We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed for 2 days at the Aureum, arriving very early in the morning where we were given an early check in. The hotel is located just about 5 minutes away from the airport and in close proximity to many of the temples/ pagodas.

The hotel décor and grounds are beautiful and peaceful- very picturesque. Beyond the main pool are some pagodas which are artfully lit at night, adding to the wonderful ambience of the hotel. We stayed in a deluxe room which was quite spacious and very comfortable, although we could hear our neighbours quite clearly. Breakfast (which was included) was really good by Myanmar standards (omelette station, fresh fruit, pastries and the usual breakfast fare). The food at the restaurant was fine. Based on the trip advisor reviews it seems that some folks had problems with the service. Luckily, we had no problems. In fact the staff went out of their way to help us, give us advice on temples to visit and ensure we had a great stay. We did however have problems paying our bill (as we transferred the money in advance to their bank account). This was not the fault of the hotel staff but rather a snafu with their head office, which was very slow to respond to our queries or e mails.

All in all it was a good stay at a beautiful hotel. I would definitely stay here again if I returned to Bagan.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exploringtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,073)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

The Aureum Palace is one of the few luxury establishments in Bagan. The hotel is set in an ideal location on the plain surrounded by Temples as far as the eye can see.
As you enter the hotel along the long drive way you notice the controversial 11 floor tower painted in terracotta with an incongruous decorative ornamentation on the top. This open air viewing tower with a restaurant and bar is the controversial structure that irritated UNESCO so much that they withdrew support from the Bagan temples. If you don’t like the sight of it slip back later for a truly great Margarita that envies any in the world.
The hotel foyer is a classical tropical design of a majestic stairway over a carp pond which opens to the covered foyer revealing a magnificent view over the hotel’s infinity edge pool with two temples framing the view and leading the eye to the plain beyond.

There are a number of room options available. Approximately eight villas have direct views over the plain and temples. Other villas obstruct each other from a view but are in a pleasant manicured garden setting. The majority of tourists stayed in the two storey blocks clustered around a second pool.

The Deluxe room was spacious with a bed area, steps down to a lounge area with plenty of room for an extra bed. A balcony looked over the pool area. The bathroom was spacious with a deep bath with sliding panels that open to join the main room. A shower room had an overhead rain shower and hand shower also.

The beds were comfortable and firm, the pillows were a mix of comfortable softer ones and brick like foam. The air conditioner worked well, there was a good sized safe, plenty of storage and pleasant ambiance.

The problems with the room were minor annoyances given the level of guilty luxury this place provides in Myanmar. The blinds on the side of the room no longer could be raised up due to a broken mechanism. The curtains were old and dirty with a missing block out curtain that once hung behind. The sliding door on to the balcony had a 5 cm gap between the door frame which let in mosquitos. The toilet periodically emitted sulphourous emissions
The biggest problem was the tendency for the ceiling to transmit the noise from a very loud television two rooms away. It is only fair to say that the deaf, irritable and possibly dementing tourist who turned on BBC World at 6 am every morning was a considerable part of the problem.

The breakfast was reasonable with fresh bread and croissants, fruit , eggs cooked to order and a range of Asian breakfast food choices. The coffee was brewed and no espresso was noticeably available.

The staff in all areas were friendly and spoke adequate English, often with a very clear and articulate manner.

Wifi was available in the lobby and inside (and outside) the business centre. However, remember that the internet is a very slow luxury in Myanmar and WWW stands for Wait, Wait Wait. You can get email but don’t count on much else unless you want to wait around for a long time.

Remember to bring wads of cash in local currency or crisp, never folded preferably new $US to pay your bill as the establishment does not accept credit card. Seriously consider pre-arranging meals or consider that you will need US$ 7 for a cocktail, US$ 4 for a beer, US$ 20 -25 for a main meal dish, $50 for a massage etc.

This place has the prime location in Bagan. Its owner Tay Za’s political associations and business clout in Myanmar can be examined prior to leaving for Myanmar to help you decide on the choice to stay at this hotel, but be aware that if you want top end and easy travel logistics this man will be likely to provide you services.

If you stay here get up early and watch the sun rise over the Temples as the balloons float overhead. You will never forget the sights and the chance to wander among the endless temples around Bagan.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiboTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

What a wonderful stay we had. A beautiful cottage on a small lake overlooking some of the 2230 pagodas of Bagan. The entire management team was only here to please from private meals in our suite or in unusual areas of the hotel, like our farewell dinner with local dance in one of the pagodas. We even had private use of the night club two nights in a row. The food was outstanding prepared by their Thai chef with a great mix of local meals, Thai and Western. Definitely the best place to stay on a visit to Bagan. But hurry as more and more tourists are coming to Burma.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake facing suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeromeMarrelGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed here two nights and there were definitely pros and cons.
Pros: setting is beautiful, pool overlooking the stupas is gorgeous, rooms are spacious and comfortable, food and breakfast buffet are quite good, well maintained property.
Cons: it is a 7-10 minute drive to the closest town where backpacker style restaurants abound, pool is unheated making it difficult to enjoy in January. Where this place really falls short is in its staff, all of them appear to be local and there is not the sophistication one would expect from a property of this ambition. The level of English is very basic, the music is terrible, there is no pool boy...there appears to be no manager with a vision of what a 5 star hotel is all about. Also, even though the hotel is full, the public spaces are enormous so it always feels a bit empty. It is not a bad choice, just not a great place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TMA-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Visited Bagan in Dec with some friends. The hotel is absolutely beautiful set in a breathtaking location. However, what made the experience memorable was the absolutely terrible service of its staff. It started from the moment we stepped into Bagan - we were supposed to have airport pickup as part of our package, however, we found there was no one from the hotel. So we had to grab a taxi. When we complained to the reception staff, they didn't seem concerned at all, and simply shrugged it off replying "we asked them to pick you up from the airport" and carried on with their work. We were there for 3 days, and throughout our stay we continuously experienced terrible service. Surprising thing was, even the GM of the hotel didn't seem to be bothered when we complained to him about poor service levels on the day we left. It's a shame though, how such a beautiful hotel would ruin a wonderful experience for their guests simply because of sheer ignorance of the management and staff!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mybagantrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights with our 3 kids (8, 10 & 11 y). We were housed in 2 separate villas next to each other: beautiful bedroom, luxury bathroom with jacuzzi, lovely interior. The location is simply stunning. We were looking to 2 ancient pagodas trough our bedroom window. The swimming pool has the same amazing view. Food (breakfast) and service were very good. I recommend this place to all my friends and will come back!
As in ancient times we needed to accept that the quality of the free wifi connection was poor. As everything else was so unique we didn't bother to much.

Room Tip: Try to book villa next to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Without doubt a beautiful hotel, Aureum is set in the midst of the remarkable Bagan pagoda expanse and holds both charm and splendor in its structure. Its rooms, though dark, are spacious and nicely appointed. It is also conveniently located near the airport.
However, service is the area where praise falls short; a distinct lack of greetings, aid and attentiveness is perceptible in Aureum. The receptionists especially are curt and sulky. On arrival, we were treated very rudely indeed by the lady working at the front desk. We were, moreover, kept waiting over an hour for rooms which should have been ready far before, and weren’t informed of the facilities provided by the hotel.
Overall the food was adequate. Breakfast was of good quality but restaurant meals only average. My daughter, in fact, got sick from a soup eaten at dinner which she fortunately only consumed half of due to the abominable taste.
Thanks to its astonishing location, architecture, gardens and view this hotel truly does has the potential to reach perfection. Its service, however, has to be greatly worked on and adjusted accordingly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank romaita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagan hotels
2.4 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
3.1 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 47 in Bagan
633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#6 of 47 in Bagan
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#10 of 47 in Bagan
1,219 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
2.6 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan

Address: Near Bagan Viewing Tower, Min Nanthu Village Nyaung Oo, Mandalay Division, Bagan, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bagan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bagan
#4 Spa Hotel in Bagan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bagan
Price Range: $183 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort, a tranquil paradise in Bagan. This incomparable resort and spa set amid 27 acres of tropical landscaped garden offers the ultimate in luxury for guests seeking a superlative vacation experience. Museum quality antiques and artifacts adorn each villa, complementing the majestic ambiance of the resort. Strolling around the lake, enjoying the breeze come over the water of lovely oasis in the heart of dry-zone Bagan will be your unique pleasure. Bedrooms are spacious and elegant: bathrooms are large and lavishly equipped with five-star amenities. Outdoor highlights include private terraces for al-fresco dining and relaxation, while many villas also offer Jacuzzis or plunge pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aureum Palace Hotel Bagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing