We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed. Average only.”
Review of Aroma 2

Aroma 2
Ranked #50 of 163 Restaurants in Bagan
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Not impressed. Average only.”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival from Yangon to Bagan (600km drive) our guide took us to Aroma2 assuming that we would enjoy this supposedly Indian cuisine. If we were not starving, I would have insisted we go elsewhere. Not that the food was bad, just that everything was oh so average. The food has been westernized to the point of being not authentic. They tried to compensate with nice lighting (romantic even), al-fresco garden dining but the dishes were still average (and too salty) and the service was poor-to-average. We had to return the second avocado salad because it was too salty. There were lots of western tourists and the restaurant was full. The children were hungry and we were grateful we had halal food.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank zzmelayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    144
    98
    69
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tasty chicken masala”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We went there for a late lunch when there were not many guests. We ordered a chicken masala curry and a cashew nuts chicken curry. It was served with rice and chapatis. The chicken masala curry was delicious, spicy and verrry tasty. The cashew nuts chicken curry was instead not that exciting, but still freshly prepared and good, if you like mild currys. We also had a ginger tea that was very interesting in a positive way. We spent our usual +/- 13.000 ryats for two mains and drinks, and the portions were really big.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna_1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overrated, overpriced, and extremely slow service”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Overrated because it really is sub-average Indian food. Sure it's rural Myanmar, but with all the hype about the place you'd expect much better. For example, the lamb was mostly nerve or fat, and the rice was just plain steamed. The dips/sauces were OK, however. Overpriced because the typical dish here costs 5000 Kyat, whereas in other restaurants it would be about 3000. As for the service, we waited 40 minutes just to get our drinks, and one hour 10 minutes for our food. When the main dishes eventually did arrive, we had to wait another 5 minutes for them to bring out the rice, and 5 minutes more for a chapati we ordered. The staff weren't exactly very friendly or unapologetic either. Overall an extremely disappointing place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wanfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best english speaking in Bagan”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Don´t expect traditional indian food, this is myanmar and european influenced cousine but we enjoy a lot. Everything was tasty and the local vine from Red Mountin was excelent. The best was the stuff speaking really perfect english with no accent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stay away”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

A very expensive restaurant with a very lousy and rude service

The owner's daughter is trying to do everything, taking order, collecting the bills and reprimanding the staff all together at the same time.

Oh by the way, if you look like ordinary Myanmar, dont bother going there because they think you can't afford the bill's will be ignore most of the time.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma 2 also viewed

 
Bagan, Mandalay Region
 

Been to Aroma 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing