We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and a good "base camp" to discover Toraja area”
Review of Riana Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rantepao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riana Guest House
Ranked #2 of 12 Rantepao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bira, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and a good "base camp" to discover Toraja area”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed 5 nights and had a very good time there. Very clean, with natural light, balcony surounded by plants and a talkative owner giving good advice.
It is a little bit noisy in the morning but nothing special for Asia when you have windows in your room. Breakfast is ok and considering the price.
We think it is a great place to stay and a good "base camp" to discover Toraja area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    36
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
51
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We recently spent five nights at the Riana Homestay in Rantepao, and were completely satisfied with our experience. We arrived on the morning bus and were happy to find that there was a room available, which we were given immediately. The place really does have a homey feeling, as there are children playing and laughing, the breakfast is good, the beds are clean and comfortable and the rooms and private bathroom are spotless. The sunny balcony is a lovely place to sit and enjoy a cold drink after a day of trekking, and we spent time doing just that. We went out for a day with the owner, who is an excellent guide, and feel that we learned an incredible amount about the Toraja people and their beliefs and culture. We also rented a motorbike from the guest house, which was convenient and very reasonable. In short, we felt that we were treated very well at this homestay by the truly lovely hosts and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting this amazing part of Sulawesi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksmittyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Nested in the middle of Rantepao's busy streets is the nice Riana Guest House. Although we weren't quite taken with the room, it was also quite cheap. The only thing that really bothered us was that the bed didn't include bed linen as well. The owner was very friendly and resourceful. You can also rent a motorbike for a day tour.

Room Tip: The price is negotiable, breakfast not included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jure M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very kind people, owner is a good guide as well (studied anthropology). Clean rooms.
They can arrange very good massage: Denis and his wife Anis come to your room for massage. The best massage we ever had. Good price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FennaJoery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Nice but basic place, but really worth for what you pay. Very good location and very kind and knowledgeable host.
As others have said, it's not really fair the different prices for rooms and tours that he gives to different people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lss_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCN
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had booked and PAYED for the homestay in advance through AGODA. When we got there at 7am after spending the night in a bus, a sleepy man (the owner) told us that the hostel was full and that we could not stay there. He also told us he did not want to work with AGODA anymore and that he had tried to contact the company many times but that he had been ignored.
When I asked him if he could call another homestay to see if there were rooms he simply said NO. It was very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSALOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I read and heard all these positive ratings from other travellers, but I must say I was a bit disappointed by this place. I noticed that Daud is not always very transparant about prices (some people get discounts, others don't). Also, I found that all the children from the neighbourhood dwelling on his property gave the place a very chaotic ambiance. Our hot shower wasn't working and when I asked the neighbours, they had the same problem. I think in general that Rantepao has had too many tourists over time and lost it's Indonesian hospitality a little bit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rantepao
2.4 mi away
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rantepao
248 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hotel Sahid Toraja
Hotel Sahid Toraja
#1 of 2 in Makale
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Marante Toraja
#6 of 9 in Rantepao
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Salassa Guest House
0.4 mi away
Luta Resort Toraja
Luta Resort Toraja
#4 of 9 in Rantepao
180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Toraja Torsina Hotel
Toraja Torsina Hotel
#5 of 12 in Rantepao
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riana Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riana Guest House

Property: Riana Guest House
Address: Jl Abdul Gani Lorong Wisma Monton | Toraja Utara, Rantepao, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Rantepao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rantepao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing