We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food! Top service !”
Review of Star Beam

Star Beam
Ranked #22 of 184 Restaurants in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Burmese, French, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: {One in new Bagan }and {One in Old Bagan}.Home-cooked, clean, traditional Myanmar food and French bistro fare prepared by local classically-Chef. Lunch and Dinner Highlights include:- Fresh-baked French baguettes & sandwiches- Bagan & Rakhine traditional curries- Specialty salads including eggplant, avocado, & tea leaf- Creamy pumpkin soup- Grilled Irrawaddy River fish- Roasted pork loin
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

We are there for lunch with our 3 small children. The food was non-spicy (not always the case in other places even when we request so) and very tasty! Chicken curry and chicken cashew were especially good. Try the tea leaf salad too.

The staff was very friendly.

Only minus : coffee is not good

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank CarolineN79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,044)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2018

This is a fantastic place if you have people in your party that want to enjoy local food and others who want to have western food.

My Mom was travelling with us and after many days of Myanmaar cuisine, she was quite happy to have a freshly baked baguette cheese sandwich with some fries.

We also tried the Chef Signature Chicken curry. One of the best coconut cream sauces I have ever had was the highlight of this dish. We had two serves of this. One was delectable with perfectly cooked chicken. However, the second one had slightly overcooked chicken.

We also had the myanmaar vegetable curry. Again, an amazing sauce and delicious veggies.

While there is a full page of desserts in the menu, as we were there in low season, they only had one. Understandable but just ask early if the desserts are of any interest.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GrantMc1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

Shared a papaya salad and a hummus and eggplant baguette for lunch and both were delicious. Love the bread. Great service, we will be back.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

Strange place with an overattentive waiter that will please you until you feel uncomfortable.

The food is okeysh but better and cheaper options are available around the area.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank JulesMiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

Highly recommend the chef's signature curry. Service was a little unenthusiastic but rapid. I would definitely go again.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank domw466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Beam also viewed

Bagan, Mandalay Region
Bagan, Mandalay Region
 
Bagan, Mandalay Region
Bagan, Mandalay Region
 

Been to Star Beam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing