We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, good meeting place, helpful owner”
Review of Riana Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rantepao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riana Guest House
Ranked #2 of 12 Rantepao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. Basic but decent budget accommodation at this friendly homestay. Well located and good place to chat with other travellers. Room rates seem to differ and some don't include breakfast...we compared what other travellers were quoted. Ask to have breakfast included in price, it's basic but handy.

Daud was a great guide and took us around for a few days for a decent rate. He knows a LOT about the area, the people, the culture...very helpful and interesting!

Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amz155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 116 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

Daud picked us up at the bus stop early morning and we could straight away use the rooms, and an extra bed was added and made up in a second. We then had a lovely breakfast with tea, toasts and eggs which prepared us for an unforgettable two-day Tana Toraja tour with Daud in his comfortable car. Such a knowledgable guide, a warm-hearted family, lovely house with a garden… We learned about the region and its habitants from an amazing storyteller. What more could one ask for! We felt at home far away from home. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms downstairs are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lidosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Friendly family, clean,...
Balcony rooms are better I guess but both are missing a sink in the bathroom and can be smelly!
Good location.
Cheap.
Little girls did the decoration :) pink curtains, Disney sheets...

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Doegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed 5 nights and had a very good time there. Very clean, with natural light, balcony surounded by plants and a talkative owner giving good advice.
It is a little bit noisy in the morning but nothing special for Asia when you have windows in your room. Breakfast is ok and considering the price.
We think it is a great place to stay and a good "base camp" to discover Toraja area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We recently spent five nights at the Riana Homestay in Rantepao, and were completely satisfied with our experience. We arrived on the morning bus and were happy to find that there was a room available, which we were given immediately. The place really does have a homey feeling, as there are children playing and laughing, the breakfast is good, the beds are clean and comfortable and the rooms and private bathroom are spotless. The sunny balcony is a lovely place to sit and enjoy a cold drink after a day of trekking, and we spent time doing just that. We went out for a day with the owner, who is an excellent guide, and feel that we learned an incredible amount about the Toraja people and their beliefs and culture. We also rented a motorbike from the guest house, which was convenient and very reasonable. In short, we felt that we were treated very well at this homestay by the truly lovely hosts and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting this amazing part of Sulawesi.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ksmittyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Nested in the middle of Rantepao's busy streets is the nice Riana Guest House. Although we weren't quite taken with the room, it was also quite cheap. The only thing that really bothered us was that the bed didn't include bed linen as well. The owner was very friendly and resourceful. You can also rent a motorbike for a day tour.

Room Tip: The price is negotiable, breakfast not included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jure M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very kind people, owner is a good guide as well (studied anthropology). Clean rooms.
They can arrange very good massage: Denis and his wife Anis come to your room for massage. The best massage we ever had. Good price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FennaJoery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rantepao
2.1 mi away
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
#4 of 9 in Rantepao
270 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hotel Sahid Toraja
Hotel Sahid Toraja
#1 of 2 in Makale
33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Toraja Heritage Hotel
Toraja Heritage Hotel
#2 of 9 in Rantepao
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Marante Toraja
Hotel Marante Toraja
#6 of 9 in Rantepao
14 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luta Resort Toraja
Luta Resort Toraja
#3 of 9 in Rantepao
187 reviews
0 mi away
Tongkonan Layuk Lion
Tongkonan Layuk Lion
#7 of 12 in Rantepao
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riana Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riana Guest House

Address: Jl Abdul Gani Lorong Wisma Monton | Toraja Utara, Rantepao, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Rantepao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rantepao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing