We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best tourism experiences in my life!”

Three Treasures Responsible Tourism & Trading
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Lost Temples of Bagan Private Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We offer Bagan tours and Myanmar adventures for people who usually don't take tours or hire guides. We're different, and we like it that way! We're a local social business offering mountain biking, photography, Bagan balloon rides, trekking, bamboo crafting, cooking classes and village walking tours in Bagan, Myanmar (Burma). Three Treasures is the first of its kind in Bagan, offering once-in-a-lifetime travel experiences that support local communities in a way that is socially, economically and environmentally sustainable. Are you searching for secluded temples for sunrise? Magical sunsets on the Irrawaddy riverside? Real interactions and memories with locals? Contact us today!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Reviewed February 11, 2017

I was originally looking for just a food tour of Bagan, and stumbled across Three Treasures. I booked a day long photography and walking tour, which turned out to be one of the most amazing tourism experiences I've ever had! Ian was very responsive beforehand to make sure and tailor my tour to see/do exactly what I wanted, and was flexible for detours on the day of. We ended up going for both sunrise and sunset, as well as taking a very nice walk through a small nearby village and meeting the locals and observing their daily life. He took me to some of the more special pagodas and temples, with unique exterior architecture and interior paintings. He also goes through a lot of effort to ensure the people we came across or helped during the tour were fairly treated and well compensated. Truly, sustainable tourism at its finest.

All in all, it was literally EVERYTHING I ever wanted out of a tour.

Date of experience: February 2017
2  Thank Lannie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianhayes72, General Manager at Three Treasures Responsible Tourism & Trading, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2017

Hi Lannie,

Thank you for this fantastic review. I had a lovely day out with you; for a few hours it didn't feel like work! I'm glad we were able to meet your expectations for the day and make up for your day missed due to the ebike accident. Enjoy your time with friends in Vietnam and a safe return to the States!

A lotus for you,
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"walking meditation"
in 3 reviews
"local monastery"
in 2 reviews
"hidden temples"
in 2 reviews
"solo traveller"
in 2 reviews
"unique experience"
in 3 reviews
"off the beaten track"
in 3 reviews
"two days"
in 5 reviews
"myanmar culture"
in 2 reviews
"boat ride"
in 2 reviews
"full day tour"
in 2 reviews
"watching the sunset"
in 2 reviews
"tour guide"
in 2 reviews
"old bagan"
in 2 reviews
"ian"
in 21 reviews
"koko"
in 3 reviews
"sustainable"
in 3 reviews
"mission"
in 2 reviews
Filter

26 - 30 of 35 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2017 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to book not only one, but two days with Ian, and were blown away by his sheer generosity, kindness and knowledge of Bagan. Ian made a personal effort to ensure that we had, on both days, a unique experience.

We attended a secluded sunrise, a personal meditation experience and bamboo weaving class on our first day. Our second day was an incredibly knowledgeable tour of numerous pagodas and a horsecart tour to a very secluded sunset pagoda.

But the beauty of the experience was what was not mentioned in any pamphlet; we visited locals preparing for a local festivals, had tea with local caretakers of pagodas, and were lucky enough to meet Ian's adorable puppy, Scooby (very efficient at chasing goats and riding motorcycles).

From the bottom of our hearts, we want to thank Ian for showing us Bagan and how responsible tourism should be done all over the world: giving back to help the community. We wish you and your dedicated team all the best, Ian.

Duy & Annie

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank Duy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianhayes72, General Manager at Three Treasures Responsible Tourism & Trading, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2017

Dear Duy & Annie,

Thank you so much for your visit and this splendid review! It was a pleasure to host you in Bagan and share some special moments together. It's guests like you that make our work here possible.

Warm regards,
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2017 via mobile

We just arrived back from a great afternoon and sunset experience with Three Treasures. It was absolutely amazing. We came into places where not many tourists come and Ian and the guides have great connections with the locals. We felt so welcome. The sunset on the secluded pagoda was a once in a lifetime experience. Just us and so incredibly peaceful. They made it an experience we will never forget. And, also important, it is a responsible organization. The locals get fair shares and they're doing great things for the community. So it goes both ways. After the 'tour' (that really didn't feel like a regular touristic tour - in a good way), Ian recommended us a great restaurant and brought me back my sunglasses that I left at the pagoda. We will definately come back to Bagan one day and book again with them!

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank lm20006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianhayes72, General Manager at Three Treasures Responsible Tourism & Trading, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Hi Lieke and Mark,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review! It was a pleasure to host you here in Bagan and we are so pleased to know that we were able to meet your expectations for your visit. We are very happy to welcome guests like you to our Bagan community!

Best wishes for safe travels,
Ian Hayes
General Manager
Three Treasures Responsible Tourism

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2016 via mobile

It's worth it to go to Myanmar, just for this experience. You interact with the locals in a whole other way, see places you normally would never, and get to experience the raw Myanmar. Wether it be traditional Myanmar cuisine, where you get to learn all the little secrets to get your curry taste wonderful, or an out-of-this world bike trip to sites almost unseen by the foreigner eyes, you get value for the money. This is the definition of an off-the-beaten-track experience. Do it.

Date of experience: December 2016
2  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianhayes72, General Manager at Three Treasures Responsible Tourism & Trading, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2016

Wow, thank you Jonathan!

It was truly our pleasure to welcome you in Bagan and introduce you to our local "family" here. Now you have Myanmar family too!

We hope to see you again someday!

Happy travels!

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianhayes72, General Manager at Three Treasures Responsible Tourism & Trading, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Treasures Responsible Tourism & Trading also viewed

Bagan, Mandalay Region
 
Bagan, Mandalay Region
Bagan, Mandalay Region
 

Been to Three Treasures Responsible Tourism & Trading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing