We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bagan delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in mid Feb 2014 as a group of eight. This beautiful hotel, constructed on a plain, is surrounded by stupa and temples. A wonderful setting, with a considerate staff, above average food and a delightful pool side happy hour. The rooms are spacious, with a large bath, and comfortable beds. Many rooms face the lake and 11-13th Century stupas. Living adjacent culture. I'll cell back.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank berniemcg29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

after touring the ancient Temples in the Archaeological Zone, we had LUNCH next door in the " Bagan Nan Myint Tower" a top notch restaurant located on the 9th floor with a great view over the Delta and Temples. The cuisine is Continental / Asian style and it is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. The service is very attentive, and the food tastes good. The restaurant offers a relaxed atmosphere, to enjoy THAI Food with good Service and breathtaking views.After Lunch you can go up to to the open air viewing platform and look around 360 ☼ We highly recommend a visit here, since the setting is really outstanding.

Room Tip: you will enjoy your visit to the " Bagan Nan Myin Tower "
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I know, I know, I know... Burma is a developing country and you can't have the same expectations for service, maintenance and food. I get it, but there is still a HUGE disconnect between the lavish, spare no expense physical grounds and the general neglect of basic maintenance and available services at the customer level.

Let me start out by clearly stating that we loved Bagan. Would go back tomorrow (though stay in a different hotel.) The archaeological park and sights were awe inspiring in both beauty and scope. We loved climbing on the Temples and Stupas and the fabulous views from the sunrise balloon ride. We were booked here by our travel agent who told us that the location within the archaeological park and the grounds of the Hotel were stunning. She was correct on both accounts.

Arriving from the airport, we were very impressed at the size of the resort. Sprawling grounds of bungalows, gardens, an entire golf course and a massive 13 story modern viewing tower all in the middle of fabulous ancient ruins. Our first thought was, who on earth would be allowed to destroy acres and acres of a World Heritage Sight and countless (probably hundreds by estimation of the surrounding density of temples and stupas) national treasures to build a hotel? Perhaps a corrupt government crony? Just a guess... it would explain volumes as to why this beautiful and expensive property has been allowed to be mismanaged.

Moral conscience aside, the hotel failed to deliver on the basics.

The Good:
-The physical layout was stunning and the maintenance of the garden areas was faultless. Lots of unskilled labor to make certain the superficial things were not neglected.
-The sunset view from the tower was lovely and the Mandalay Rum Sours were reported to be excellent (despite the fact that the tower itself was a blight on the horizon.)
-We had dinner twice in the tower and enjoyed the local offerings. Both delicious and reasonably priced. (It was quite a hike to go back out for meals after returning from a day of sightseeing.)
-Our room, a Jasmine Villa, was very spacious and had a lovely direct view over a lake with beautifully lit temples on the far side of the lake in the evenings.

The Not So Good:

The Room:
-Basic maintenance in the room was appalling. Only one of the two air conditioning units even worked but fortunately, it was not as hot as usual while we were there.
-The fan above the bed did not work either. A nasty one two punch when it heats up there.
-There was a raw sewage stench in the bathroom whether we shut the toilet bowl or not. At no time during our stay did this improve. We were provided an equally offensive chemical perfume alternative upon complaint via a note to housekeeping.
-Two of the lights did not work when we arrived and we were either too stupid to figure out how the spa tub worked (possible) or it just didn't work at all (more likely.)
-There were water stains on BOTH bedside lampshades. How does THAT happen?
-Wi-Fi never worked. Neither did the computers in the business center during the entirety of our stay.
- On two occasions during our stay, we knocked down the wooden ladder leaning on the wall being used as a makeshift towel rack.
-The bed was hard. This was not unique to this property. With rare exception, even the finest hotels that we encountered all over Asia had similarly hard mattresses. I can only concluded that Asians must prefer harder mattresses. The bed linens were of high quality, however.
-Food Service:
-The general neglect of Westerner's preferences was evident both in selection and service during our three day stay at breakfast.
-At no time during our stay was orange juice available at the juice station. Nor was water available for self service with the beverages. When we asked for orange juice every morning, we were met with a 'it is not available today' by our wait staff despite the fact that we had been able to purchase it at various bars throughout the complex.
-The coffee served during our stay was UNDRINKABLE. It was cheap and bitter instant coffee. By the third morning, I had figured out that I could order a cappuccino that would be made with fresh expresso beans. It took about 15 minutes, but a delicious cappuccino was delivered and appreciated. Heartened by my coup, my tablemate then ordered one and surprisingly, the waiter appeared only a minute later with a beverage that looked very much like mine. Wow, I thought, I hadn't even heard the expresso grinder... and so fast this time, too. Turned out that he had poured the rest of the steamed milk from my order over a cup of the foul bitter instant stuff and expected him not to notice... true story. Highlights a benign lack of training at best, or a general contempt toward guests.
The Spa:
-My spa experience was marred by an apparent lack of effective communication. I scheduled a 'Myanmar Massage' and asked for a 'strong' therapist that could go 'deep.' The sweet girl at the desk confirmed that she understood my request and I showed up several hours later and was greeted by a girl that could not have been 90 pounds. Well, I have had many massages by small people who have been able to provide deep work so I did not want to prejudge her abilities due to her size. In her defense, she did attempt to apply more pressure when asked, but her efforts left us both frustrated.

This was the ONLY hotel of all of the places we stayed in Myanmar that did not accept credit cards. Somehow, I'll bet that the high level government crony that owns this place could probably arrange to be able to use credit cards for his customer's convenience if it was a priority. I'll also bet that increased competition in the 'luxury level' market may force this hotel to start paying more attention to the needs of their guests. Wake up!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MarkOrmondBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Beautiful, scenic location with view of old pagodas. Luxurious. Be careful and watch for snakes after dark. We were walking back to our room at 9:00 pm after a lovely dinner and saw a snake on the sidewalk close to our room. We alerted the front desk and four men came to remove it. Said it was a viper, will kill you. Then our guide saw two more on the entry drive to the hotel. Ironic since the same guide said " no snakes", only around in rainy season. Apparently they are very common but the guides won't tell you because they don't want to scare away tourists. We watched the sunrise from the tower, and the hotel staff drove us the short distance, we speculate because of snakes. We told our guide in Yangon about it and he said don't put it on the internet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krischad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

If You Go to Bagan, this is THE Place to Stay. The Hotel is in an Excellent Location to explore the Temples of Bagan. A Perfect Place to Stay in Bagan, if Not the Best Place to Stay in Bagan. The Settting and the Views are Amazing. Excellent Food and Service. Room was Excellent, Spacious, Well Appointed with a Comfy Bed. The Swimming Pool overlooking the Temples has a View that Will Take Your Breath Away. Bagan is an Amazing, Incredible Place and this the Place to Stay while you are here. Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrfoxycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Set amid the temples of Bagan, this hotel is in an excellent location to explore the area.
Fortunately the food in the hotel is first class, with excellent service as it is a taxi ride away from the restaurants of New Bagan The rooms are a little dark on the lower level, but well finished, very clean, and very comfortable.
The swimming pool overlooking the temples is idyllic with a breathtaking view.
Very well run hotel and would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottWilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I had Lotus Villa 140. The grounds of this resort and the balconies of the villa were lovely, even spectacular. However, getting anywhere required a long walk or bumpy ride in an electric cart. The lower level of the villa was too dark and cold to use. Very dark and cold. The upstairs (20 slippery, wooden steps up) had better lighting. I stayed upstairs whenever in the villa. The balconies and décor upstairs were beautiful. Unfortunately I could not use the bathtub. It would have been nice, but sunken in the floor with very little flooring surrounding it, and nothing to grab to get out safely, it did not look like a good idea for someone traveling alone. I could have been stuck waiting for housekeeping the next day. And I did not want to sit sunken in the floor nearly next to the walls...creepy. Food at the resort was good, service was good. View of temples, balloons and pool in the morning was nice from the main buildings. Do not use the laundry service. A high quality, heavy duty cotton T shirt came back with stains set, not clean, too much smelly fabric softener, and faded. I have to throw it away. A night gown is salvageable if I can get the waxy, smelly fabric softener out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trav2learn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagan hotels
2.4 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
3.1 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 47 in Bagan
634 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#6 of 47 in Bagan
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#10 of 47 in Bagan
1,221 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
2.6 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan

Address: Near Bagan Viewing Tower, Min Nanthu Village Nyaung Oo, Mandalay Division, Bagan, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bagan
#4 Spa Hotel in Bagan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bagan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bagan
Price Range: $183 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort, a tranquil paradise in Bagan. This incomparable resort and spa set amid 27 acres of tropical landscaped garden offers the ultimate in luxury for guests seeking a superlative vacation experience. Museum quality antiques and artifacts adorn each villa, complementing the majestic ambiance of the resort. Strolling around the lake, enjoying the breeze come over the water of lovely oasis in the heart of dry-zone Bagan will be your unique pleasure. Bedrooms are spacious and elegant: bathrooms are large and lavishly equipped with five-star amenities. Outdoor highlights include private terraces for al-fresco dining and relaxation, while many villas also offer Jacuzzis or plunge pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aureum Palace Hotel Bagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing