed, and you watch the balloons being inflated. This is very interesting. Then, hop on board for an experience you won't forget. Gently you start to climb as the sun comes up and the land passes below. The morning mist gradually burns off. Pagodas and stupas are scattered all over the ground in every direction. It feels like you are floating. You can see the other balloons as you move gradually up and down. Photo opportunites abound in every direction. Then you gently start your descent until touching down. Champagne, fruit and cake awaits. You sip and eat as the crew retrieves the balloon and your transport arrives to take you back to your hotel. A very professional organization and highly recommended experience. Go if you can.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank EWR-NJ-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Just do it. Never mind the cost! Unforgetable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

A wonderful and magical experience drifting at sunrise over the thousands of pagodas, shrines and stupas scattered over the plain of Bagan. It is probably the one memory of my trip to Myanmar which will endure for ever. A most professional operation.
Yes, it is quite expensive especially when compared to most things in Myanmar. I almost let the opportunity slip....and would never have known what I missed!
Include the cost ( US$ 300 ) in your budget before you travel.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank peartree69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just awesome, worth the cost”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The best way to see and get an idea of the number of temples etc in Bagan is from the air. In the quiet of sunrise you get to see the day getting underway. An amazing and professionally run ride. Champagne and small breakfast after landing. Well worth the splurge money wise.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckstar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ballooning Over Pagodas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

There is no better way to experience the wonder and awe of the Plains of Bagan and the thousands of Wats/Pagodas than by Balloons Over Bagan - it is nothing short of fantastic! This is a MUST DO!
Kudos to our pilot, Brian, for a wonderful flight and first class professionalism. An experience one will never forget and worth every penny! Nothing else in Bagan comes close....... JUST DO IT!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank judydeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balloons over Bagan also viewed

 

Been to Balloons over Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing