We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveler rating
7
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
7
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews balcony guesthouse rooftop wifi bike
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 7 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2019 via mobile

Love the stay at Morning Star Guest House. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Owner speaks English well. He provides great tips about restaurant and shops. You can also rent e-bike directly from the guest house, very convenient. We have some booking issue with agoda. When we arrived, the owner is willing to honor the price and give us a big room since all the other room has been occupied. The place is in a smaller street, so it’s very quiet, but still very convenient to reach and go around. I also love the free buffet breakfast. It’s very good quality and good value. Definitely go back again.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank ccc232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2019 via mobile

Guesthouse is clean, quite new and quiet. We had a room on the ground floor facing the back. Although there was a balcony and chairs, there was no view as it was covered by green scaffolding. Bed is big and comfortable. It has many small touches that we don’t see in higher rated hotels like, torchlight in room, tray for toiletries in the shower area, bathmat, a low curb separating the shower area from the rest of the bathroom to stop flow of water out of shower area and map with highlighted places for you to view sunrise & sunset . Operator is a foreigner who speaks perfect English.
Breakfast was delicious and refilled promptly. View from the roof TOP dining hall of hot air balloon floating by is an added treat.
Guesthouse is located a few streets off the main road but there’re many restaurants and massage places within a short walk from guesthouse.
Tip: Forget about Kyaw Kitchen just round the corner. Food was terrible. Try Elodie Restaurant a few streets away, much better food at reasonable prices.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Avril60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john M, Owner at Morning Star Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2019

Thank You for your comments.

Best regards, Morning Star

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2018 via mobile

My lovely wife and I spent five nights at this guesthouse when visiting Began. It's only beem open for five months so everything is neat, tidy and in good working order.

Our room was very pleasant. The beds are soft and the linen is clean & crisp. The shower is piping hot and the towels nice & fluffy. Moreover, the air conditioning and WiFi both work well. Our room also came with a little balcony, which we enjoyed kicking back on with a cold beer after a busy day of temple hopping. Breakfast is served in the rooftop restaurant. It's OK but not great but that seems to be par for the course in Myanmar hotels.

The owner - who is a Scottish guy - is friendly and welcoming as are his staff. They can organise eBike rental for K5,000 a day or K6,000 if two people share one bike. This is a great way to explore the temples and I'd highly recommend it. They can also organise trips to Mount Popa in a shared minibus for K10,000 each. You will, however, save a few kyat by going direct to the companies providing these services. Laundry service is available at K2,000 per kilo. This is great value compared to what our hotel in Yangon wanted to charge!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank eddymaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john M, Owner at Morning Star Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2019

Thank you for your comments,
Best regards, Morning Star

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2018 via mobile

We arrived at bagan and we were looking for a place to stay. This place was very welcoming, the staff was very nice and helped us with pretty much everything. The room quality was very high and resembled a real hotel. Rooms were clean once a day, towels were changed and overall very hygienic. Rooms have balcony, minibar, air conditioner and very comfortable bads. The rooms included free coffee and drinking water. A very nice lobby and yard including table tennis, chessboard and traditional makeup. Breakfast included, buffet pretty reach and tasty. The location is pretty good and Good price. We had a great time, I can't stress enough how nice and helpful the staff was. highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Bar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights while in bagan. We arrived in the early morning and couldn’t check in, so we left our big bags and rented an ebike from them to go check out the ruins. Very easy process. The ruins are very close by. The guesthouse is within walking distance to new bagans restaurants and spas. The room is big and very clean.

Date of stay: November 2018
1  Thank mzwd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews