We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel with excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermes Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hermes Palace Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Banda Aceh
Palu
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“hotel with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Entering the hotel page we have encountered as palm trees palm trees, which show characteristics porch of Mecca, and then check it at the counter break in the lobby with a glass of orange juice, then escorted to the room by friendly and full of family, this hotel is only suitable for a break, because it's pretty quiet from the bustle of residents / guests a little, maybe people are not accustomed to Aceh not used to make the hotel as a comfortable resting place of capaek work every day, to take advantage of weekend, and finally visit my family in this hotel feels so comfortable.

Room Tip: should be chosen room is facing to the west, because it can see the atmosphere of the morning and af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zulfan_Yacoeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    58
    73
    18
    7
See reviews for
18
9
3
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is 4 stars hotel, expensive, nice lobby staff, hospitality. Not Clean room and bath room, comparing with other 4 stars hotels. Bad wifi signal, so internet very slow. Far from dowm town, bad swiming pool.
If you stay more than 2 days, you will get boring with the menu for breakfast, not many choices for breakfast.
The price for restaurant is expensive too, but taste standard.
It is dificult to find restaurant near by hotels.
If you have plan to stay more than 2 day, its not recomended, find hotel in the center of city.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dadang Gatot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
175 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I ran a 4-day international conference for 200 people here this month. This was one of the largest meetings the hotel had hosted in recent years. The staff were overwhelmed on the first day with participants arriving from the airport to checkin. It took several hours until they were ready with door keys. Thereafter, things ran quite smoothly.

There was plenty of space for our group to meet. We held plenary sessions in the large ballroom, then had them divide the room into three for smaller symposia sessions. This worked well. We held press conferences in a quiet corner in the lobby. There was plenty of space for private discussions and meetings in the spacious lobby and outdoor pool area.

The hotel restaurant was large enough to seat our entire delegation with room to spare. The kitchen offered a range of local Acehnese, other Indonesian and Western meal options at breakfast, lunch and dinner, varied enough to satisfy all tastes. Some evenings smaller groups took taxis to the La Piazza restaurant for pizza and pasta.

The rooms were basic 3-star quality; clean, tastefully decorated, with confortable beds, and well air-conditioned. However, the bathrooms are in need of a major repair as the pipes appear to be old and clogged, and an unpleasant odor emits inside the rooms.

Overall a great meeting location with good service but the rooms are in need of an upgrade.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for the second time in 3 years. Stayed here as this is voted as the most acceptable hotel in the city. The building is clean. Reception area are is clean. The occupancy was high. But wait until you are in the room. I could not flush the toilet as it was clogged! Waited for 2 hours but nothing happens so I called the maintenance. The repairmen arrived and appeared as if this happens a lot. They seemed to be very used to it. I must shout to the reception to secure another room so I finally moved to a different room literally in the middle of the night! This hotel is only 5 year old, built post the tsunami. The towels and bed sheet seemed to be there since 5 year ago. Travellers visiting small and remote cities do not need luxury. All we need is a hotel which is safe, clean and bright.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davida_Davida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banda Aceh hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Needs updating.
On the face of it at check in, it looks great, but it isn't.
Rooms are tired. Some in really good need of overhaul.
Pool area a bit grim.
Bar squashed up outside , not in a great area for ambience by the pool.
Restaurant, clean enough, , but carpet looks like a scene out of crime scene csi. More spills than plenty.
Saying that, food was good, plentiful, and staff very helpful and attentive.
Some laundry got mixed up occasionally / temporarily lost.

Room Tip: Can't help you really. Wifi also hit and miss. Allegedly the second floor smells of drains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Banda Aceh is a typical "one hotel" city where Hermes is the only realistc alternative for the international traveler. Its a decent hotel where you can easily spend 1-2 nights. The service is very friendly and he rooms are ok if you dont mind the funny smell. There is a small gym with quite modern equipment. Breakfast room is spacious, although the selection of food could be diversified after staying the same for several years.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Travelling with kids is great in Indonesia and this hotel was no exception. Staff were helpful and kind. Our room had everything working and the bbq in the evening was great in terms of quality and price. We had the Deluxe room, which is the standard room, and it was fine in terms of comfort and quite spacious! It also had a good bath and a very clean bathroom. Nice pool and gym was reasonably good. Only drawback is that it is a little out of town and unfortunately there is some agreement with taxi drivers that it costs $10 approx to get anywhere, which is not normal practice in Indonesia, that being said, Aceh is different to other parts of Indonesia, and taxis are one example. BTW pulau weh was great! This hotel has a high rack rate but negotiate and on the weekend we got it by asking the airport rate for 650000rp or $65USD so very good value to other hotels in town which are more convenient to sights and other restaurants, but are no where in the same quality league.

Room Tip: Negotiate price especially if staying 2 nights or more
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banda Aceh hotels
3.3 mi away
The Pade Hotel
The Pade Hotel
#1 of 16 in Banda Aceh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oasis Atjeh Hotel
Oasis Atjeh Hotel
#3 of 16 in Banda Aceh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Nanggroe Hotel
Grand Nanggroe Hotel
#11 of 16 in Banda Aceh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Permata Hati
Hotel Grand Permata Hati
#9 of 16 in Banda Aceh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.8 mi away
Permatahati Hotel and Convention Center
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
88 Hotel Atjeh
#7 of 16 in Banda Aceh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Palace Hotel

Property: Hermes Palace Hotel
Address: Jl. T. Panglima Nyak Makam, Banda Aceh, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > Aceh > Banda Aceh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Banda Aceh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hermes Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hermes Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing