We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and good price guest house.”
Review of Riana Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rantepao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riana Guest House
Ranked #2 of 12 Rantepao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice, clean and good price guest house.”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

The room is clean and conforting. The owner is kind and have great knowledge and info about touring site around toraja. I was given a map to all toraja site and route to cover all that in just 2 days, i wanted to stay longer but i have to catch a flight back to jakarta.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank leonardlontoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    36
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
52
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Nice, clean budget option in Rantepao run by a lovely Indonesian family. Breakfast cost extra, but its cheap and good. They also serve good and fresh dinner. The family tried to help you whenever possible and make you feel very welcome. Definitely recommended!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were there for a few days and really liked the place. The family that runs the place is very friendly. It is possible to rent cheaper room with cold water or a bit more expensive (with hot water). The location of the place is also very good.
The owner Daud was quite helpful in charting half-day trekking trips that we could do on our own. We had very interesting after dinner discussions with him about the local culture and he organized for us a cool visit of the Toraja funeral ceremony.

They don't have internet page or email address, but you can call them: +62 081 343 696 270

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urša V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is the first ever review I have ever written about anything, and there is a good reason for it.

Firstly it is very cheap, 50 000 IDR per night.

It's located in a secluded, quite area in Rantepao but still 2 minutes from center of town. The rooms are very nice and clean with western bathroom. Beds are big and comfortable.

The owner, Daud, is an educated anthropologist and also leader of a village near Rantepao. Any questions you might have about the culture, people and religion in Tana Toraja he will happily answer. He also lived overseas for many years and speak very good english.

He also does guided yours and trekkings. I used another guide my first day in Rantepao and the difference in quality is massive. Daud could answer anything I asked with an extensive and satifsying answer and he was also cheaper than the other guide.

His lovely wife Riana cooks the most amazing vegetarian Indonesian style dinner. I'm usually not into vegetarian food but my god it was good (and cheap)

It can be hard to find and it is quite new so not many know about it. It's located in the alley behind the well known Wisma Monton. Follow the alleyway behind Wisma Monton for about 150 meters and it is a big white building on the left side just before the road starts sloping upwards. It didn't have a sign when I was there (I told him to get one) but ask around and you will find it. Trust me, it will be worth it.

A given choice for anyone staying in Tana Toraja.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rantepao
2.1 mi away
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
#4 of 9 in Rantepao
253 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hotel Sahid Toraja
Hotel Sahid Toraja
#1 of 2 in Makale
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Marante Toraja
#6 of 9 in Rantepao
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Salassa Guest House
0.4 mi away
Luta Resort Toraja
Luta Resort Toraja
#3 of 9 in Rantepao
184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Toraja Torsina Hotel
Toraja Torsina Hotel
#5 of 12 in Rantepao
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riana Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riana Guest House

Property: Riana Guest House
Address: Jl Abdul Gani Lorong Wisma Monton | Toraja Utara, Rantepao, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Rantepao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rantepao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing