We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Newish resort, clean, central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luta Resort Toraja

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Luta Resort Toraja
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Rantepao
loomis ca
Level Contributor
385 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Newish resort, clean, central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We paid $62 a night for 5 nights. We wished we would have spent 3 or 4. That would have been plenty of time there for experiencing funerals and taking hikes (our interests)
What we liked about the hotel?
Modern, clean, good AC, little balcony, lovely grounds, nice pool, overlooking river(but full of trash, not the hotel's fault),
What we didn't like?
Low water pressure, very little english spoken(difficult to communicate), restaurant was mediocre.
It was quite a trek getting there, bus during the daytime both ways about 9 hours. Bintang Prima was good, but it looks like there were many other newer buses.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 3rd floor. Better views, quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    76
    47
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
68
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We lodged in Luta Toraja last September 2012 for 3 nights in a Deluxe room and we were really pleased to stay there. Our room was very nice, clean, well decorated and spacious, with nice views over the river. The reception staff is really polite, helpful and friendly. The breakfast is an small buffet with a good choice of Indonesian food and continental breakfast. They have a nice swimming pool facing the river where you can watch the sunset with the river running below you. You have 2 hours of free wifi everyday that works well near the reception or the bar lounge, not in the rooms far from the reception. The have life music everyday in the bar until 9.00pm, and in spite of it could be a little bit loud, it finishes not too late. The hotel is located 5 min by foot from the center in a quite location in front of the Catholic chuch and with many shops around.The staff in the reception can help you to find a guide for Toraja, they work with a guide called Astro who was our guide during our 3 days there. He is the perfect guide for Toraja, extremely polite, good English, all the time attending your needs, giving you space and making you feel relaxed, giving you very good explanations about Toraja with very good knowledge of his land. He made us enjoy Toraja very much. About the restaurant in Toraja, we went to Rimiko restaurant the first night followiing the lonelyplanet recommendations but we did not like this place at all, the owner of this place was an unpolite man trying to be our guide and made us feel very unconfortable there. After that, we went everynight to "Cafe Aras" which is in the main street of Rantepao, a little bit more expensive than Rimiko (just a little) but very quiet, clean and nice place with delicious food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gcanarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The place is located in a dark street in Rantepao, with not a lot of options around. But only 5 minute walk to the main street and were you can find some shops and restaurants.

Definitely not the cheapest option in Rantepao. (there are many options for accommodation in Rantepao which are not in trip advisor!)

Receptionist and staff were very friendly and there was loud music in the lounge area when we arrived (9pm until 10pm or so) so be prepared to hear it from your room. Music wasn't particularly nice (bad karaoke of Kati Perry and Rihanna... auch!)
There are also rooms that face the river which may be quieter.
The room was clean and spacious, the wifi was NOT free and signal was very weak and we needed to re-enter a password every 2 or 3 hours...
We actually booked into Luta Resort because we wanted to have Satellite TV during a couple of days last June to be able to watch the Eurocup football (soccer) games in the evening and our plan succeeded!

We were surprised with the food which we found tasty and fresh. We only ordered dinner once to be brought to the room and we really enjoyed it!

Breakfast was fine but nothing too special.
Swimming pool area looked nice but it was a bit cold for us to get in the water!

Rantepao is an interesting town. Don't miss the market, which is very authentic and why not try a Torajan typical dish like chicken or pork cooked in bamboo stick?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MIguelitoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Luta hotel is a good hotel. We asked for a quiet room. At first we were given a room on the ground-floor. Soon we found out, that the music from the bar was so loud, that we could hear it very well in our room. When asked we were given a room on the second floor with river view. This room was very quiet and clean. The breakfast was good. The staff was very helpfull.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor. (no elevator)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atze D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stay in Rantepao 4 days for visit toraja,i choose this hotel because i think to be the best choice here. The hotel is good but the price is very high for the services.
The room is clean but the white wall inside is dirty and there's no maintenance of the rooms, very typical throughout Indonesia.
The rooms facing towards the river during the night are often filled with the smell of fried food coming from the kitchen, the daily cleaning of the rooms is very essential.
Try to check in Rantepao if there are better offers because even though the hotel and' good choice 'too expensive for what' offers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nassau2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
175 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed here twice, once with my family and once on my own. With my family, we had a 2nd floor river view room which was wonderful and spacious.It cost just a little more, but it was worth it! On my own, I had a less expensive standard room, which was fine. Beds are comfortable, rooms are well laid out, and the design of the place is quite nice...with a lovely central garden and a riverside pool.

The location can't be beat--a couple blocks from Rantepao's main intersection. Over the years I've spent a lot of time in the Toraja highlands, and though there are some nice places out of town, I've come to appreciate how much better it is to stay in town and not be dependent on public transport to get into town to eat. The restaurant is right next to a great local favorite restaurant--Mambo, and easy walking distance to Cafe Aras, Rantepao's newest and most interesting restaurant. I mention these two places because the food at Luta is not it's forte. Save for the Toraja dishes, the meals we had there were disappointing. The breakfast coffee is definitely in need of bolstering way too weak--Toraja friends won't even drink it. But otherwise, the Luta is all around a great choice.

The Luta employees are wonderfully friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. The owner is also friendly and has put much effort into designing a hotel that combines traditional Toraja aesthetic elements with contemporary design. All around, a great Rantepao option!

Room Tip: Go for a riverview room! Wifi is only available in the lobby and restaurant area. If you book a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thekma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Sure, it's a bit more than the mosquito nests listed in Lonely Planet but it's totally worth it. The rooms are clean and modern, and the staff is fantastically helpful. The tasty breakfast that's included in the room's price was a treat.

The prices are negotiable. I paid 500k/night for their higher-end rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFlexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rantepao
2.1 mi away
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rantepao
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Toraja Heritage Hotel
Toraja Heritage Hotel
#2 of 9 in Rantepao
3.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pison
Hotel Pison
#3 of 9 in Rantepao
3.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Hotel Sahid Toraja
Hotel Sahid Toraja
#1 of 2 in Makale
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Marante Toraja
#6 of 9 in Rantepao
3.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Toraja Prince Hotel
Toraja Prince Hotel
#9 of 9 in Rantepao
3.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luta Resort Toraja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luta Resort Toraja

Property: Luta Resort Toraja
Address: Dr Ratulangi Street no. 26 | North Toraja, Rantepao 91854, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Rantepao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Rantepao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Luta Resort Toraja 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Luta Resort Toraja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing