We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ferocious ladies at market”
Review of Shwezigon Paya

Shwezigon Paya
Book In Advance
More Info
$112.50*
and up
Private Tour: Bagan Temples with Lunch
More Info
$64.48*
and up
Private Full Day Bagan Tour with Sunset Boat Ride
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Bagan Full-Day Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #5 of 103 things to do in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Red Cliffs, Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ferocious ladies at market”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We left this temple for our last day...slightly disappointed. It was quite grubby and the novice monks were a bit pushy. The women in the market were very pushy....grabbing hold of us and forcing things into our hands. Not my favourite place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanmac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    243
    70
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A very nice white temple complex with a gold pagoda. Free entrance but a camera fee may apply. Worth starting here your trip around Bagan.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank grubenmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
718 reviews
308 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“A Nice Pagoda That Is Less Crowded than The Schwedagon Pagoda of Yangon”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was located in Nyaung U. When I saw my airline boarding pass, I was confused because I knew that I was supposed to go to Bagan. Bagan is near Nyaung U. It was a long walk through the corridors and shopping stalls to get to the pagoda. It was impressive but a lot less crowded. As in the other pagodas and temples in Myanmar, you will have to be dressed properly (no shorts or sleeveless tops), shoes should be taken off. no socks allowed. This is a favorite place for the pilgrims. Since school was out when we went, there were more locals than tourists. The big Buddha image was impressive.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELdglobenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Fabulous temple, lots to see”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is well worth a visit as it's a beautiful temple with a variety of architectural styles. It's a live temple so dress modestly (cover shoulders and knees) and be prepared to take off your shoes. There is loads to see here, allow at least an hour, and you might want to do some shopping on the way in as well. WEll worth a visit

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The only part I found off-putting was the number of people who "volunteered" to pose for photos for a donation. Otherwise, a beautiful place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank itchyfeetRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shwezigon Paya also viewed

Bagan, Mandalay Region
Bagan, Mandalay Region
 
Bagan, Mandalay Region
 

Been to Shwezigon Paya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing